We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location, small, stylish room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #309 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location of this boutique hotel, steps from 23rd street station, right on the corner of 22nd st and 8th ave, is perfect. Granted, the room is barely larger than the bed, but the ergonomics, design and details of the room are excellent. The windows tend to let a lot of noise in from the street (we thought we had left them open!) and the TV signal/picture is fuzzy. All the staff are very friendly and helpful but the most cheezy part is the "mandatory" $2 charge per night everyone pays "insurance of the safe". That's definitely pretty petty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hello Roman T, thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad to hear that you have found our location to your satisfaction. As many of the rooms in New York City are similar in size, we are happy that you have enjoyed the design of our rooms. You have mentioned that your TV signal/picture was fuzzy and if it is fine with you to contact me directly at the hotel and provide me with your last name, I would be able to have our engineering personnel to check the TV connection cables. Our staff is motivated by your kind compliments about our hospitality. You expressed your concern about our safe fee; please know we charge the safe fee for the insurance of valuables our dear guests may put in the safe. It is not something that we benefit from, but only for your protection as it states by the manufacture. We would be honored if you choose to stay with us again in our stylish rooms.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there during Hurricane Sandy. The staff was outstanding. Even without power it wasn't too bad. They tried their best to make us comfortable. We were there two days before the storm and enjoyed our stay even though the rooms were very, very small.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylandSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Greetings Daryl83811 and thank you for sharing your review about your stay. We know it was a difficult week during Hurricane Sandy and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us. We are motivated by your kind words about our staff and honored that we were able to make your stay comfortable. We hope that will stay with us again for your next visit to New York in the bright weather.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I live in Jersey City, NJ. Due to the power outages caused by Sandy, we had no power in our house since October 29th evening. We moved into the Gem Hotel on Sunday night, November 4th so that we could go to work.

The hotel is kept clean, well maintained and friendly service. Location was convenient for our commute. Lots of food and shopping places nearby in about 10 block radius. The hotel keeps their prices based on their room availability. More rooms, lower rate, Less rooms, higher rate – you get the drift. Check rates online and in person, could be a little different. The hotel was fair with us, as far as rates our concerned, not jacking up the rates due to the recent Sandy outages. They are understanding as well, when we cancelled an additional day we had booked since we got back power, they did it without a sweat.

Rooms are small, no desk or chair. But if you are a tourist, I would recommend you this place 100%. They also provide free complimentary Wi-Fi. You can’t stream movies or music, but you can do basic surfing and e-mailing checking. You will have a pleasant stay with descent price tag.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HemantKShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Good Day HemantKShah and we thank you deeply for taking the time to write your review about your experience with us. We feel sadly to know that you had no power in your house since the end of October due to Hurricane Sandy and greatly appreciate that you have chosen to stay with us. It is honor to hear that you were pleased with our hotel and our friendly service. I agree with you that we there are many wonderful restaurants and shopping choices nearby us and we are happy that you found some of them to your liking. It is our commitment to make sure all of our dear guests, like you, have an enjoyable and a memorable stay. We are motivated to know that you recommend our hotel to others and we look forward to have you to stay with us again. Our team wishes you and your family to have your power back as soon as possible and if may be of any assistance, please let us know and we will gladly be of service.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The price is what brought me here. The hotel was clean and the bed very comfortable. Room was smaller than other places I've stayed in Manhattan but OK. My only complaint was the noise from the hallway. When the people in the next room went in and out the door slamming was very loud and made me jump. The Knishery is right next door and amazing. Whole foods is a block away and this one features a beer store.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hello Michael C, thank you for sharing your review with us and for giving us the opportunity to be of service. It is a pleasure to know that the cleanliness of our hotel and the comfort of your bed were to your satisfaction. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed from the noise levels of other guest and it is very important to us that our dear guests, like you, have a restful stay. We are thrilled to know that you liked our location and hope that you will give us another try so we can make your visit more enjoyable.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great Hotel in the heart of Chelsea, with lovely staff.
We stayed at The Gem for 5 nights. I have stayed at 6 different Hotels in NYC, and I must say that The Gem Chelsea was the best of them all.
The rooms were small, but very cute and clean.The location is great, and the hotel has a nice rooftop with a good view.
And once again the staff, they were so kind and helpfull. It was not that kind of fake service.
I loved talking to them. And especially the wounderful girl Elisabeth. She was one of the nicest persons I have ever met. She worked a lot, but was always happy and helpfull. I really enjoyed talking to her. When i visit NYC next time, im going to stay here, and i will recommend this hotel to everyone. I will actually miss it.
Thank you for everything-
Cecilia and the chef :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Greetings Cecilia D, WOW and thank you for writing such an amazing review about your stay. It is our pleasure to know that we at The GEM Hotel Chelsea exceeded your expectations. Making your stay relaxing and memorable at the same time is our dedication. I am delighted to know that our staff went above and beyond during your stay, especially Elizabeth who is touched and motivated by your kind words. To be considered the best hotel out of six different hotels in our great city, is an honor and we are proud that you have felt the warmth of our hospitality. We are inspired that you will recommend us to others and we are committed to making their stay as just wonderful as yours. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our great hotel to create another experience to remember.

P.S.-we already miss you too!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The GEM Hotel Chelsea price gouged during Hurricane Sandy. Stayed there for the weekend, but flight was canceled due to the incoming storm. Decided to ride out the storm there rather than trying to find a new place in all the mayhem. They charged quite a bit over the amount posted online and the current price being paid; even when the online price was brought to their attention and asked for that price, they refused to honor the online price for the room. This hotel lost electricity and hot water during this time and was still price gouging. It is absolutely disgusting to take advantage of travelers stuck in a natural disaster. I can truly say the Gem Hotel Chelsea is anything but a gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank hljdlfj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Kiki N, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We sincerely apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us and we will take your review to improve on the experience for our future guests and hopefully for you, if you can give us another chance to wow your stay. We understand how a natural disaster of this kind can create frustration for many of our dear guests. We are so honored that you have chosen to stay with us for another night and I hope you can contact me directly at the hotel, so I can view your reservation details to see what has happened. I assure you that we would never price gouge in any section of such kind. We are a respected hotel and we dearly and genuinely value our guests, just like you. I hope you will give us another opportunity to be of service and as we hope to make your stay with us a memorable experience.

Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager
chelsea.fom@thegemhotel.com

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was in NY for a business trip and stayed for a short time in this hotel. The first impression was great, very friendly staff and a warm welcome. The room was very clean, a bit small but still comfortable. What I liked the most was the location, in the area were great restaurants. The free wifi was also a plus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Good Day Dieter S, thank you for sharing your review with us. We are so honored that you chose to stay at our hotel and that we were able to make a memorable first impression. We take pride and understand the importance to constantly provide outstanding service which sets us apart. We are glad to know that you have found our rooms clean and comfortable to your satisfactions. Chelsea is a great location of New York City and we are excited that you have felt the same of our area. We hope to have you stay with us again in the near future at The GEM Hotel.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#297 of 471 in New York City
227 reviews
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 471 in New York City
2,028 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#139 of 471 in New York City
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#274 of 471 in New York City
691 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#150 of 471 in New York City
1,976 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#74 of 471 in New York City
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $123 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing