We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TIME IN NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT TIME IN NYC”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent 5 days around the US Open and absolutely loved our time here. The staff was outstanding. First night we were in a room on the 4th floor facing the street. A bit noisy for my light sleeping. They moved us to the 17th floor in a quiet area and I slept like a baby. Great extras: laundry service, umbrella, hair dryer, robe, wonderful amenities. Made us feel special every day with warm greetings and excellent concierge service. We walked and used the subway easily from here. We will absolutely come back. Make sure you grab a drink on the rooftop too!

Room Tip: Ask for something not facing the road and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

What a great time to be in NYC! Being part of the US open must have been an amaziang experience. We are delighted that you had 5 great days with us and that you enjoyed some of nice in-room touches that made a difference. We hope you will always consider us during future trips to our great city!

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,294
    757
    173
    46
    30
See reviews for
487
991
88
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at the Strand with my aunty for four nights last month. After reading all the other reviews I was looking forward to it!

We had a room on the 11th floor (deluxe double) with a view of the Empire State. The room was clean, the maid came in everyday, they supplied a bathrobe, shower gel and shampoo etc and the beds nice and comfy. It wasn't a big room but I expected that from the reviews and the bathroom looked modern and stylish. You also get a chocolate in the evening which I appreciated (easily pleased perhaps!), We also asked reception for a coffee machine, which they supplied (though the filter didn't work too well).

The main highlights of the Strand are the rooftop bar - amazing - plus they have a DJ. It's pretty expensive at the bar ($15) and the happy hour doesn't cover the cocktails, but we had a lovely night there on our very first evening. Beware however that you might get moved from your seat at short notice due to it being 'reserved' with no prior warning.

The second highlight is the location - close to Times Square etc and also there's a deli right opposite, serving early morning coffee and omelettes - delicious!

The staff were all very friendly and helpful too and we ate at the restaurant downstairs one evening which was nice food.

The room contains a safe which was useful. There wasn't much room in the wardrobe for two women (!) but I am sure they would have given us more hangers if we asked. Another minor downside is the shower itself wasn't great - not much power, but adequate, and hot, which was the main thing.

I haven't stayed elsewhere in NYC to compare The Strand to, and I wouldn't say it's the fanciest 4* hotel I've been to either, but I would go back again - comfy beds, great location and rooftop bar an added bonus!

P.S Didn't find/use the gym

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for you wonderful elaborate review! We are delighted that our location and amazing staff exceeding your expectations. We are sorry that you did not get to experience our full service fitness center, and hope we will have the opportunity of hosting you in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for the best available rates.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been in this hotel during a short trip in New York. Nice, clean, efficient and in a very good position. Unfortunately nothing really special to report and to move the feedback to 5 full balls. Would a small gym or spa make it better? I would like to come back...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5x15x5-ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest

Your kind review is appreciated! Thank you so much for thinking to write about us after nearly a year since you visited the Strand. We were sorry to see that you did not have the opportunity of enjoying our wonderful full service fitness center and hope that we can officially earn that 5 full ball rating from you next time you are with us.

We hope to have you back with us soon! Please feel free to contact me directly for the best available rates.

Warm regards,

John N Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Just got back from New York yesterday on our first trip there. The hotel was excellent, with very helpful staff. We usually go to Florida and we were warned we wouldnt get the same level of care but I was very impressed at how friendly all the staff were. The location was perfect, round the corner from the Empire State Building and Time Square. The roof top bar was also nice if not a little pricey, although all alcohol is expensive in New York. Only criticism was the rooms are quite small although this seems standard as space is at a premium. Would definately stay here again & recommend to friends.
Claire & David Findlay, Montrose, Scotland.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of building & higher up will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased that we could be part of your experience in the greatest city in the world! Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our readers and for pointing out some of the characteristics of our wonderful hotel. Glad to see that our central location, breathtaking views of the Empire State Building from our roof top bar and the warmth your were provided by each and every team memebr. We hope your travels bring you back soon.

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

the hotel is very nice and people who work in it are very pleasant.
the staff was all the time asking to us if we need something. really it was a very nice experience
i will never forget the expirence

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria amparo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your recent visit. We are so glad that you were able to experience the dedicated attentive team of the Strand and hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 10 days this August and can categorically say the service and room are brilliant.This was our third stay in NYC so know what standard to expect.

Our room was facing the Empire State (1504 if you can get it!) and was an ample size.The bed seemed to be huge king size- enough for 3! The bathroom and shower were superb,and the room and maid service,prompt,considerate and excellent.The Tv channels were good and had premier league football live! I would only suggest if 2 people are staying you need 2 chairs.

Matthew,Peter and John on reception were exceptional and met all our requests- always with a smile and a personal touch.

The rooftop bar is expensive( but has a happy hour 2-5pm) but has a brilliant view of the Empire State- so is worth a visit,but residents just pop up and there is no pressure to buy expensive drinks (it would be worth offering coffee as an option)

We had an 18$ credit each for breakfast which covered the 'Americano' and 'Continental'- remember service and tax around 7$ is added.There is an a la carte option if needed and service and food were good.the Americano is basically 2 eggs,a potato cake,bacon or sausage,toast and coffee or tea- so adequate for most! I would suggest that breakfast in all shapes be included in the price as it is a pain to go out and look elsewhere.We did not dine there in the evening as there are numerous places to find in the City- but there was a fixed price 3 course for 35$ ( again add service) and honestly we found 10 good restaurants for much less than the 85$ it may have cost us at the hotel.

The hotel is on West 37 close to Herald Sq subway and Macy's- so really convenient for all parts of the City.

All in all a brilliant stay- no negatives at all- highly recommended!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djhall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy that we could be part of your 10 day trip to NYC. We are thrilled that you were able to experience the warm personalized service that our ladies and gentlemen so eloquently offer and for the central location that is truly the heart of NYC. I am delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our King Beds, they are truly an oasis. I suppose it also doesn’t hurt when you have a view of the empire State Building at your finger tips, truly special!

We look forward to your return and hope to always be your NYC home!

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Second time we've stayed here...great place, modern, chic, super clean and such a convenient location.Air conditioner in our room was very noisy but so tired from pounding the pavement all day managed to sleep ok. Our stay was made perfect by Peter and Antwon at the front desk. These guys were amazing, great customer service skills, funny, helpful and accomodating and always got my name right each time I passed the front desk! Made me feel at home.

Janis C. Ont. Canada

Room Tip: Select room with enough space for 2 people to move around in, our room was a little tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased and thankful that you have made the Strand your home when in NYC. Your kind praise about our modern chic décor, great location, super clean rooms and amazing front desk team are all the special qualities I assure you will be waiting each and every time you return. We hope to see you soon!

Warm regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#151 of 467 in New York City
966 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
739 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#96 of 467 in New York City
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#61 of 467 in New York City
608 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#200 of 467 in New York City
608 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018-6201 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing