We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #163 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Nice Place”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Long awaited trip to a NYC hotel was a delight because of the Strand Hotel. As a native new yorker i don't always have the luxury of enjoying our great city especially having to stay in a hotel. My wife and i were able to get away for a weekend before the kids go back school. We researched the numerous options and came across a great deal on the Strand website that included parking. It was a joy to be pampered with excellent service in a very unique fashion hotel. Great restaurant and very cozy roof bar overlooking the empire state building, wow what a view! I highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to escape for a romantic get away.

Room Tip: Try the great cocktails at the bistro and roof top lounge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Romantic getaways “R” us, and I am delighted that you and your wife chose the Strand for your end-of-summer stay in New York. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the experience, and please come again soon. Bring the kids and we’ll make sure they have a good time, too.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,290
    755
    171
    46
    30
See reviews for
486
986
88
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is in a fantastic position very near things. I was a lady traveling by myself and found it safe to walk to even after visiting the theatre on Broadwayafter after the evening show. I did walk to most places but the taxis are very convenient you can call them any time on the street. The view from the roof top is amazing. The room was small but that is New York space is a premium, (I have relatives who live there and they have a very small flat). The staff are friendly and helpful. And after a very busy day you had a clean room and a very comfortable bed to flake out on!

Green Features: Linen and towel reuse program. Recycle waste. Air conditioning/heating individual to room, which meant I could switch it off.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pljenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It sounds like the Strand’s location, comfortably furnished rooms, and caring staff were everything you’d hoped for on your recent trip to New York, and more. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, and also for mentioning the amazing views from our rooftop bar. I look forward to welcoming you personally on your next visit, and making sure that you feel at home.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the Strand in one of the queen bed rooms. We were on the 9th floor and only had a view of the building and alley next door but that was okay. The bed was very nice with top notch linens. The bathroom was huge with a very nice walk-in glass wall shower. The only drawback is that there was absolutely no storage space at the sink. Toiletries had to be stored outside the bathroom, which was not a big deal for us but could be for some.

Free wi-fi was a great bonus. Our rate included breakfast which consisted of juice, coffee (good coffee) and a selection of pastries (4) and some fresh fruit. It was fine, but if you want a healthier breakfast I wouldn't get the breakfast rate and would instead go across the street to the Blacksmith Cafe and Deli which has an excellent selection of ready to buy items (fresh fruit, yogurt, etc.) as well as food made to order. You can also order off the menu for breakfast.

The rooftop bar was worth a trip but as others have noted, some seating is usually always blocked off and reserved so get there early if you want a seat. There is a happy hour Sundays to Thursdays in the main floor bar and that was good too and significantly cheaper than the rooftop bar.

Housekeeping was a little odd. For such a short stay we typically re-use our towels but by the end of the trip even those towels we hung up disappeared and were not replaced. We still had enough towels and I'm sure if we had called down they would have replenished the supply but we didn't bother. We did have to call housekeeping to ask for a roll of toilet paper as ours was not replenished and it ran out. Because there is no bathroom storage I guess there isn't anywhere to keep a spare roll.

Athough the rooms do not have coffee makers you can call the front desk and they will send one up free of charge. However, they send fresh milk so if you are hoping to use it the following morning that doesn't work so well.

We would definitely stay here again when traveling to New York City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocAHolic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write about your recent visit. We sincerely appreciate pointing out some of the details that made your stay enjoyable. We have made note and will certainly address the oddities you have mentioned, and hope that we have the pleasure of having you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My friend and I went on our first trip to New York for my 40th birthday. We stayed from Thursday to Sunday.
The hotel was lovely. We had trouble with the wifi and upon being directed to call the technical people I was shocked when they told me to contact Apple as they said the problem of connectivity was not on their end. I ended up calling the front desk and informing them of the information I had been given. One of the gentlemen from the front desk came up and tried his best to smooth things over. It took until the next day to get connected to the Internet, and this same gentlemen noticed us outside the building as he was leaving from his shift and came over to check to see if we managed to get connected.

Our package through Porter Escapes also included breakfast....however there wasn't a gluten free option....so I ended up having a small plate of fruit each morning.

The roof top bar was smaller than expected and quite crowded but worth the view.

My friend had emailed the manager to let them know it was my 40th birthday. We were told we had a view of the empire states building.....sadly we could only see the top 3 feet of the metal point of the building.
We didn't get any of the other a knowledge envy of birthday cookies mentioned on Trip Advisor.

All in all, would I do it again....of course! New York is about the city, not the hotel. The Stand Hotel met most of my needs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitbyBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy belated birthday! We are so pleased that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your time in NYC and that the Strand would be part of the birthday festivities. We apologize for a few of the shortcomings you encountered but happy that you overall stay was a pleasant one. I was very surprised that we fell short of acknowledging you on your birthday, something we take such pride in and hope you will contact me directly in the future for a round of cocktails on our roof top lounge.

Best regards

John Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our trip to NYC could not have been any better. One of the most important factor was our stay at The Strand. I loved, loved, loved this place. It was so me! The people there were wonderful. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the Strand team, thank you so very much for thinking so highly of the Strand. We promise to continue to make you feel special each time you are here. Hope to have you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Similar to the other reviews here, my stay was terrific. Traveling with family of (4); Staff was very courteous, friendly and actively tried to accommodate us during stay. Concierge was always available for any info. Rooms were larger than expected, with beds impressively comfortable and large. Free Wi-Fi to boot. Very clean, boutique hotel. Our window view was incredible. Location was fantastic with centralized location. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 604345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your report of a thoroughly satisfying stay at The Strand makes me feel both proud and humble. Thank you for taking the time to list all the features that delighted you and your family. I am particularly pleased to know that the rooms were larger than you expected. An indication of how much perception can vary from person to person. What really counts is that you had a great time, and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the beautiful hotel with my girlfriends for 3 days to celebrate a birthday. We were so impressed by the efforts made to acknowledge our celebration. As we got to our rooms we had a special complimentary strand cocktail that soon followed as a gesture for the birthday, and it didn't end there. We all got back to our rooms later that evening to find a bottle of wine and personalized note from the GM, really nice touch! We had a chance to dine in the bistro on one of the nights which had really great service and yummy food. We would end each night at the gorgeous cozy roof top lounge overlooking the empire state building for cocktails. The hotel was very clean, with great overall service and all the extra touches that made it wonderful, we can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaso M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to help make the birthday celebration and your entire New York visit totally memorable. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such gracious comments about your experience. Our whole team is looking forward to your return, so please come again.

Warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#155 of 468 in New York City
954 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#103 of 468 in New York City
732 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 468 in New York City
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#66 of 468 in New York City
583 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#212 of 468 in New York City
600 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 468 in New York City
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing