We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophie's Cuban Cuisine

Sophie's Cuban Cuisine
Ranked #2,927 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: TriBeCa
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I always go to Chambers Street in lower Manhattan. I ordered the baked salmon, with rice and beans and maduros for $12.95 total. Add a little gravy and green sauce and it's so good. I take out because it's usually crowded during the lunch hour. The salmon was moist and not overcooked. The cuban sandwiches, baked chicken and pork chops are my favorites also. It's one of the better eat in/take out places to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kuch0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Sophie's is a great place for lunch. Food is always very fresh and authentic. Roast pork and Roast turkey are my favorites as well their green sauce which I use on my salad as well. I usually order for delivery so I can continue working, but eating in is pretty quick as well. It does get a bit smokey sometimes when eating in so I would consider the atmosphere so-so for eating in. In terms of value, it is very hard to find a better value for the quality of food you get.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LouisL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsford, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect Cuban sandwich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Advertised as the best Cuban sandwich in NYC and it likely is. Really good authentic Cuban.... tight fit for seating, loud and close... but great food, prompt good service and clean. Will most definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank steveInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The steak sandwich rocks, it is truly the best.
The fried pork sandwich with fried plaintain is also excellent.
Josie

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josephine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Exceptional Real Food For a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Sophie's Cuban Cuisine is my go to place for lunch. The food is amazingly fresh and delicious and the quantity of food is quite abundant for the price. My favorite is the roast turkey platter (you can get it with white or yellow rice, beans, salad, etc.). I especially like the green sauce to spice up both my turkey and salad. If you are more of a sandwich type, I would recommend the cuban sandwich. Having tried many of the other dishes, it's really hard to go wrong with any of them. Note: It does get hectic at lunch time and actually sitting in the restaurant may require a wait. It also can get quite noisy. I usually order for delivery.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouisL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Cuban Cuisine also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Sophie's Cuban Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing