We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Would Go Just for the Bread.”
Review of Scarpetta

Scarpetta
Reserve with OpenTable
Scarpetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #223 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $500
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 9th Avenue
Transit: A, C, E & L trains to 8th Avenue/14th Street.
Description: Scarpetta is LDV Hospitality's signature restaurant concept that first launched in New York's Meatpacking District. The Italian expression, "fare la scarpetta," describes the gesture of taking the little boot-shaped piece of bread to soak up the remaining sauce left in the pot of one's home kitchen. In 2008, Scarpetta received a James Beard nomination for 'Best New Restaurant in America' as well as a coveted three-star review from the New York Times.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“I Would Go Just for the Bread.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

On my visits to NY, I must head over to Scarpetta for a meal. I dine at the bar (getting a seat can be difficult) where the bartenders are always friendly and helpful. I'm not a fan of Italian restaurants because I think I can cook a better pasta dish myself. However, this place has sucked me in on their bread basket that includes delicious stromboli. Yum. I usually start the evening with the creamy polenta and then try a new pasta dish. During my last visit, I tried the black farfalle with lobster. This dish looks a bit scary because it's so dark but it's quite good. In the past, I've ordered the spaghetti entree that is quite popular. I must admit it's really good as well. The dish definitely inspired me to change my own recipe. I've only had dessert here once. I'm usually too stuff to eat anything else. If you have a chance, definitely try this place. Heads up, it's not cheap and my recent meal with 2 glasses of wine and tip surpassed $100.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shaintell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    174
    52
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Totally lives up to expectations!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I took my husband there for Father's Day having watched Scott Conant on Chopped many times. Everything was top shelf - great decor, great service, great, innovative food. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weloveziti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were very lucky to get a last minute reservation for four at Scarpetta. Minus a mistake with bringing us an incorrect dish, service was at a high standard - they were very patient considering it took us 40 mins to even order.

All of the courses was of a high quality, but the standout dish for me was the duck and fois gras ravioli which just melted in the mouth.

With a bubbly ambience, this is a great for an upmarket meal with friends. Highly recommend trying it and will definitely be going back for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent dinner; started with the octopus and Seafood fritti, both of which were excellent. The octopus was very tender and had a nice flavor complement by chick peas and truffle foam. The mixed seafood fritti was calamari and thinly sliced vegetables lightly floured and fried in olive oil, very light and fresh. The pasta course was disappointing, short rib stuffed pasta, the flavor was pretty good, however it was slightly over cooked. The entrees, Red Snapper and Scallops, both had outstanding flavor, the scallops had four large scallops but the dish was slightly small for an entree. The cheese plate was our dessert, we selected three cheeses, all of which were excellent, however the presentation was lacking, as were accompaniments. One of the best Italian I've been to in NYC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious gourmet inventive Italian”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food, service, and atmosphere were wonderful. The preparations are unique and every bite was amazing. Don't skip dessert.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ab1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarpetta also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Scarpetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing