We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally lives up to expectations!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarpetta

Scarpetta
Reserve with OpenTable
Scarpetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #90 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $500
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 9th Avenue
Transit: A, C, E & L trains to 8th Avenue/14th Street.
Description: Scarpetta is LDV Hospitality's signature restaurant concept that first launched in New York's Meatpacking District. The Italian expression, "fare la scarpetta," describes the gesture of taking the little boot-shaped piece of bread to soak up the remaining sauce left in the pot of one's home kitchen. In 2008, Scarpetta received a James Beard nomination for 'Best New Restaurant in America' as well as a coveted three-star review from the New York Times.
Pine Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Totally lives up to expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I took my husband there for Father's Day having watched Scott Conant on Chopped many times. Everything was top shelf - great decor, great service, great, innovative food. Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Weloveziti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    165
    47
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were very lucky to get a last minute reservation for four at Scarpetta. Minus a mistake with bringing us an incorrect dish, service was at a high standard - they were very patient considering it took us 40 mins to even order.

All of the courses was of a high quality, but the standout dish for me was the duck and fois gras ravioli which just melted in the mouth.

With a bubbly ambience, this is a great for an upmarket meal with friends. Highly recommend trying it and will definitely be going back for me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent dinner; started with the octopus and Seafood fritti, both of which were excellent. The octopus was very tender and had a nice flavor complement by chick peas and truffle foam. The mixed seafood fritti was calamari and thinly sliced vegetables lightly floured and fried in olive oil, very light and fresh. The pasta course was disappointing, short rib stuffed pasta, the flavor was pretty good, however it was slightly over cooked. The entrees, Red Snapper and Scallops, both had outstanding flavor, the scallops had four large scallops but the dish was slightly small for an entree. The cheese plate was our dessert, we selected three cheeses, all of which were excellent, however the presentation was lacking, as were accompaniments. One of the best Italian I've been to in NYC.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious gourmet inventive Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The food, service, and atmosphere were wonderful. The preparations are unique and every bite was amazing. Don't skip dessert.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ab1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Scott Conant knows his pasta!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had a reservation for 6:00 pm, and were seated right away. We sat in the front portion of the restaurant. The tables are close, but not too close, especially by NYC standards. I read other reviews that the portions here are very small, so we ordered an appetizer each, a pasta each and a main course each. Well I can tell you that after the pasta, I was full and had to really take my time eating the main course. We had absolutely no room for dessert. The food was exceptional, especially the pasta. I had the spaghetti with tomato sauce, and my husband had the pici (which is spaghetti with lamb and spring vegetables). Appetizers were short ribs and mozzarella en carrozza. Main course was organic roasted chicken and sirloin of beef. We would go back for appetizers and pasta and have room for dessert. I definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsMylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarpetta also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Scarpetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing