We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stand Hotel made our trip of a lifetime even more special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Stand Hotel made our trip of a lifetime even more special”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have always wanted to visit NYC as it has totally fascinated me, my trip was a birthday present from my Husband. How excited was I? The Strand Hotel was perfect in every way! The staff were amazing, the room was breath taking and the roof top bar was divine! 4 days is not enough! We are already planning our next trip and we haven't been back in the UK for 24 hrs yet! Thank you! Thank you! to all at The Strand! looking forward to seeing you again very soon!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are wonderful, but ask for a view of the Empire State Building - breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are grateful that you selected the Strand Hotel NYC for your first visit to our great city. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for already planning a return trip. Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations office or me personally for the best available rates, visit us at (thestrandnyc.com). We look forward to welcoming you back soon, have a wonderful summer!

Kind regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    760
    176
    48
    31
See reviews for
492
996
88
271
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here late May/early June and thought the hotel was excellent.
Staff were very friendly and provided great service, room was spacious, comfortable and clean with great views of the Empire State and the amenities in the hotel were fantastic - lovely hotel foyer and entrance, really good restaurant for breakfasts and dinners. Almost forgot the location - in a quieter part of midtown close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markraymondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your fantastic 5 Star review, and for highlighting all of our great services. We hope we will have the opportunity of having you and your family back in the near future.

Wishing you all a wonderful summer!

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. We spent a week at the Strand. On arrival we were greeted warmly and were told we had been given a room with a view we did not expect the view we got, it was amazing, we were on the 17th floor looking directly at the Empire State Building out of lovely floor to ceiling windows, what more could you ask for!!
The hotel has a great location and we walked everywhere because it was so accessible. Times Square is only a few minutes away. At the same time the street and hotel are very quiet, which is perfect if you are not used to city noise.
We wanted to see the Knicks play while we were in NYC and the hotel helped us find some tickets. We only ate in the hotel once as we were wanting to try so many different things whilst we were there and the food is amazing, cooked to perfection!
The room was a good size with a massive bed in it, house keeping were efficient and the do not disturb button worked well.
Would highly recommend the strand to anyone visiting New York it really has it all for you and don't forget to visit the roof terrace bar during your stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing the Strand, NYC for your Honeymoon week. We are elated by all of your wonderful praises and sincerely appreciate your high recommendation of the Strand.

Warm Congratulations on your Marriage, our team hopes to have you back with us again.

Kind regards,

John N. Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sergeantsville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Strand Hotel was a great place for a weekend get-away in the city. The location was very good. The hotel was clean, attractive and reasonably priced on expedia. Our room was a little small, but was comfortable. We were on the second floor and the room was quiet.
We especially enjoyed the rooftop bar as we were meeting people in the city. We enjoyed drinks around 5 o'clock when the bar first opened before going out to dinner. We returned later in the evening to enjoy the music, view of the Empire State Building lit up in blue and after dinner drinks. Our cocktail waitress remembered us from earlier and helped us get seats, she was very nice and helpful as it does get loud and crowded. We all had a great time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightmare3am
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest

We are so happy you chose the Strand for your weekend escape and that you enjoyed all of our services. I was particularly happy that you took full advantage of our cozy roof top lounge overlooking the Empire State Building. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and for recommending us to others.

We hope to see you again and encourage you to contact us directly or reserve a room on our website (strandhotelnyc.com for the best available rates.

Have a wonderful summer!

Warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

When we first arrived, we received excellent service by hotel staff, the room we had on the 19th floor was good, even though you could hear the rooftop bar in the elevator, the room and floor was very quiet. We did have a small room, but it was lovely - the bed was bigger than our king size, bathroom clean and very tidy. There are no tea/coffee making faciltiies in the room, just ring down for someone to bring it up, it was no trouble at all. For the price we paid for the room it was worth the location and cleaniness. We had a drink at the rooftop bar on one of the nights we stayed, and the view was amazing of the Empire State Building. The Hotel is ideally located in midtown - and within a 10 min walk radius, you can hit the following places: Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Chrysler Building, NY Public Library, Times Square, Flatiron Building, Bryant Park, 5th Avenue - with all the shopping you can muster! The metro is also easily accessible once you get hold of metro map and things are so easy to find. All in all, the hotel was so easily located, we managed to pop in a few afternoon naps - as you need a good pair of walking shoes!

Room Tip: We did not get a good view outside our window - as it's quite built up. but being on the 19th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your advice about good walking shoes was right on target, and I’m sure future guests will benefit from that reminder. The Strand’s location right in the center of Manhattan is one of the many exciting things we are proud to offer our guests. Thank you for writing about your enjoyable experience at our rooftop bar, and for mentioning the comfort and cleanliness of your room. Our goal is to make sure that every guest has a thoroughly positive experience, and it was gratifying to hear your comments. I wish you a pleasant and relaxing summer.

Best regards,,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel was in a great location for exploring mid town New York with most attractions and locations within a short walking distance.

The hotel was very welcoming and very modern. The bistro was good too and worth a try.

The rooms were very modern and clean although there wasn't a massive amount of space but I suppose you have to take into account the location and cost compared to some hotels in the vicinity.

The roof top bar had great views and was very trendy with a nice atmosphere.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppol0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review just made our day, and I thank you on behalf of our entire team. Our Chef, Kelvin Fernandez at the Strand Bistro was delighted that you enjoyed dining there, and it’s good to hear that the stylish, welcoming atmosphere at the Top of the Strand was equally pleasing. I hope you will stay with us on your next visit to our great city.

Warm regards,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is very very clean, the staff are very welcome and willing to help with any question. The consiliyers helped us with tickets to a play, consulting on site seeing, order shuttle from the hotel to newark airport.
The room was very very clean and even at afternoon someone came to ask if we need something. Twice we came at noon to take shower and rest and in the evening when we came back to the room, it was cleaned again, towels were replaced with clean, EXCELLENT!!!
We had a good time and we are going to be back.
The hotel is less than 5 min. from all important places.
We are strongly recommended it to every one!
Thanks to the staff from Mendel Yossi :-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ymendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Our entire team is most grateful for your glowing comments about your week-long stay at the Strand, NYC. Helping to secure the theater tickets and providing other information and guidance to make your New York visit enjoyable and fun was our great pleasure. Thank you for recommending us, and please come again soon.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#156 of 467 in New York City
976 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#105 of 467 in New York City
744 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#98 of 467 in New York City
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#65 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#241 of 467 in New York City
612 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing