We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time still a charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Second time still a charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We've made The Strand our go to place in the city. Good location near Brant Park and right in the middle of the "Bead District" . Really fun roof top bar that has stunning views and not terribly loud or crowded. Rooms are fine, nothing amazing, but a relative bargain for the city. the staff has always been very helpful and changed my reservations at a moments notice without penalty when bad weather delayed our trip..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJP2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to welcome you for a repeat visit, and I hope you’ll make the Strand your New York home away from home. On behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, thank you writing about the excellent value, convenient location, and accommodating service you’ve consistently experienced at The Strand. Please rest assured that your “third time” will be a charm just as the first two were. As always please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best available rate.

Wishing you and your family a very healthy and happy New Year!

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    747
    166
    44
    29
See reviews for
479
980
88
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Lots of attention to detail here. Very upgraded bathroom, perfectly clean, and not even a scuff mark on the wall. The front desk gladly held my suitcase after checkout for free. And the 20th floor bar with Empire view was a bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is particularly gratifying to know that you, as a person traveling on business, were thoroughly pleased with your experience at the Strand. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and for mentioning the terrific view from our rooftop lounge. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes for a very healthy and happy New Year!

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchseter, VA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed at numerous hotels in the city but this is by far my favorite. The room was beautiful. Very clean and well appointed. The staff was superb. The restaurant has amazing breakfast. The rooftop bar is very nice as well. Views of the Empire State Building from our room and the rooftop bar was excellent. I have nothing bad to say about The Strand and would stay there every time if I could afford it.

Room Tip: Ask for a upper level room with a view of the Empire State Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinamcclelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am thrilled and humbled to know that you rank The Strand above all the other New York hotels you’ve stayed at. Thank you, on behalf of all our ladies and gentlemen, for your glowing review. It will be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Wishing you all the very best for a healthy and happy New Year!

Warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed at the strand for 8 nights and had a very nice time. The location of the hotel is second to none, right next to the Empire state building. We could literally walk everywhere from the hotel, and we did. The rooms are of a very high standard and are kept clean. The staff are friendly and nice, overall a very nice hotell. At 350USD/ night it was quite pricy (we had a premium room), but it is not uncommon for Manhattan where you average around 200USD/night. Our last stay in NY we paid 200USD per night and the standard was fairly low compared to the strand. The Top side bar with views of the Empire state building is great at night, overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Sam80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Sincere thanks for your positive comments about our premiere location, exceptional accommodations, and outstanding personal service. It was our pleasure to have you with us for more than a week, and I hope to welcome you when you are next in New York.
Wishing you the very best for a healthy and happy New Year!

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a very nice hotel, all the rooms have a view of the Empire State Building. The roof top bar is good and has an interrupted view of the Empire State Building. However, children including (18 year olds) are not allowed in the bar at any time. We went there for our daughters 18th Bday and she knew she would not be able to drink in the States, but we never thought that she would not be allowed in the roof top bar (one of the reasons we booked this hotel). This did put a damper on our trip!!

She was however allowed in the bar contained in the hotel !!

We had one evening meal there and it was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. It’s true that New York’s laws about admitting guests under 21 into some venues but not others can be confusing and unclear. I am so sorry that your daughter wasn’t able to celebrate her 18th birthday at the Top of the Strand as hoped, but glad that all the other aspects of your stay with us were thoroughly positive.

Wishing you the very best for a healthy and happy New Year!

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I chose the Strand primarily based on location and reasonable rate (for NYC at Christmas). It did not disappoint in any way. The beds were comfortable, the service in the lounge was great, the front desk was very accommodating. Really, no negatives. I don't love the neighborhood, but it is a nice distance from the hubbub of mid-town and times square, but walkable to Chelsea and the village.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Heartfelt thanks for your persuasive list of your stay that set The Strand apart from other hotels in New York. I am grateful that you mentioned our location that is close to everything yet relatively tranquil, and found that the caring service of our ladies and gentlemen can’t be beat.

We look forward to welcoming you again, and wish you the very best for a healthy and happy New Year!

Best regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed the week before Christmas for 3 nights. Rooms are fully equipped with ironing board, walk in shower, free wifi and a very comfy huge bed!
The staff are very nice, very chatty and all the doorman are jolly! It makes a nice change from some hotels. They let us keep our luggage till 5pm the last night without any quibbles. Housekeeping done to a high standard and the room was very quiet and comfy, just what we needed after 4 days treading all over NYC.
Our room overlooked buildings out the back, this didn't bother us in the slightest as it was a typical NYC scene, complete with fire escapes and water towers on the roof.
We didn't try out the roof terrace as 2 nights they were booked for private parties, we did venture up once for a G&T but it had a noisy atmosphere and we wanted to just chill before bed so we left quickly.
All in all, a great location, minutes walk from some must dos, ie Bryant park, times sq, flat iron building and the Empire State and pretty central to everything else including the subway.
Will def stay again, may try it in summer to see the difference!
Thanks The strand!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KarmaandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your great comments, and for mentioning our jolly doorman and all the caring people at the Strand who helped make your pre-Christmas visit to New York everything you’d hoped for. Please do come back in summer, when our rooftop bar is open to the stars and the Empire State Building feels almost close enough to touch.

Wishing you the very best for a healthy and happy New Year!

Best regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#148 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#65 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing