We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A GEM of a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“A GEM of a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is my new favorite hotel. My room was small but certainly not claustrophobic. It was white, bright, clean, and modern. The bathroom fixtures were really cool and the room was surprisingly very quiet. Staff was helpful and pleasant; their dining recommendations were terrific. Internet access was free (yes!) as was printing out some paperwork in the business center. It was the perfect location for a business trip to Chelsea, but I'll stay here again on my next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Good Day Lori F, allow us thank you dearly for writing your wonderful review. It is a unique pleasure to see that your stay was relaxing and comfortable. To exceed the satisfaction of our guests is our commitment and it is a great honor for us to be your favorite new hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and restaurant recommendations. I am truly privileged to know your kind compliments about our team and it motivates us to deliver exceptional service at a higher level. We can’t wait to welcome you back to your home away from home!

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    479
    175
    65
    44
See reviews for
115
430
149
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Easy walk from Penn Station. Next to an upscale cafe/grocer for a quick bowl of soup and fruit to go. The room was spotless, the bathroom contemporary. I especially liked the pillows. Not huge fat foam but fluffy feather. Yes, small room but very sophisticated. The staff was helpful and friendly. Yes, they did charge for a safe that I never used but given the price was under 200 I can't complain. I would stay there again without hesitation. Easy walk to Highline too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warmchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Greetings Warmchai, thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. It is nice to know that you liked Foragers City Grocer and I will certainly share your comments with them. Our services and accommodations are designed for our guest’s complete satisfaction and we are so excited that you have enjoyed your guest room. It would be my pleasure to issue you credit for the safe warrantee and if it is fine with you to e-mail me your dates of stay and room number to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com. I truly appreciate your kind words about our friendly staff and we would be honored to welcome you back to The GEM Hotel at Chelsea.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fantastic. The rooms are clean, fresh, and beautiful, but not big. But it's NYC, the hotel room is perfect for what you need it for... to sleep! The room was quiet, the staff was fantastic. The houseman even called instead of knocking due to a do not disturb sign being on the door. I missed having room service but everything else was great and I have already booked another night for February. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Greetings Brandon C, we are very grateful that you have taken the time to write such a wonderful review and are delighted that you have enjoyed your room. Your kind words about our staff are greatly valued and we are excited that we were able exceed your expectations. We motivate our team to always take sincere care of dear guests, like you, and are honored that you have felt the warmth of personalized service. To know that you have made another reservation to stay with us is enriching and we are committed to making another memorable experience.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My favorite place to stay in NYC. While rooms are very small, they are well appointed, modern, attractive and clean. Staff is welcoming and helpful. I love the neighborhood and it is easy to get to anywhere. Great market/espresso bar right next door.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrownHeightsBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Greetings CrownHeightsBorn, it is a great motivation for us to receive such a wonderful review about your experience. We are very fortunate to have many of our dear guests return and making it their second home which I hope it is exactly the way we make you feel every time you stay with us. Chelsea is our favorite neighborhood too and I agree with you that it is easy to get to anywhere in New York City. We are privileged that our rooms and attentiveness of our service contributed to making The GEM Hotel at Chelsea your favorite place to stay. It will be an upmost honor to welcome you back and have the pleasure of serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over the new year.
The hotel is very clean.
Well located with metro at couples meters, on the street 23rd.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Our room was comfortable, medium size.
Bathroom clean and modern.
Perfect for a short stay...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cthsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Greetings cthsxm, we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and thank you for sharing it with us. It is our pleasure making your stay relaxing and memorable at the same time. We are committed to providing our dear guests, like you, service that is exceptional and unique. I am pleased to know that you have liked our staff and that you have felt the warmth of our hospitality. It will be an honor to have you as our guest again and we everyone at The GEM Hotel Chelsea wishes you and your family a Happy New Year.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We knew going in the rooms were going to be on the small side, but they were cozy and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable, and the shower is nice. I found it to be a good experience, and the staff is friendly. Just watch out for the safe charge of $2, which is not needed

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mikeloveshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Good Day Mikeloveshotels, thank you sharing your review with us. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay. It is always an honor to read kind words about our hospitality and our friendly staff. We hope that we did not upset you with the safe warrantee charge, but it is mandatory by the manufacture of the safety deposit vaults. I can remove the charge off your folio if it is fine with you to e-mail your full name and dates of stay to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to The GEM Hotel at Chelsea.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during the week of Christmas.

Room was very clean and bed was comfortable.

The rooms and furnishings were very nice.

I was disappointed with the "economy motel" safe charge added to the bill and the lecture I received from the front desk agent regarding the importance of the room safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear swd5, Happy New Year and thank you for sharing your review. We are honored that you chose to stay with us during Christmas week and are glad that you enjoyed your room. Please, allow me to say that on behalf of our team we never meant to disappoint you. We only charge the safe warrantee because it is mandatory by the manufacture of the safety deposit vaults and I can remove the charge off your folio if it is fine with you to e-mail me your full name and dates of stay to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com. We hope that you will be our dear guest again because we are committed making your experience perfect every time.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Property: The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing