We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not a 4 stars hotel at all, mire like 3 stars.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Ranked #139 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a 4 stars hotel at all, mire like 3 stars.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Hotel is located steps away from a lot of things. Construction outside was very loud very early in the AM so couldnt have a good night sleep..Room was small but cozy and very clean. This hotel may call themselves a 4 stars but i got the feeling it is more like 3 stars hotel, i say this because ive stayed at 4 and 5 hotels in NYC but this one was just like those 3 stars hotels like Best Western or comfort Inn..not enough room to move around, TV in the room was very small and the bathroom was not all that great. I honestly didnt see anything luxurious about it, all it is the terrace with views of the Empire State Building and the location, nothing else was exciting. Breakfast was from 6 AM to 10 AM though i didnt have time to try it out. This hotel didnt meet my expectations so i will not be stay here again. There is many of 4 and 5 stars hotel in NYC that are way nicer than this one.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamaro123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. We were pleased you found the location convenient and the rooms flawless and cozy. We do offer various room categories that may be more in line with the size that you expected. We apologize if the room size did not meet your standards and would certainly like to extend the opportunity to speak to you more about these available categories in the future. We’re doing everything possible to ensure that guests are never affected from the sounds of neighboring activity, but this can sometimes be a challenge of operating a hotel in a big city. We again thank you and hope to here from you soon. I can be reached directly at 646 368-6415.

Warm Regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    737
    159
    41
    28
See reviews for
470
972
87
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

The Strand is small in comparison to most New York Hotels and the reason we chose this hotel was because of the wonderful reviews we had read and we were not disappointed. The welcome was wonderful, our room was beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean with lovely complimentary toiletries. The bar and restaurant area had a relaxed feel and breakfast was a bonus as not many hotels in New York include a breakfast. There was a whole range of food to chose from, all of it delicious and you could even take a coffee to go. We also had dinner in the restaurant one night which was wonderful and beautifully presented. The icing on the cake is the roof top bar which overlooks the Empire State Building, the glass roof opens on warmer evenings. We won't stay anywhere else in New York now, this is a great hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaneB559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
162 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My Girlfriend had always wanted to go to New York at Christmas and I had always dreamed of taking her there and proposing, however the thing that made this tricky is that she is quite a private person and New York is a pretty busy city (especially at Christmas). Therefore in order to pull off the perfect NYC Christmas proposal I trawled the internet looking for a room with a view, so we could have our private moment as well as the stunning New York view. From all the reviews and pictures this hotel seemed to tick all the boxes and so I contacted the hotel to tell them what I wanted to do, they couldn’t have been more helpful, they gave us a top floor room which was perfect it had ceiling to floor windows with a stunning view of the Empire State Building.

Not only this but the hotel itself is modern and clean, the hotel breakfast was really good with fresh bagels and cereal etc. and the location of the hotel is great too, just a short walk from 5th Ave and right in the heart of mid-town so not too far to walk in order to get to all the major sights. Our Christmas trip to NYC was perfect in every way and I’d like to thank The Strand hotel for providing a great room with a unforgettable view.

Room Tip: As higher floor as you can get with an Empire State Building view is a must, as long as the budget a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
We are so grateful that you selected the Strand for such a special occasion.
Nothing is more gratifying than the understanding that we were the perfect setting for your romantic getaway. We are particularly thrilled to have read that all of the many details to your proposal were perfectly executed and look forward to welcoming you for the next chapter of this enchanting tale,

Warm Regards,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Comfortable rooms, although small. Good location within walking distance we can reach broadway, the vivid avenues and NYC library and Bryant park. The view from almost rooms include a perspective from the empire state building, which make it magic at night. The roof top bar must be enjoyed and be prepared for good cocktails. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is good to begin your day although it may take a while to bring back some run out items.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for commenting on your enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. The New York Public Library and the Morgan Library are both within walking distance, adding high culture to the mix of shopping and entertainment that surround and that make The Strand’s location so convenient. We hope you’ll return to enjoy our hospitality again soon.

Warm Regards,
John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

It's my second time at The Strand. I did not use the Restaurant or the Gym. Was there on a business trip and most of the time in meetings or working in the room. Both times I've got a great room, with great natural light and an invaluable silence being in the center of Manhattan.

The space of the room, great. The bed, comfortable. The pillows, perfect. Small bathroom, but will all you need.

One detail to remember: free WiFi. WiFi it is one of the most ridiculous expenses Hotels now charge to their clients, when we all now that's a service that should be given included in the price, like showers, beds or electricity in the rooms. Again, a good marketing detail coming from The Strand.

And the service at the Lobby, really nice. They make an effort to smile all the time and for my surprise, when I got to my room in my second visit, there was a bottle o wine and a personal letter from the GM to me, thanking me for repeating visit and welcoming me.

What else can you ask for when you get to the Big Apple?

I'm not sure if it's a good idea to share all these things... next time in NYC I wouldn't like to find the Hotel full or the prices tripled!

Congratulations for a great service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PepeRivas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our first trip to New York having had a brilliant time.

We were so pleased that we picked The Strand - its tucked out of the way but within easy walking distance of most tourist attractions although we cheated once and got a cab to the 911 site.

Unfortunately there is a new hotel being built next door. Work goes on during the week from about 4 in the morning to about 11 at night. We were given an upgrade to a room facing the Empire State Building - obviously we were delighted but unfortunately we were on the corner above the building work so sleep time was limited. They don't work at weekends though so a bit of a bonus.

The room was fabulous. Previous reviews have stated them as small - they are ample and in New York you find you are out and about all the time anyway. The bed and pillows are just so comfortable. The bathroom is small but very modern and contains everything you need. Free wifi too so great to be able to use Skype to contact the kids back home.

Our stay included a free continental breakfast although we were told by the guy on reception that you can actually have anything as long as you pay anything over $18 each. We found this covered most things we wanted, apart from the cooked breakfast that was pitifully small for the money and we wouldn't recommend.

We ate in the hotel twice during our stay and it was the nicest food we had. The organic chicken is mouth-wateringly good.

All in all we had a brilliant stay ... When we return to New York it will be to The Strand BUT it won't be until Spring 2013 when the building work is expected to finish.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grimmer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about the many things you enjoyed at The Strand. We were pleased that you mention our unique location, being nestled on a block just off of 5th Avenue, as well as our complimentary WiFi and comfy bedding. Outside noise can be a fact of life in big cities like New York, and we make every effort to shield our guests from these sounds. We hope you will select us again when in New York and can promise that you will continue to enjoy our great views and attentive service.

Sincerely,

John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. They used to provide breakfast. But not this trip. Staff is great. Location is very good. Room was small, but this is NYC. But what MBA suggest they stop providing breakfast? It is about the customer, after all.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gcruik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John L, General Manager at the Strand Hotel NYC at Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. In response to our guests request' for greater variety, we've enhanced our breakfast service to offer a broader a la carte menu includng traditional hot offerings. Although a la carte, and no longer complimentary, We have found many guests are enjoying the new level of service, quality of items and comfortable ambiance of our bistro.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon and hope you will try Chef Kelvin's weekly additions to the morning menu.
Sincerely,
John N. Loizos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#143 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#104 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#97 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Midtown Hotel
Renaissance New York Midtown Hot...
#70 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City

Property: Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City
Address: 33 West 37th Street, New York City, NY 10018 (Formerly The Strand Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Garment District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in style when retreating our boutique New York resort located in the heart of New York City's Fashion District on 37th Street between Fifth and Sixth Avenues. The Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City offers well-appointed guestrooms coupled with arrays of unique amenities, including an all-weather rooftop lounge overlooking the iconic Empire State Building and the city beyond. Through our centrally situated location between Penn Station and Grand Central Station, top destinations including Times Square, Broadway theater district, and elegant designer boutiques on Fifth Avenue are in close proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing