We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home-away-from-home”
Review of 1871 House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
1871 House
Ranked #16 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great home-away-from-home”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were a group of 5, visiting NYC for 4 days. 1871 House was a great central location from which to start our daily sightseeing - just a few blocks from Central Park and one block from the metro station. There are a couple of 24-hr small food shops close by on Lexington for breakfast and snacks. The staff are very helpful - we had questions before we arrived and our e-mails were always responded to very quickly. The beds were very comfortable. No trouble at all with hot water - amazing, considering there were 5 of us! Would highly recommend and would return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaltPepper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thanks very much for this review! We do hope to welcome you on a return trip in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    48
    15
    10
    9
See reviews for
66
41
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

1871 House is in a great location, with lovely staff, an immaculate and large room with lots of character and the shower was lovely and hot for my stay. It's nice having the outside space, though i wouldn't have sat out there as the air conditioning units are really noisy. There is a payphone in the room, which is really handy and they let you leave your luggage in the hall on the day you leave. The downsides are that every footstep from the room above resounds around the room and as the garden rooms on the first floor every conversation from people going up and downstairs can be heard, so I did get woken up a couple of times by this, although generally it was pretty quiet between 11.30pm and 7.30am so can't really complain. The main downside for me was that the mattress was really uncomfortable to the point that I found it difficult to sleep. If the managers change the mattress in garden room, I would say it would be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mariposa033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thanks for the review and your patronage. Beds are tricky in that we all have different preferences, but we've found that many of our guests truly enjoy the mattresses that we do have. We're sorry to hear it was not a good fit for you, and hope you had an enjoyable stay otherwise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

I must admit that this is the first review that I have written BEFORE my trip...but I have stayed here many times before, so I know what I am getting myself into with the property. What has impressed me this trip is how wonderful the staff and owners have been in trying to accommodate my next visit. They have been amazing in working with me - especially Kelcie and Libby - as they tried to make things work for me. Very creative, flexible and such a pleasure to deal with. Thank you!

I write a review every time I stay here for the simple reason that EVERY TRIP is memorable. This is a special place like no other in NYC. This is the first place I try to stay on any trip to NYC - and I am sorely disappointed when it doesn't work out. I have referred many friends to this property and without exception, everyone has had a spectacular trip. I can't recommend the 1871 House any more highly - especially if you want a true NYC experience.

Room Tip: All are good - no preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kendallkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thanks so much for the review! Our return guests mean a lot to us, so it's really our pleasure to try our very best to make it work when we are able to. Your loyalty and referrals to others are sincerely appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Having just spent 8 nights at 1871 House I can honestly say it was a unique treat and a pleasure to take memories away from ... 1871 House is simply a GEM of a find that I would prefer to keep a secret, but think it would be unjust to all other potential visitors to NYC! The location is superb, the rooms spacious and so personal in their decor that it feels like your very own little apartment in the middle of the madness and hussle and bustle of New York City. The rooms (we stayed in 2 different ones - the Lexington Suite and the Parlour Suite) were both very clean and the bathrooms & kitchen areas were spotless. The 62 steps up to the Lexington Suite were leg breaking, however cause for a good laugh and a huge sense of healthy achievement when the room was reached...! All the staff that we met were friendly, helpful and showed a genuine interest to our needs - yet they were not intrusive - just right... and we appreciated knowing that they were there if we needed them. We have left 1871 House with plans to return when we can - it is the only place we will stay in NYC....

Room Tip: All fitness fanatics deserve the Lexington Suite - however being over 50 we enjoyedand loved the Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desperatetotravel34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you for posting about your experience staying with us. We appreciate hearing from seasoned travelers such as yourself! We hope to see you again in the future, and hope the steps don't deter you. ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

There were several issues during our stay that make it way too pricey for the services and quality this bed and breakfast offers (they don't serve breakfast by the way, you have to buy a breakfast basket). We should've heeded notes from other past guests who've had issues with the hot water during their stay. Unfortunately we didn't and had to wait about an hour and a half for the hot water in our shower to finally flow for 2 days during our stay. This caused us to be late for our morning plans in the city, and the hot water issue was frustrating to deal with. The assistants on staff just told us to wait it out and told us that the owners were unavailable to assist us in any way in getting the hot water to flow to our room faster or more effectively, when we asked to speak to the owners about this. Our bathroom in the Mission Studio (basement level) also had mold and mildew, which we shocked to come across and didn't expect to see. The Parlor room our group also booked also had mold lining the bathroom.
Rooms are nice, but feel cluttered with all the furnishings. Ours did. It might be a place to avoid if you have young kids, for fear of breaking anything that you'll have to pay for afterwards. We purchased a cot for our room, but it wasn't very sturdy, and wasn't comfortable for my back. I felt as if I would crash down through it to the floor while on it, making sleeping here not easy.
The location is great, but it seems like the owners use only it to justify the prices of rooms at 1871 house, without accounting for the b&b's much less than excellent other offerings. We won't be staying here in the future, and will look for better value elsewhere nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Em U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Owner at 1871 House, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
We are disappointed that these guests did not approve of their accommodations. This guest made us aware that they did not like the pull-out sleeper couch (an expensive model from an upscale furnishings store called Crate and Barrel) and has decided to be vindictive and add multiple comments that are either outright false or gross exaggerations. To address the points individually:
We spend as much effort as we can to point out to people that we do not serve breakfast. We are not a bed and breakfast under the traditional definition. With a dozen places for breakfast within a block starting at a couple dollars we felt it better to keep our prices down as opposed to raising them to cover additional expenses incurred in offering breakfast. For those not wishing to leave the premises we offer a breakfast basket delivered.
In terms of prices for our rooms, this guest paid a room rate of $285 for three people. This accommodation consists of a generous bedroom area, an additional sub area off the bedroom, a dining area, an efficiency kitchen and bathroom. The entire space is very large. In the immediate neighborhood and surrounding area one could expect to pay two to ten times this amount for three people in an accommodation of equivalent size and offerings. But don’t take our word for it. Look up rates for 500 S.F. Rooms with Kitchen and separate dining room (and even without a kitchen and dining area) at the Plaza Athenee, The Regency, the Lowell Hotel, The Pierre Hotel and the Plaza Hotel the only hotels located within a few blocks of us. The guests comment on location justifying price is inappropriate, misleading and can only come from inexperienced travelers.
We have a few year old commercial grade, high capacity water heater. The guest’s claim of waiting one and a half hours for hot water is inconsistent with how our and virtually any other systems work. If we have a full house where a dozen or more people are showering within a short period of time and hot water gets low we transparently state in our literature that this may happen on an infrequent basis. The first issue is a gas fired hot water heater has a quick recovery time; usually within fifteen minutes on rare occasion it might be a few minutes more. Secondly unless this dozen people’s behavior is synchronized and robotic and correlated with this guest, it would be odd for this to take place their entire stay.
Our rooms are thoroughly cleaned after each guest leaves and if a guest stays more than four days, we have the rooms cleaned during their stay as well. We do not have mold and mildew in this accommodation nor any other.
In terms of rooms being cluttered, all the pictures of the mission room and other rooms are on the internet. Please look for yourself. The Mission Studio is spacious and often gets among the best reviews that we get. There is really nothing more to say here without getting ridiculous, please just look at the pictures if this is a room you might be interested in.
As far as the “cot” previously mentioned; again it is a sofa bed pullout. Being inexperienced travelers these guests may not have known that sofa beds are not the equivalent of a regular bed. We recommend to these individuals to not try to save money and book a suite with a second bedroom if they require the equivalent quality of a regular bed for sleeping; no pull-out can match a full mattress and boxspring. Crate and Barrel, a very successful home furnishings retailer would be out of business if they made sofa beds where people crashed down onto the floor while sleeping in them.
This response is as straight-forward as can be while covering each of the issues this guest chose to comment on. We know of few place that are as honest and forthcoming in regard to who they are and what they offer. We are not perfect but we offer a pretty nice experience especially for the price. Coincidentally, at the time of this person's stay, all seven of our units were booked of which four of the five units that this guest and their friends were not occupying were booked by repeat guests. Our high percentage of repeat guests and high rankings in travel guides and complimentary articles in travel magazines tell a different story then these guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We loved our stay at 1871 House. It is centrally located, with many things to do within walking distance. Bloomingdales, Central Park, and the Metropolitan Museum of Art are all close, to name a few. There is also a little market next door, so we could easily get a drink, snack, or preparations for an easy dinner, which helped keep dining costs down. We were on a mother/daughter trip, so safety was something I was thinking about when I booked my reservation. We felt very safe in the building and when we were walking around the neighborhood, even at night. We liked the energy of the city during the day, but were thankful to have a quiet place to rest our heads in the evening. We were in a charming building on a quiet tree-lined street. Our room felt spacious, was decorated beautifully, and was clean. The innkeepers and staff were pleasant and helpful. I knocked on the door after hours, to ask a question that I later discovered was clearly explained in the notebook in the room; nevertheless, my question was graciously answered. They gave detailed written information ahead of time and when we got there, so most of my questions were already answered and there were no unexpected surprises. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Front Office Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! New York City is indeed a lot of hustle and bustle, and we strive to establish a little haven within this hectic bubble. We're glad we did our job! ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnetonka
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We are returning to New York City in February of 2013. Where else would we stay but where we stayed before...The 1871 House.
The Parlor Studio, in which we stayed, is large, comfortable and welcoming. The staff is there to help and advise if you need it. The location is near everything you would want to do and see in New York. Lexington Avenue, which is one half block away with its huge variety of restaurants and stores,adds to the positive experience. It is well worth the price and we recommend it!
Walter and Marian Cherwien, Minnetonka, Minnesota

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IluvNY62, Manager at 1871 House, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review! We like to think that half-floor units like our Parlor Room are perfect for visiting couples like you and your wife looking to explore the city and settle in somewhere comfortable at night. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you early next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#33 of 467 in New York City
1,534 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#73 of 467 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
Hotel Plaza Athenee New York
#202 of 467 in New York City
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#224 of 467 in New York City
4,879 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,332 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#397 of 467 in New York City
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1871 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1871 House

Property: 1871 House
Address: 130 E 62nd St, between Park and Lexington, New York City, NY 10065
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven apartment-style suites in historic five-story English Rowhouse, circa-1871 within the Upper East Side Historic District & Lenox Hill neighborhood. The house offers rooms with lovely views of other historic homes, is flooded with sunlight, has an incredible garden, and grand-scale details. 1871 House is surrounded by the Upper East Side's finest restaurants, stylish cafes, galleries, Madison Avenue's chic boutiques as well as world-renowned museums such the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA), the Met Breuer Museum, The Metropolitan Museum of Art and The Frick Collection. A 2-block walk (five minutes) to Central Park and Fifth Avenue and Central Location 1871 House is perfect for culture seeking visitors to the Big Apple. 1871 House is also ideally located near Midtown Manhattan at it is on the most southern end of the Upper East Side. Easy access to public transportation makes 1871 House also convenient to Wall Street and the Financial District too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your 1871 House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1871 House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing