We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Ranked #8 of 82 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
arlington, va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Three of my girlfriends and I stayed in two rooms last week to see the Christmas decorations and a play. Couldn't have been any better. Short walk from Penn Station, just down the street from Eataly, and the rooms were good sized and very clean. Staff couldn't have been any friendlier or helpful, and breakfast was great. Also enjoyed the honor bar and the house cat!
Would definitely stay again, and will bring my husband for a romantic weekend this spring.

Room Tip: Room 41 has a fun, city view. Room 44 is very big and very quiet at the back of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnessbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    64
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
70
119
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an excellent experience staying at the Inn. We stayed in a big, very confortable room.
The staff is very friendly and professional. They go all the way to please their customers. We sincerely thank all of them. The location is very good, close to subway staions. We plan to come back when we return to NY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The best things about this inn are the friendly, helpful staff people; a good breakfast; drinks and snacks available 24/7; and its location in the center of a block that has subway stations at either end (which makes getting around Manhattan easier). The restaurant on the ground floor, the Guilty Goose, is a nice place for lunch, dinner, and/or a drink in the evening, and guests of the inn receive a 25% discount on food. The inn's homey atmosphere is a major, and generally welcome, change of pace in New York, but the funky decor may not be for everyone. And, although the staff people were very nice, certain types of services seemed lacking. We handled our own bags and were on our own getting to the airport -- which, since we once lived in NYC and visit fairly often, wasn't a big problem for us but might be for less-experienced visitors. If I stayed there again, I would avoid the "Loft Room" because it has no view except of the sky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The perfect place to stay in New York City. We spent a week here and after days of long walks this was a nice place to return to.Within walking distance of some of New York's best parks. Subways half a block away, the city is at your finger tips. Nice breakfast, wonderful staff, a great place to ease into the day. I like to be surprised on vacation and the Inn provided that when they put out a flyer for Open House New York. Right next door, included in the open house, was the first French church in New York dating back to 1857. We got a wonderful tour of the facility(free).
The Church with it's dwindling congregation is scheduled to close next year unless it receives an historical landmark designation. Edith Piaf was married here! This was just one small sample of what the Inn provided. Already we are planning our next trip and it will be staying at the Inn. Just like the old commercial: "you've tried the rest, now try the best".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I like everything there is about this place. Intimate, charming, quaint, great beds (feels like waterbed even!), spacious, every room is a statement piece, unique and definitely one of the kind in a place like NYC where everything else seemed commercialized and impersonal. Its location is also a plus - away from the hustle and bustle of the touristy Time Square but not too far away if you want to soak yourself in the ambient of it - probably just 10mins cab ride away with good traffic.
They are also very generous with their offerings...and it's almost help-yourself-with-everything-they-can-offer-at-the-bar. you just have to give reasonable amount of tip and you can get all the privacy you want. The staffs are never intrusive and give you good private space but definitely extend their helping hand anytime you need one. We have been serviced by Thomas (whom i really loved his style and dressing!) and Paola...
One thing i have to say about Paola was - she actually took the initiative to find me a website that sells value-for-money baby strollers cuz i was on the lookout to buy one. So she actually looked for one and slip a note under my room door. I was pleasantly surprised and didn't have a chance to thank her personally.
Breakfast was simple but generous and strangely my husband and I never got tired of their breakfast! You know it's prepared from the heart!
Definitely the place to stay in if you are spending your holiday in NYC. No regrets.

Room Tip: We had the Victorian room which wasn't our first choice but nonetheless it was spacious and char...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corgiful_Jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We always prefer to find small intimate B&B's. Finding one in NY was quite hard, but this place is an absolute gem. It's has its own unique style, the very opposite of the bland impersonal chain hotels. Welcoming, relaxed yet well run, clean and very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was the Bamboo Room (all rooms have their own theme and are individually decorated) which was larger than we had expected, a bit dark but very comfortable. It was great to be able to make teas,coffee etc whenever we woke up (we were still adjusting to the time difference) and whenever we got in. Breakfasts were simple but generous, with cereal, fruit, breads, cake and an egg dish or pancakes always available. Being able to use passes to museums and galleries was very kind and a great bonus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I liked all of it; friendly staff, quaint rooms, great beds and nice breakfast. A tad noisy facing the street, but would come back. Thank you. I reserved my room well in advance and stayed three nights as I was at a conference uptown. Perfect for subway, Greenwich and local haunts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#8 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,941 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#41 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#10 of 478 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,271 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Property: The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Address: 131 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing