We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #141 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the hotel this weekend. We arrived at around 9am and the receptionist was kind enough to check us in right away. The doormen were quick and helpful as well. We were given a room with an accessible bathroom on the 5th floor, as my husband had some difficulties with walking. The room was beautiful and clean and not too small. Contrary to some reviews on Tripadvisor, we found it easy to catch a cab in front of the hotel even on a Sunday. The room did have a full mirror behind the door of the wardrobe next to the bed, where the iron was stored. The small ironing board indeed had short stand, but what can we expect in a hotel? I put it on top of the desk and it worked perfectly. The wi-fi worked well. The bedsheet was by Frette, if I am not mistaken (not a lot of hotels are able to use Frette sheets as these are expensive, about $1,000 or more a sheet). Another nice thing was the toiletries made by Fragonard. The only thing that made our stay a little uncomfortable was because the floor in the shower stall was not slanted towards the drainage (it was uneven, there was a "bump" in the middle) and caused the water to run out into the bathroom floor outside. I used a towel to stop the water, and we were fine. I hope Management will pay attention to this problem and fix it soon. Also it would be nice if there is some counter space in the bathroom to keep our toiletries. The designer of the hotel rooms probably did not keep the traveling customers in mind when designing the bathrooms.
After a long day at a family event, we decided to come back to the hotel to get some rest and have dinner at the hotel. We were not disappointed, the food and the service were pretty good. The warm fireplace and the big fish tank made our meal even more enjoyable. We didn't visit the rooftop bar though.
If you have a chance to visit NYC, try this hotel, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are staying in an accesible room, check to make sure that the floor of the shower stall is ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your elaborate review during your recent weekend stay. We were happy that we could assign a room to accommodate your husband’s needs and that you thoroughly enjoyed many of our great hotel features. We will address your concern with the bathroom floor and have happy to say that we have corrected the lack of space for your personal toiletries; hope to show you this during your next visit.

Please contact me directly as I would be delighted to extend a complimentary cocktail at the Top of the Strand since you were not able to experience the lounge on your last visit.


Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    743
    163
    42
    29
See reviews for
476
976
88
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Cannot recommend this hotel enough! Had such a fantastic stay here! The roof top bar is just a 21 year olds dream! The location was fantastic, only 6 min walk to Times Square, Macy's and Victoria's Secret is just round the corner! Rooms a little small but they were clean and beds were made every day with free chocolates!! (little things please little minds!) staff very helpful and friendly too! Fallen in love with NYC and going back in August unfortunately the strand was fully booked! But would 100% recommend you to book this hotel :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you! It is never too late to share your experience with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome you to call me directly as the hotel can book-up fairly quickly. Your recommendation means the world to us, hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

John Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed a number of hotels in the area and this one had nice sized rooms for a business traveller. The bathrooms were decent size and clean. The folks in the dining facility were gracious and helpful, but only stuck around for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We appreciate your kind review and pleased that the Strand was able to fulfill your business needs. I hope that you will have more time on your next visit for excellent lunch and or dinner in the bistro or a delicious cocktail at the Top of the Strand roof top lounge.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
Genral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, Kentucky
Level Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good hotel for the price and location. Very close to many nice restaurants and shops (such as Lord & Taylor and Macy's), and short walk from subway station. Small hotel, with only half a dozen or so rooms per floor. Rooms themselves are small by American standards, but not if you've stayed in a European hotel. Bath, on the other hand, was large, with very nice towels (big, fluffy, soft, smelled very clean). Very good service. Contrary to most recent Frommers, breakfast is not included, but deli right across the street (Blacksmith) is good and cheap. Unless you plan to spend a lot of time in your room, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turneraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

To some people, “reliable” might seem a tad dull, but we are thrilled that you’ve found The Strand reliable. It takes constant vigilance and attention to detail to keep everything perfect for each guest, from fluffy, fragrant towels to excellent service by every member of the team. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on tripadvisor.

Many thanks,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

well, i chose the strand hotel after spending few hours to find good hotel in NYC. so many hotels to choose from making the decision very hard. finally i decided to go with the strand.
the price + location make it a great choice. i stayed here for 6 nights and had a great time. first we arrived to the hotel at 10:00am . none of the hotels i ever been at offered me available room so early. the lady at the desk told us (at 10:00am) she has available room at second floor and if we prefer higher floor she will have one at noon. we decided to wait for the higher floor room cause we knew we had 6 nights to spend there. we put the luggage for storage at the hotel and went to see this great city !!! when we came back at 13:00 the room was already ready for us. the room are small as other said in the reviews of this hotel but quite standard size for NYC. the bed was king size and was so comfortable . i have visited at many hotels and this is most likely the most comfortable bed. i was worried about the WIFI as i had so many issues with wifi connection at other hotels (even when i paid) but the connection was great, the signal was terrific and i had no issue at all !!! which i was so surprise .
the bathroom are small and the only thing i would recommend is to add hose to shower head so shower will be more easy.
at the first day of our stay we went down and the hotel has a nice small stand which they offer attraction in nyc like shows, shuttles etc. it was very easy to use their services and their prices was quite good. very useful.
at our last day i went to the desk and ask if i can checkout later than standard as i have flight at 6pm and they immediately agreed and ask if 13:00 will be ok which was great as that was our pick up time.
the staff are just great, especially the doorman (john). the service at the breakfast was fast and efficient.
the breakfast (continental) was nice and tasty . especially their muffin.
don't miss the roof view! i read about it here and at the second night went there and they have a great view from the roof of the empire state building .
in summary, i have visited many hotels and this hotel is just what you need for NYC.
location is great (37st between fifth and six avenue) , just a walk from great 34st where you will find any shop you need , walk from subway station(34st) and walk from times square,rockefeller center, port authority and more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your detailed review of your stay with us. I’m delighted that everything was to your liking, from breakfast muffins to complimentary WiFi. Your recommendation means a lot to us, and John our excellent doorman is particularly grateful for your shout-out to him. I hope you will come back and see us.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Strand is a perfect hotel for visiting all New York highlights. It's very close to the Empire State Building (3 blocks, 5 minutes) and on walking distance to Bryant Park, Broadway and Times Square. Perfect location, with a magnificent bar with terrace on the top floor. Very friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Nice and clean bathrooms. Delicious champaign with a view on the Empire State Building. :-)
Walking down 5th Avenue all the way to Central Park is also recommendable.
We will definitely come back and would like to recommend this hotel to everybody who's visiting New York.
We loved being here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MenM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so glad that you were able to take advantage of all the terrific features we offer guests, including the amazing bar on our rooftop terrace, where the views are the best in New York. It’s great to know that you found our location to be in walking distance of so many attractions you were interested in. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We loved having you here, and look forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in mid feb with our two teenage children. Lovely hotel ,really nice staff and a great location . Would definatly recommend . The rooftop bar is great spot for looking at Empire State . The ground floor bar is very good as well nice lively ambiance . There is a great business centre in the basement for printing out flight tickets etc. the beds are very comfy and showers nice and powerful

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

It was great to hear that our central location and lively ambiance help make your family’s visit to New York memorable. Thanks for mentioning that you found the business center convenient and the view from our rooftop bar spectacular, you checked us out from top to bottom. Every detail, from our invigorating shower heads and comfy beds to our attentive staff, are all intended to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for letting us know that we succeeded. It means a lot to us, and we hope you’ll come back soon.

Warm regards,

John Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#97 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,638 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing