We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #171 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 26, 2012

4 of us shared a room on the second floor.
Quiet and clean with comfortable beds and very good shower.
Ideal location for mid-town sights and great view of Empire State Building from roof top bar. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review and for mentioning how much you liked our fabulous beds and our Spa shower head, as well as our attentive genuine staff. Those fundamentals cannot be taken for granted, and so I appreciate your mentioning them. I’m glad you enjoyed the view from our rooftop bar, and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Many Thanks,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,420 - 1,426 of 2,345 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Room was spacious, with 2 beds, bathroom updated, nice shower, nice staff. I was on lower floors, no view, but it was really quiet. A bit overpriced in my opinion - paid $430 a night, a sinle person could find a less expensive lodging, but the room was big enough for a family of 3-4. Nice, inexpensive and very clean cafe on the opposite side of the street, breakfast bar averaged to about $5-6 with coffe:) good for NYC.

Room Tip: For a quiet room - lower floors. For a bit of a view - go up:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wtravel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write about your spacious, quiet room. As you mentioned, views from the higher floors are pretty amazing. Our rooftop bar offers Empire State Building views that all guests can enjoy, and I invite you to check it out on your next visit.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Strand is not that flashy and therefore not that expensive. Nevertheless, the rooms are perfectly equipped, very modern and yet tasty. The service is impeccable and the location is great. You can get anywhere in Midtown by foot, 5 minutes to Times Square or Macy's. The only minus is (maybe) the lack of more elevators in "rush hours".

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaKe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for so much for your eloquent depiction of our great hotel. We are pleased that you appreciated the boutique size and for noting our modern rooms, and great location to all the delights of Midtown Manhattan and above all our impeccable service. It is true that the demand for elevators seems to peak at certain times of the day, we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope to have you back soon!

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We planned a theatre weekend getaway and could not get our regular hotel. The Strand was not only convenient and less expensive than the other hotel, bot also full of delightful surprises. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and well-appointed, and the food was delicious. The rooftop lounge was fun and we enjoyed the view of the Empire State Bldg. If there had been a coffee maker in the room it would have been perfect. However, we probably got ready for the day earlier by not getting room service! We will definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TigerDoc1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. You confirmed so many of the elements that we proudly provide for our guests’ enjoyment. That includes our stylish, spotless rooms, turndown with chocolates, amazing views from our all season retractable rooftop bar, and caring attention from our wonderful staff. I look forward to welcoming you on your next visit!

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at The Strand For 4 nights over the Columbus Day weekend. The hotel is clean, quiet with friendly helpful staff. It is perfectly situated and allows easy access to many of Manhattan's top attractions. We were able to walk to Times Square in minutes. Central Park was an easy walk as well.
Our room was a Superior class room. These I believe are the smallest rooms. It was small, but more then adequate. The free WiFi worked perfectly. The hotel is small in comparison to many Manhattan hotels. We enjoyed the less crowed atmosphere that afforded as it meant no waiting for elevators or noisy hallways. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chimochimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review about the Strand’s appeal as a boutique hotel. In addition to our quiet accommodations in Manhattan’s vibrant center, our relatively small size translates to a high level of personal attention for each guest. I’m glad you found the free WiFi useful, and our business center and fitness center are also available at no charge. Perhaps you will check them out on your next visit, and take in the spectacular views from our all-season retractable rooftop lounge.


Many Thanks,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights at The Strand Hotel in October. We found the hotel under a website for luxury hotels and it was one of the more moderately priced ones of the bunch. We were very pleased with the location and at $310 per night it was comparable to other hotels in the neighborhood. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. A couple nights I requested ice to the room and it would arrive within moments. We had some left over deserts from a nice dinner and brought them back to hotel, but since the mini bar is prestocked it was full, when asked if we could empty it they offered instead to bring us a second small fridge to use just for the desserts. Because it is such a small hotel we found the lobby quiet and elevators very quick.

When booking be sure to say that other hotels at same price range are offering free breakfast and they will give you a coupon for free continental breakfast or $18 credit per person towards anything from breakfast menu. This saved us $60 to $80 per breakfast vs having to pay for things at the hotel restaurant.

The rooftop patio and bar is very nice and sitting with a cocktail and watching the sun set in NY with the Empire State Building as a backdrop is a great way to end a day.

I would certainly recommend this hotel to others looking for nice Midtown hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for free continental breakfast to get the $18 per person credit towards anything on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumfuninsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share all of the many details of what appears to have been a great stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the overall great value, convenient location, great views from our rooftop lounge and the high level of service that we consistently strive to provide.
We look forward to having you stay again in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates.
Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were very impressed by the Strand Hotel during our recent stay in NYC. In terms of location the hotel is extremely central, between 5th and 6th Avenues on 37th St. Times Square, Port Authority and Macy's are only minutes away, as is the subway downtown to Wall Street and the South Street Sea Port area.
The Hotel itself is beautiful, and is decorated to a high standard. We booked a twin room with 2 double beds (so no fighting over who had to take the single), the bedding is a very high quality and we both wanted to take the pillows home. There was a fridge in the room in addition to the mini bar, which was very convienient for storing water and juice. The ensuite was very chic, with a walk in double shower, and there was always an extra set of towels in addition to bathrobes. We received chocolates each night as well as a fruit plate and bottled water on our first night.
The hotels star attraction has to be the roof top bar with views of the Empire State, 'The Top of the Strand' has a very relaxed almost mediterran feel to it, with large couches, cushions and a full table service. However the drinks menu is a liitle on the expensive side.
Every single staff member we encountered was friendly, efficent and helpful. The front desk was always manned and any requests dealt with promptly.
What we enjoyed most about the Strand was the little touches, the welcome email before our arrival, the welcome letter and fruit plate on our first night, the umbrella in the room, the extra towels, the fridge, the always smiling staff (every single time we entered or left the hotel over the week we were greeted with a smile and some friendly words), the thank you email following our departure, they all enhance dour stay. We flet very much apart of The Strand Family, thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarronsView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

We were thrilled to read your amazing comments during your recent stay at the Strand. We appreciate you taking the time to write about the many details you encountered as it helps paint a picture of your memorable stay to so many of our readers. I can assure you that the Strand Family will consistently strive to provide you with Excellent Service!
I hope to personally have the opportunity of greeting on your visit. Wishing you and your family all the very best, Happy Holidays!

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#144 of 469 in New York City
1,004 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#175 of 469 in New York City
3,886 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#103 of 469 in New York City
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#111 of 469 in New York City
774 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#102 of 469 in New York City
1,165 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 469 in New York City
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $160 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing