We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Malaysia Grill

Malaysia Grill
Ranked #3,487 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good, Cheap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just off Broadway, you probably wouldn't think too much of this place but it is surprisingly good. I have eaten sesame chicken at a wide range of places and it's always been fairly hit or miss as to whether it was edible; at Malaysia Grill, it's also hit or miss, but it hits more often than it misses and far more often than anyplace else nearby. The curry coconut soup is delicious and extremely addictive, which is a pity since you'll regret it if you eat too much. It's not the absolute best food in Manhattan, but it's incredibly cheap; I can afford to eat here every week.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scatterburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    10
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“This place brings the heat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have eaten here several times. The dishes have a really nice mix of sweet and spicy, and the spicy is hot! The Tom Yum soup comes fully packed with flavor lead by hot pepper. the ginger chicken was also excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jlessuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Looks Can Be Deceiving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I used to think that Bentara in New Haven was the only place I could get good Malaysian (and Thai) soups, but now that I have found Malaysia Grill, I'll be missing New Haven lots less. The food is delicious, the service is outstanding. The people who work there are, to a person, kind, genuinely concerned with the customers' well being. It is clean, delightful. Don't let the simplicity of the site deceive you -- this the place to find a truly high end dining experience. And, by the way, their delivery service can't be beat -- you'll have your food in no time, and it wil be delivered with a smile. I've been living in the Morningside Heights/Manhattan Valley neighborhood for seven years, and I have found nothing to compare to this place for price/quality ratio. It's a place you don't want to miss.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Favorite dish: kari sayur kampur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I walked past this place a hundred times before stopping in. Though unassuming in appearance, this is a gem in Manhattan Valley! The food is delicious and there are some great vegetarian options. Not to be missed: the kari sayur kampur, a curry soup with tofu, vegetables and glass noodles. The prices are great- most entrees are $9-12 and bonus: no extra charge for brown rice. This place is great for take-out or for a small party in the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yum yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I was staying in the nearby Youth Hostel and ate here a few times.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and happy to offer you variations on the menu. I found the food delicious, in particular their Chicken Pad Thai.

Great prices too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strabanejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malaysia Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Malaysia Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing