We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We knew going in the rooms were going to be on the small side, but they were cozy and comfortable. The beds are very comfortable, and the shower is nice. I found it to be a good experience, and the staff is friendly. Just watch out for the safe charge of $2, which is not needed

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mikeloveshotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Good Day Mikeloveshotels, thank you sharing your review with us. We are glad that you had a relaxing stay. It is always an honor to read kind words about our hospitality and our friendly staff. We hope that we did not upset you with the safe warrantee charge, but it is mandatory by the manufacture of the safety deposit vaults. I can remove the charge off your folio if it is fine with you to e-mail your full name and dates of stay to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to The GEM Hotel at Chelsea.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    474
    172
    64
    44
See reviews for
115
427
149
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during the week of Christmas.

Room was very clean and bed was comfortable.

The rooms and furnishings were very nice.

I was disappointed with the "economy motel" safe charge added to the bill and the lecture I received from the front desk agent regarding the importance of the room safe.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swd5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear swd5, Happy New Year and thank you for sharing your review. We are honored that you chose to stay with us during Christmas week and are glad that you enjoyed your room. Please, allow me to say that on behalf of our team we never meant to disappoint you. We only charge the safe warrantee because it is mandatory by the manufacture of the safety deposit vaults and I can remove the charge off your folio if it is fine with you to e-mail me your full name and dates of stay to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com. We hope that you will be our dear guest again because we are committed making your experience perfect every time.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Christmas Week 2012. I stumbled on this hotel because of problems with the hotel I had booked. Booked the rest of my stay at an excellent rate. Got to the hotel at 12pm and figured I'd stow the bags and have to wait until later for the room. Nicest desk agent checked me in and gave me a great room on the highest floor away from the elevator. I was given the keys told it was ready. Took less than 5 mins. Beautiful lobby, queen room, GORGEOUS bathroom. I have nothing but good things to say about The Gem. It truly lives up to its name.

Room Tip: Stay at this hotel, it's a GEM. Go with the Queen or larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Good Day Bil W, thank you writing such a wonderful review about your stay with us. We are sad to hear that you had issues with the hotel you booked with and are thrilled that you have found us. We are committed to delivering the finest quality of service and are motivated by your kind words about our hospitality. It is delightful for us to know that you have found our hotel and your room to your satisfaction. We look forward to your future stays with us and wish you and your family a Happy New Year.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Cute, clean hotel in good location. We were very happy to pay $150 for our one night stay in NYC. We Will certainly consider staying at the gem when we return to NYC. Comedy club within walking distance to hotel. .. This was an added bonus!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDTraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Greetings MDTraveler07, thank you sharing your review us. We are excited to hear that liked our hotel and have found our location to your liking. We are honored that you will consider staying with us again when you visit NYC. Many of dear guests enjoy Gotham Comedy Club and we are glad you did too. We wish you and your family a Happy New Year and hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at the GEM for a week in December 2012. The hotel itself has a great location and the staff was excellent. Much better service then I've had at more expensive places in NYC.

The rooms were small and for me on business the biggest problem was the noise. Being right on 8th Ave means that early in the morning traffic starts and doesn't stop until late at night. The windows in the hotel haven't been changed since the 80s it seems so they let a lot of sound through. Also, the heater in the room made so much noise that I had to turn it off at night, otherwise every time it started it would wake me. Thankfully for December it was quite warm.

The size of the room didn't bother me like it seems to have bothered others. You can't expect much more in Manhattan.

Would have given the hotel a 4star had it not been for the noise which a window replacement and quieter heater could help.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Good Day Asehr and thank you for sharing your review about your experience. We are glad that you have chosen to stay with us and that you have enjoyed our location. We are sad to hear that you were disturbed by the outside noise and understand that comfort is very important for our dear guests, like you. If it is fine with you to send me an e-mail with your full name to chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com, I would like to have our chief engineer inspect the heating unit in the room because it is our commitment to have our guests enjoy their stays with us and to have everything in perfect working conditions. We are motivated by your kind words about our staff service and are excited that you have felt the warmth of our hospitality. We would be honored to have you stay with us again and wish you and your family a happy New Year.


Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Yet again, my experience at The GEM Hotel Chelsea was flawless. It all starts when you arrive in the Chelsea area with the cool surroundings. I then was greeted like royalty as I was shown to the Penthouse. I chose to stay in the city after our x-mas party and the entire staff we as generous to my guest as they were to me. Hands down...I will not stay at another hotel in NYC as long as The GEM Hotel Cheslea is around...and I expect that to be FOREVER!!

Thanks GEM!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC-CEO100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Greetings NYC-CEO, Welcome back and thank you writing such a wonderful review of your stay with us. Everyone at The GEM Hotel at Chelsea is thrilled to know that you had another memorable experience. We are so honored by your kind compliments about our staff and that you have felt the warmth of our hospitality once again. We are so privileged that you have chosen us as your hotel of choice and that your guest enjoyed the visit. It is our promise and commitment to always provide the excellent service you except from us and always stay open! We hope to see you soon and wish you and your family to have a happy New Year!

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a hidden gem llocated on the 8th Ave subway line away from the crowds of Times Square. The rooms are small but well planned. Because the hotel is small, it feels more personal, and the staff is friendly. Good restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Greetings Mary P, thank you sharing your short and sweet review with us. We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and are glad that you have found our location to your enjoyment. Your kind words about our staff means everything to us and we are excited that you have felt the dedication of our personalized service. Our area does have many charming restaurants and we are glad that you have found some to your liking. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for another memorable experience.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#270 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Property: The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing