We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but such small room!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location but such small room!!!!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice welcom, perfect location, no b fast, but the room is so so so small, even difficult into couple
Forget with too much luggages or more than two persons
Airco is very noisy and not well placed and shower ventilation was.out of order too...
Clean, friendly staff, perfect location, chealsea is the best, nice resto and bars around.

Room Tip: A big one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexfrombrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Good Day Alexfrombrussels, we thank you dearly for sharing your experience with us and for choosing to be our guest. We are so excited that you enjoyed our superb location and amazing attractions that are nearby. I regret to hear that your guest room accommodations were not to your full satisfaction and would like recommend reserving our larger business class rooms that provide more space and overall comfort. Your comments are very important to us because it is our upmost commitment to make your stay as special and flawless as we can. I hope, if it is fine with you to e-mail me your name and dates of stay to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com so our maintenance team can thoroughly inspect your guest room and repair any deficiencies. We are thrilled that the superior cleanliness that is prepared by devoted staff was to your liking. Your kind compliments about our hospitality inspire us to serve our dear guests, like you, at the highest level and constantly expand our services and amenities. We all would be honored to welcome you once again and present to you our improvements made due to your valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    494
    180
    69
    47
See reviews for
122
445
160
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a great time here. Clean, friendly! Loved the roof top! Would definately recommend to our friends when visiting NEW YORK CITY! The area was close to everything. Staff held our bags before we could check in so we did not have to carry everything with us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Greeting Brooke B, thank you so much for sharing your stellar review with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay and our charming location. It is our passion and commitment to provide the most relaxing and comforting accommodations so your stay is truly memorable and special in every way. I am pleased that you found us close to your areas of interest and hope that you had the time to explore the Chelsea culture. As many of our dear guests love our rooftop terrace, we are so thrilled that you too thought it was amazing! Our staff is our most important asset and I am very grateful that you felt the warmth of our unique hospitality. We all hope to welcome you back again and create another exceptional stay.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here last month for 5 nights. My first night, I arrived late, and went out to get a sandwich. When I came back my room key did not work, they gave me a spare, did not work. Manager tried to open door, could not. So after an hour of trying they gave me another room as there is no on site maintenance. It was a big inconvenience as all my stuff was in my room. It did get sorted the next day and the staff were very apologetic, but the situation was not great. I was refunded the cost of that night. Then after I check out, I get a $10 charge on my credit card. As there is no room service or mini bar I was surprised. I called and was told it was a $2 charge a day for the room safe! I am used to hotels trying to fleece me for internet, but this is a new low. I complained and have been refunded.

My overall impression is the people that work in the hotel are really nice and do all they can to help, but the owners of the hotel are trying to cut some serious costs (no onsite maintenance) and wring every cent out of their customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarveySylver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear HarveySylver23, thank you for sharing your valuable review and for giving us the opportunity to serve you. I am so glad that you chose to stay with us and feel sadden to read the inconveniences that you encountered. We would be grateful if you would accept our dearest apologizes for making you wait until the next day of your stay to have your room door opened. I am pleased that our staff was able to accommodate you in another room, while we were diligently working to have your room door reopened. Please, allow me to assure you that we do have onsite maintenance from early morning hours to early evening every day of the week. I understand how frustrating it had to be and your valuable feedback inspires us to avoid such future discontents and create the most memorable stay. I would like explain that we only charge for the in room safe because it is mandatory by the manufacture of the safety deposit vault. We never meant to upset you with the safe fee posted on your credit card statement and again would like to express our appreciation to your important comments. It is very rewarding that you felt the warmth of our staff attentiveness and dedication to excellent service. I remain at your disposal for anything you might need and hope you can give us the honor to have you as our dear guest again and make every effort to exceed your expectations and provide the wonderful experience that you deserve.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great location with easy access transportation and restaurants nearby. There is also a City Bike station right across the street and bike lanes along 8th Avenue. The room is very small with limited space for luggage but well decorated, and clean which made for a comfortable short stay. The air conditioner kept up with the extreme heat outside and that was a bliss. There is a safe in the room and a daily charge of $2.00 on the bill. Staff was very attentive and pleasant. Great value, I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LP1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Greetings LP1235, thank you sharing your review with us and for giving us the privilege to serve you. We are so thrilled that our delightful location and exquisite restaurants were to your enjoyment. The CitiBikes are really becoming a success and I hope you too had time to explore the neighborhood in one. I am glad that you were able to relax and stay comfortable in your guest room from the hot weather. It is our passion to create the most indulging experience because we love to make you feel special and unique. We are so grateful to receive your kind compliments about our staff and greatly treasure that you felt the warmth of our hospitality. We look forward for your return and opportunity to provide you with many more wonderful memories.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I booked this hotel on Hotwire. It had a 95% approval rating. I would give it a 25% approval rating. The staff was friendly, but the room is not good. It is so small, that I can't open my suitcase. The bed is old and bouncy. Feels like its been slept on for many years. The sheets are old as well. I'm sure they are clean, but they just don't feel fresh. Bathroom is on the new side, but it has no place to put anything. I had trouble finding the toilet paper because the only place to put it was under the sink.

Room Tip: My tip is to book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Jgca, first and foremost I would like to dearly thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experience. We are so grateful that you chose to stay with us after viewing our positive reviews on Hotwire. I truly regret to know we were not able to exceed your expectations due to the size of your guest room and would greatly appreciate if you would e-mail me your dates of stay and room number to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com so immediate measures can be taken with our housekeeping managers to avoid future discontents due to your detailed feedback. I sincerely understand how uncomfortable you have felt, instead of spending time enjoying your stay. If you allow me, I would like to recommend reserving our large business class rooms that provide more space and comfort. Your kind words about our staff will forever be cherished and we would be grateful to host you again and provide the most perfect stay that you deserve and except. I remain at your complete disposal and will personally make sure your next visit with us is truly amazing.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Rooms are small but clean and well appointed. Limited services but the staff is very friendly and helpful. Hotel is on a quiet side street close to a lot of good attractions and in an upscale neighborhood. Excellent value for a well located hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCTX76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Greetings Bencarey, thank you very much for your positive review which is always a pleasure to read and share with our team. We are so glad that you enjoyed your guest room and our exceptional amenities. It is our commitment to provide superior cleanliness so your stay is tranquil and at comfort. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff and that you felt the warmth of our hospitality. We are thrilled that our location was to your satisfaction and that you liked our nearby attractions. We all look forward to welcome you again and have the privilege to provide another memorable and unique experience.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askim, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here for three days. Yes the rooms are small, but they are clean and have the things you need, and for the price it is great. And as long as you don't have four large bags the rooms are large enough, you're in NYC, you shouldn't stay in your room. Very helpfull staff and nice neighbourhood. Also the hotel with the beste wifi on our trip!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Greetings Tine P, thank you choosing to stay with us and for sharing your lovely review. We are thrilled that you appreciated our first class amenities and the superior cleanliness that is provided by our delightful staff. It is so welcoming to hear such nice words about our hospitality and charming neighborhood. We are devoted to make your stay special and unique with cherished moments and wonderful memories. I am glad that you were able to use our high speed wireless internet to your enjoyment that made your trip great! We hope to welcome you back and have the opportunity to be of service to you once again.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
647 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#285 of 467 in New York City
635 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#58 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Property: The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing