We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realy home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The International Cozy Inn
Ranked #24 of 79 New York City B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2009

Lovely guest house, comfortable and close to the subway station, as well as bars, restaurants (I recommend the Lenox Lounge, the pearl of Jazz in Harlem, and Sylvia's typical Ristorane sou of Food). Definitely adorable staff, especially Tiffany.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrCreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 129 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

Hi all you travellers out there!

My name is Eunice and I stayed for 3,5 month at the International Cozy inn and had an amazing experiance. I found the rooms to be really nice and trendy and al though I was worried at first about living in Harlem I can now say I felt safe during al my three months there!

The landlord and her daughter are more then friendly and help you out with your problems no mather what the time of the day is. The neighberhood is safe and the price for the rooms is really good considering it is in Manhattan, it only takes about 15 minuts to time square!

I would deffenitly recomend this place, infact I am planning to return here!

I

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eunicesweden3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I had just arrived from a long flight from London and easily found this gem of a place that I had found on the internet. Immediately you feel as though you are in someone's home. A wonderful Victorian building full of character. All the rooms are decorated with passion and a little humour! Very welcoming - your hosts couldn't be more pleasant but real and accommodating. This was a perfect first stop for a potentially stress-filled trip for me, with little money and plenty of business to deal with! I felt relaxed, welcomed, and at home. The large double bed was very comfortable with fresh cotton sheets. The neighbourhood is very easy to find your way around. The subway is only about 2 minutes away. Banks dealing with international cards are very close by, as well as useful local bodegas. If you've had more than enough of Holiday Inn style boxes with no personality whatsoever (in the rooms or behind the front desk!) - then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerrierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2009

we were looking for a place to stay in nyc and the Cozy inn seemed a perfect place to stay. So we sent them a mail for some information, not once, not twice, not three times but 4 times with an interval of over a month
But no reaction what so ever. It seems a strange way to deal with potential customers and I always say if you don't get any service before your stay don't expect service at your stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank mightygreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Great location. For my emergency stay The Cozy Inn truly served my purpose well. This place was easy to locate and the owner was very helpful. They accepted me in the Inn at 11:00 at night on a short notice. The room was very very nice. I had a great night rest. Quiet and peaceful. I applaud the International Cozy Inn. Thank you guys.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank savageelectrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2009

This place is authentic. It's a really adorable vintage looking building. I had an opportunity to stay in one of the rooms which I considered to be very clean , quiet and extremely cozy just as their website www.theinternationalcozyinn.com assures you. Their not serving breakfast yet but this place is still great. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay here, and I will stay there again for sure. -By the way upon approaching the inn look for cozy sign located above the nail salon and by the door bell.

Debbie Tyner

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Teresa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Although this place has no website of its own, I found uniformly attractive online reviews of this place; I realize now, that they were very likely not authentic.

This place does not exist.

When my my boyfriend and I arrived at ICI's address; there was no indication of a hotel. The address given turned out to be a nail salon. The two brownstones at either side appeared untenanted, but we rang every doorbell, anyway; no response. I had phoned earlier (prior to our scheduled arrival time) to let Ms. Mitchell know we were running late, due to delays at the airport, but no one picked up; I left a message. I phoned again, and again there was no reply; I left another message. We then flagged down a passing police car, and asked the officers whether they knew of any such hotel; they didn't, but helped us search for it (and rang all the doorbells, again). No luck. They then drove us to a nearby hostel, and left us their names and badge numbers (I have reported this place to the local precinct). The hostel was able to accommodate us that night, and as ICI appeared to not exist, we made new arrangements for the remaining nights.

The following morning I phoned ICI again, and Ms. Mitchell did pick up. She explained that she'd not got our phone messages because she had a new phone (the number I was phoning, however, was not a new one), but under the circumstances, would refund our deposit. We were to go to ICI and collect it. When we arrived, she was away; we were told that she could not yet reimburse us, as the PayPal payment had not yet cleared (it had actually been confirmed 22 July), but to phone back the next day.
When I phoned the next day, Ms. Mitchell said we had inconvenienced her, but she'd give us back half the deposit, on Friday (the 19th). I explained that if we were not fully reimbursed at once (we'd held to our end of the bargain), we would seek resolution of this matter through Paypal, the BBB (already contacted), and any other relevant agencies. She hung up.

Since then I have notified PayPal, bedandbreakfast.com, my bank, the BBB, and several other agencies regarding this hotel.

Please save you money, and go someplace that has been recommended to you by someone you know; apart from everything else, having to find last-minute hotel accommodations in NYC is EXPENSIVE.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank travelmongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Candy Hill Harlem
Candy Hill Harlem
#32 of 79 in New York City
463 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 79 in New York City
616 reviews
Harlem
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
#26 of 79 in New York City
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#28 of 79 in New York City
587 reviews
The Park Ave North
#18 of 79 in New York City
67 reviews
Manhattan
Michael
Michael
#25 of 79 in New York City
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The International Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The International Cozy Inn

Address: 248 Malcolm X Blvd, Malcolm X Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $169 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The International Cozy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, comfortable and very affordable! All rooms at The International Cozy Inn (ICI) were well thought out and planned for total comfort. From comfortable bedding, soft fluffy towels and silk flowers, every room was designed in a contemporary style. You will receive a modern style setting with old fashion hospitality. You will want to stay here. We are known for return guest as well as special request for our rooms. Most of our guests are International visitors from all over the world. Some guests have remained as permanent tenants through the years. This landmark building currently houses students from abroad and this is how The International Cozy Inn was conceived through its diverse culture. We are located two blocks from all major transportation making it accessible to reach Central park, Lincoln Center, and Times Square (only 12 minutes away) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The International Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The International Cozy Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing