We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on the East Side”
Review of 1871 House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1871 House
Ranked #17 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Bethel, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem on the East Side”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Loved the 1871 House! It's in a great location on a beautiful residential street with easy access to shops and good restaurants (try the French bistro down the street). The service was great and the room I stayed in was spacious yet cozy. Can't wait to go back in the spring!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRL359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    47
    15
    10
    9
See reviews for
66
40
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were three mature women visiting New York for a holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 1871 House. It was safe, clean and comfortable and gave us exactly the accommodation we wanted. The stairs to our room were a little steep but we had been warned about this before booking and it only added to the character of the house. I also find the negative comments about the property very odd indeed. If you want a different and delightful experience from a standard hotel we would certainly recommend 1871 House to others and return ourselves.

Room Tip: 1871 House are very clear and honest about what the rooms provide and I think guests can use that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 38Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I was delighted to discover the 1871 House on my last trip into NYC. Located on one of the most charming blocks on the upper east side, this beautiful property is convenient to everything the city has to offer. It is private and cozy enough to feel like a home away from home while having all the amenities of an upscale boutique hotel. The small suite I had was equipped with everything and beautifully appointed with the antiques and wonderful linens. Located between Park and Lexington, the atmosphere is serene and quiet while being just steps away from all Manhattan has to offer. I'm in the city at least once a month and now that I've found this gem, I look forward to returning again and again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvaRosePer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
We appreciate the kind words! Thank you for staying with us and we're glad you found your accommodations beautiful and convenient. We try to make each room a special and memorable experience and the neighborhood truly is a one of a kind destination. We look forward to welcoming you many more times in the future.

Thanks and best regards,
David
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very quiet, clean, great location and Lia and warren are extremely nice people. They made us feel at home. Our room was very spacious, can't wait to go back over the summer. I recommend it to anyone who wants to stay at a convenient and quiet location in Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for the review! We were glad to hear you enjoyed staying in a new neighborhood for your special occasion. We're glad you felt at home (we hear this frequently from other guests and we're pleased to hear you felt the same way) and we would love for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I continue to be in love with 1871 House and their staff. This is my go-to place when in NYC and it never disappoints. My other reviews outline my detailed feedback and experiences. Everything - and I mean EVERYTHING - about this place meets and exceeds my expectations.

Candidly, I am very surprised at the spate of negative reviews I quickly perused. This place is special. I have never seen mice, never had water issues, never been treated rudely. I find the staff to be attentive and responsive. I have recommended this place to many friends and colleagues and everyone, without exception, has been exceptionally pleased.

There are certainly idiosyncrasies about the place - but THAT'S THE CHARM. Folks looking for a traditional NYC hotel experience should choose another property. Those looking for an incredibly unique experience that makes you feel more like a New Yorker than a tourist/visitor, then this is the place for you.

Seriously, I can not more highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The first morning the shower didn't work and hot water was NOT an option. Also had trouble with the knob that caused the shower sprayer to spray. Getting water to run in the bathroom sink was intermittent. Called the staff and they were helpful - sort of. The guy who came up to help had a bit of an attitude. Told us it's an old building, hot water travels up from the basement, if everyone in the building showers/bathes at the same time, there are sure to be issues. He also informed me that the "manual" in the room explained all that and he repeatedly used the phrase "I know for a fact..." which began to be annoying before our "visit" was over.

Second morning - likely because we inadvertently got a later start - the shower issues were better.

There is no overhead lighting in the larger bedroom or the sitting area (we were in room 6 on the top floor). The lamps in the bedroom were fairly inadequate.

And one word of warning - there is no elevator so if you have heavy bags, it's a LONG way to the top floor. On a positive note, you certainly get your heart rate up!

Overall, would not recommend staying here - we will not be returning to this property. Just doesn't stack up well against other B&B experiences we've had.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the upper floors if you're traveling with heavy luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1871House, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
We were sorry to hear that these guests felt that they were inconvenienced during their stay. We are a small business and aim to please as many guests as we can but understand we cannot please everyone. The suite these guests occupied is located on the top floor of our building (4th floor) and although that is a lot of stairs for some people, it is quite typical for a turn-of-the-century building in New York. For many travelers, the appeal of 1871 House lies in the home-like charm and old world elegance of our individual suites. A modern, high-tech facility we are not, and we try our best to inform guests of our advantages as well as any shortcomings we may have. As an example in regard to not having an elevator, we do everything possible to notify our guests on this issue on our website, on our booking confirmations and in email correspondence. We include the following statement in all our initial emails when sending out rates: Prior to making your decision, carefully consider there is NO elevator at the 1871 House. All rooms are accessed via our central staircase.

We understand 1871 House isn't for everyone, and to that end​,​ as mentioned​,​ we try to provide as much information about our facility as possible to potential guests through our website, phone and email correspondence and social media channels before booking a stay at 1871 House. Guests are made aware that on unusual occasions, a few minutes patience will be required for hot water. Generally, this will be during off-peak use hours. We have an “instant hot” timer feature that creates immediate hot water during prime use times. Our commercial-grade, high capacity water heater is usually more than adequate to provide on-demand hot water for the entire building and we also have a backup furnace coil system which combined make it a rare occasion where there is not enough hot water.
We take repair complaints seriously and after reading this guest's review we tried to replicate the issues mentioned and were unsuccessful. We only wish that these guests had come to us while here so that we could offer them guidance on the difficulty they were having with the shower diverter. It is quite possible that the guests were operating the diverter incorrectly and that it would have been a simple matter of showing the guests how to correctly operate the diverter knob.

We reviewed the lighting provided in the suite and found that there are 4 table lamps in the front room, 3 lamps in the larger back bedroom (including a headboard light) and in the smaller bedroom there is a chandelier with 4 bulbs plus a table top lamp. We feel any more lamps and the accommodations will start to look like a lighting showroom. However we will certainly check to see if the lamps in the suite could take higher wattage bulbs.

As far as the staff member being rude to the guest, we can’t help but feel that this was a misread of personality. Our assistant has a somewhat deliberate manner of speaking which may have been misinterpreted as condescending. However, knowing him as well as we do, we find it extremely difficult to believe that he ​​was being rude​ to the guests​. He is one of the kindest most helpful people we know and ​an exceptional quality​ person​.

We ask that all prospective guests and travelers review our website and supplemental reading materials before booking a stay with us to better manage their expectations. ​ ​Ultimately, it is our hope that 1871 House provides a valuable alternative to the often sterile and more costly hotel options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcktri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This review is written with full awareness, based on other critical postings, that management and ownership will dispute every issue and attack the comments and the author. They clearly operate in an environment of “the customer is always wrong”. While ownership has attempted to discredit the numerous other critical postings by citing declined requests for refunds or other types of compensation, please know that despite the issues to follow, at no time did anyone in my party request monetary compensation nor is that the intent here. It is purely to make those considering the 1871 House fully aware of the experience ahead.
First, some background on the credentials that help inform my professional opinion and critique. I have spent 30 years building a career as a senior level executive in the hotel, resort and hospitality industry. Additionally, I have traveled the world extensively staying in a wide variety of accommodations including many bed and breakfast style properties. Regardless of the type of facility, those that are successful share a common trait in that they strive for excellent hospitality. Ownership and staff delivering hospitality exists regardless of whether the property is a country inn, a small bed and breakfast, or a full service destination resort. Hospitality is even more important for those properties that might not otherwise provide the amenities of larger full service establishments. Hospitality means that the traveler is made to feel welcome, as he or she has entrusted the innkeeper with their most valuable assets- money and time, often for a once-in-a-lifetime special occasion. As explained in more detail below, any notion of hospitality is completely absent in all material respects at the 1871 House. In fact, the opposite atmosphere prevails.
First, I’ll start with the only positive of our stay. The 1871 house does have a very good location on the eastside, in a nice neighborhood within walking distance of the upper eastside amenities. That, however, is where the benefit of staying here ends.
My family and I stayed for 6 days occupying the 3rd and fourth floors of the building and the bill was approximately $9400. Management’s comparison of their pricing and value to other hotels such as the Plaza Athenee (see Trip Advisor response of August 12, 2013) is incredulous. From beds, to bathrooms, to televisions to service, this is the worst accommodations experience I have ever had. Ownership would be better to compare themselves with a youth hostel or boarding house but even there they would fail in service comparison.
To begin, while I am not sure what “A New York Style Bed and Breakfast” means as headlined on their website, I would consider it false advertising. Forget about the clever fine print and understand there is NO BREAKFAST, NO COFFEE, NOTHING OFFERED that one might come to expect at a Bed and Breakfast. One also comes to expect a level of warmth and hospitality, especially from a Bed and Breakfast, that is non-existent. The only service that exists is rude and nasty.
The following is a list of just some of the issues we encountered:
-Beds-our 3 “rooms/suites” had a total of 6 beds, half of which were in desperate need of replacement. The double mattress in the Madison room sags no less than 5 inches across the entire middle of the mattress. The single beds are in awful condition. Historical building is fine, ancient beds are not.
- We reserved an extra bed for one of the rooms prior to our arrival. The bed was never set up. After several attempts to secure the bed, the attendants woke us up, three days later at 11pm to assist. The mattress was in such poor condition that you could feel the underlying slats. The attendant could not find sheets to fit so we improvised and slept on duvet covers as sheets. We had to wait another day until housekeeping provided appropriate sized sheets and made the bed.
-Baths-Do not expect a hot shower in the Madison suite at least 50% of the time. Management will tell you it is a historic building issue, but that is only part of the problem. The fixtures on that shower are old and do not function well with low pressure. So in order to take a hot shower, the pressure lowers and releases the tub/shower pull redirecting the water to the bath.
-The “flat screen televisions in every room” technically is correct, however, a suite such as the Madison with 3 rooms only has one extremely undersized television serviced with standard non-HD service and the service intermittent at best.
-There is no common space as one comes to expect at a Bed and Breakfast. No place to gather. Should one try to access what appears to be a common room off the lobby area, be prepared to be rudely escorted out and told “this is the owner’s space”.
-In 6 nights and 7 days, except for one room, beds were only made ONE TIME and linens never changed. The bathroom in The Madison Suite was NEVER cleaned nor even refreshed. The bath towels are old, rough and nasty and provided in small quantities. Some of the bed sheets were tattered and excessively worn.
-The main bedroom of the “Madison Suite” did not even have a door on it but rather ugly sheet like curtains and the “single bedroom” is barely large enough to house the bed. All that for only $650+ per night!
-An important FedEx package that was sent to me sat in the office for over 24 hours (and the office was not accessible as it was not staffed as indicated). After dialoguing with FedEx and wasting a day searching, when David finally was found and asked, his response was “oh yes it is here in the office but I was too busy to notify you of it”. Incredible-no time to notify a guest of a FedEx? This establishment has no issues notifying the guest of every little thing they do wrong (see below) but no time to notify a guest about an important package.
-In most rooms there is a blue binder with pages of rules and regulations that management and ownership will quote to you when you break the rules. Never in my 30 years of hospitality have I seen nor expected a guest to read nor obey such onerous rules. No red wine drinking, no talking 9pm-9am, $35 charge if fireplace used (plus $10 per log), $35 charge if you stay 1-1/2 hours longer than the 10:30 am check out, and it goes on and on. We received 3 type written letters during our stay and were summoned to the office for rules violations (drinking red wine. Full disclosure, a tiny bit was spilled and we cleaned after management made a big issue out of). Never once did management or ownership attempt to converse with us nor welcome us. Nasty, rude typed notes emailed and left in rooms and taped to the banister are their preferred means of hospitable communication. Upon return home, we received an email which stated that the small red wine spill had seeped thru the bed spread and stained the sheets and that we would be charged for a new set of queen sheets. No wine saturation had occurred as we inspected carefully when cleaning the bedspread. The nickel and dime nature of the 1871 House borders on a consumer scam.
The 1871 House is a lovely and charming place if you are two
people who like to go to bed by 9:00 pm but are ok with climbing steep creaky stairs and reserve one of the rooms with an acceptable mattress and decent fixtures, enjoy reading a manual of rules before and during
your stay, and don't need any type of service, particularly friendly
service. For everyone else however ...

Room Tip: Strongly suggest staying at a hotel if you desire a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank hcktri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,448 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#70 of 468 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#216 of 468 in New York City
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Bentley Hotel
The Bentley Hotel
#244 of 468 in New York City
3,537 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 468 in New York City
11,100 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1871 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1871 House

Property: 1871 House
Address: 130 E 62nd St, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1871 House offers seven apartment-style suites in an historic five-story English Rowhouse, circa-1871 within the Upper East Side Historic District neighborhood. The house offers lovely views of other historic homes, is flooded with sunlight, has an incredible garden, and grand-scale details. 1871 House is surrounded by the Upper East Side's finest restaurants, stylish cafes, galleries, Madison Avenue's chic boutiques as well as world-renowned museums such the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), the Whitney Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and The Frick Collection. Centrally located and just a short walk to Central Park & Fifth Avenue 1871 House is perfect for culture seeking visitors to the Big Apple. However, for business-oriented visitors, 1871 House is also ideally located near Midtown Manhattan. Easy access to public transportation makes 1871 House also convenient to Wall Street and the Financial District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your 1871 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1871 House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing