We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy little hotel”
Review of The Jane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jane
Ranked #299 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Happy little hotel”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for one night. It was my first night in NYC I read a reviews about this hotel I wasn't sure at first. But went I got there 2 hours before the checkout time the guy at the reception was persons super cool and friendly he gave me a room in the second floor which I didn't like I asked if I can get another one he immediately gave another one in the 5th floor with little views to the river. I knew it was gonna v small and I didn't care. The room was v cute with tv, radio iPod player( v convenient as I forgot my iPhone charger) and a big fan also c convenient as outside that week was extremely hot 35'c. Sharing the showers wasnt really a problem I quiet like walking through the corridors in just a towel lol most of guest are young tho so not a problem if ur towel slips off. The porters and all the staff were super friendly and cool. Very Good location u can walk to chealse and
All Those fancy bars and clubs. Also what I really liked was the free bikes I took one and I went all the way by the river side around manhattan it was amazing. I loved that bike really really cute. I definately come back there next time I Defo recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    532
    214
    95
    94
See reviews for
97
255
555
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is a late review. I spent one night at The Jane on a trip for work. I didn't choose the hotel, and had low expectations, despite the cute website. I stayed in a single room. As expected, the room was narrow..sitting sideways on the bed, my feet could touch the opposite wall. However, the decor made it feel cozy, not claustrophobic. The layout and the design was very smart, with lots of room for storage. it was actually more comfortable than many larger rooms I've stayed in. The location is fantastic. It's a pretty neighborhood that made me feel like I was in a movie about New York. I was with a group of folks, and it was fun having several rooms on the same floor.

The service was mixed. The check-in process was painfully slow and I felt embarrassed about the costumes/ historical uniforms they made the staff wear. When I asked for non-feather pillows though, someone brought them right up and was very sweet about it. Check out was fine. I attempted to eat breakfast in the cute (and empty) restaurant but the waitress was randomly surly and slow. I tried to order at the counter but the staff wouldn't let me. I ended up getting my food only a few minutes before I had to leave for my meeting. So, I probably wouldn't eat at the Jane again, but I would definitely stay there as a single person. The value is much less for the couple rooms though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Staff is friendly...hotel is large, the bar is the coolest thing about this hotel. Its dark, red velvet, wooden ceilings and walls which are darkly stained, tiny sconces on the wooden pillars... It's an old world style and the ballroom is quite large and dark...dark..dark.. I was surprised to see how many people were streaming in at 1am on a Tuesday. This place gets hopping. I'd stay here again but it's very basic but is situated in a good area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank frankies382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Jane Hotel is a wonderful find for a short stay in NYC. The cost is very inexpensive - less than 100 per night - and while the bathroom and shower priviledges are shared - EACH of these are private rooms to be locked while in use. The hotel's history as the location where the survivors of the Titanic were taken when they reached NYC is evident in the building itself - the rooms (small replicas of SHIP lodgings) and the entire staff dress the part - desk clerks, doormen, maids, - all in period costume from the early 1900's. I have stayed at this location several times - each time I notice the NEW improvements that the hotel is making to make each stay better. Large flatscreen TVs in each room - free wifi - and the most friendly ENTIRE staff of any location I have found at any hotel in all my travels!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Jane was an amazing experience, yes the rooms are small, but they are charming and the place has a great vibe! The staff are great and very helpful and friendly - They are an asset the the place.
The price is great for this part of the city, close to everything.
The restaurant has great Bloody Mary's.
I will definitely be staying here again on my next trip to NYC!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank troydboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Jane Hotel is supreme in its service for the overnight solution for city goers. I can say I would not want to spend a week in the small state-room like hotel room, but for a last minute, incredibly affordable deal, it did just the trick. The old Maritime Hotel location still keeps its charm while everything felt clean and fresh. The down the hall toilets and showers were no problem and added a sense of Europe to my local stay. Cafe gitane which is in the hotel quenched my appetite perfectly without having to venture far.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the east side of the building, away from the west side highway. There are also roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frmragnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a small hotel in meat packing district, New York City. I stayed there 2 nights. It was great place to crash. No private bathroom. The room was so tiny and can fit a small single bed with TV and wifi. No window or anything else. The bathrooms are shared but nobody were there. It is nice and clean, great location. The hotel built just like the old old school in England...Dark and historical. My rent was about $100 per night so kinda good price for one person.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy592104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#227 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#393 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#436 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#437 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jane

Property: The Jane
Address: 113 Jane Street, New York City, NY 10014-1700
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#225 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jane 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jane Hotel New York City
Jane New York City
Jane Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing