We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for a quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #307 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 27, 2012

the staff is wonderful and will go the extra mile. the rooms are extremely small - even by manhattan standards - but for clean and modern room in a great neigborhood close to all - this is your place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sikestacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Greetings Stacy b, thank you for the nice review. We are so motivated that you have enjoyed your stay and felt our commitment to provide outstanding service. It is our passion to constantly go above and beyond for our dear guests, like you, and we are glad that you have found our modern rooms to your liking. We hope that you can stay in our great neighborhood on your next visit to New York.

Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

933 - 939 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I often stay in NY for business and this hotel really is a Gem. Very friendly, clean and I have to say , it's the staff that makes it. Also Next door to a yummy whole foods market, coffee, a Gap store for when you forget your jeans, and walking distance to lots of other great Chelsea rest

Stayed: October 2012
Thank 69JM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Good Day 69JM2, thank you sharing your short and sweet review with us. We are so honored that we were able to exceed your expectations and greatly appreciate the opportunity to do so. We are glad that you have found our location to your liking and I agree with you there are a lot of things to do and see in Chelsea. We hope that you will visit with us soon again so we can make another memorable experience.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at the GEM Hotel in Chelsea this past weekend and loved the hotel and location.

The staff was amazing and friendly, location was wonderful in the heart of the beautiful Chelsea neighborhood.

The only negative was that the room was very small and the mattress was very soft or older.We didnt come into NYC to spend much time in the room so it wasn't much of an issue.

The overall hotel is beautiful with a very nice roof deck. I would gladly return as we enjoyed the GEM and location very much !

Room Tip: Great hotel, staff and location in NYC Chelsea neighborhood !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Greetings Dan L, it is our pleasure to know that the past weekend at The GEM Hotel left wonderful memories and your overall experience was close to perfect throughout your stay. We are also glad that you have taken the time to share your review us. As so many of our dear guests are thrilled by our location, we are all excited that you have felt the same way. The amazing rooftop is a must see at our hotel and we are happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the spectacular views. Our staff members are so motivated by your kind comments about their hospitality and we forward for many more of your visits with us.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had to pay top dollar because of the season so I was horrified to walk into a closet size room with only a small pathway around the queen size bed. But after a few days I got used to it and actually loved the entire experience at the Gem hotel. Free bottled 'designer' water every day and extra by request which is a must in NY with all the walking. Free in room wifi. The bathroom was super modern with all new fixtures, great shower and nice towels. The rooftop deck was nice allowing you to get out of the tiny room and enjoy some fresh air with many tables to sit and eat take out food from any of the great nearby restaurants, ( Murray's Bagels across the street) Easy walking distance to the High Line, Chelsea Piers, Chelsea Market, Bleeker Street, SoHo shopping, West Village, Union Square and Penn Station. Corner subway allows quick access to the Theater district or Brooklyn or anywhere you wish to go. Taxis are unlimited on 8th Ave right out the door. No problem to grab one in a pinch. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I grew very fond of this Gem of a hotel oasis from the noise of the city!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nightsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Good Day Nightsky3, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and we are all delighted to know that you had a memorable time staying with us. We are excited that you have enjoyed our hotel services, luxury bathroom amenities, and our amazing rooftop terrace for some fresh air. Chelsea is a wonderful location and we are glad that you had an opportunity to explore the area. The bagels at Murray’s are too delicious and one of our favorite nearby restaurants. We are honored by your kind compliments about the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We can’t wait to see you again in our GEM of a hotel oasis!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked the GEM two days out after our previous accommodation cancelled on us (WARNING - Appartment bookings through Flip Key not recommended)

This hotel was in a great location with multiple subway stops in proximity, lots of food options and a Wholefoods market only a few blocks away.

After reading other reviews we were nervous about the size of the room, but we found it to be fine. It's New York so you really only sleep in the room anyway! We had room for our 3 suitcase and an influx of shopping!!

The free wi-fi was a great bonus allowing us to Skype with family at home easily.

Our room was a little noisy at times but we were so exhausted each night we didn't notice!!

Rooms were clean, staff were exceptionally helpful and overall we enjoyed our stay!

Ideal hotel if this is in your desired price!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becstars82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Greetings Becstars82, I would like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share this review and the comments you’ve provided in it. At The GEM Hotel Chelsea we strive to distinguish our services by giving importance to details of our guests’ needs and are excited that we were able to make a memorable experience for you. We are glad to know you have enjoyed our wonderful location and the complimentary wifi. Your wind words about our staff are greatly valued and we are looking forward to having you stay with us again.


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I chose this Hotel for my first visit to NYC. We were walking distance from Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Times Sq, Empire State Building and other major attractions. It is also very easy from JFK to the hotel with subway, as it drops you a couple of blocks from the hotel without changing line.
The hotel is nice, clean, very well furnished and the staff is friendly, we had a pre-paid fare room, be sure to bring your credit card statement as we had to show that the full amount was already charged.
The room is very small, but well furnished and very clean. As I understood small rooms are a standard in Manhattan. The terrace on the top roof is so nice and it's very good for a short relax after a walking-day spent on NY streets! There is also a gym we didn't use. No breakfast possible in the hotel, but you have plenty of places in the area.
I would recommend it for the location and in general.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hello dandanx, thank you for sharing your review about your stay. We are honored that you selected to stay with us as your hotel of choice for your first visit to New York. Indeed, Chelsea is close to many attractions and being a block away from the subway is a great benefit. We are excited and motivated that you have found our hotel clean, comfortable and the service of our staff members to your expectations. The rooftop terrace is nice with spectacular views of the city and to relax. We would like for you to stay with us again and always look forward to your visit.


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Location is near perfect especially if you prefer the west side. Easy to get up or downtown - lots of areas within a 1/2 hr walk. Very near ACE trains. Also tons of fun affordable restaurants on 8/9th aves. Very kind and pleasant staff. The room we had was small but the price was low for the overall quality of the hotel so no complaints. The rooftop was open and quite nice with a view of the ESB. I think you'll be happy with this place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Greetings cozziad, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us and are honored that you enjoyed our boutique hotel and location. Our area does offer many exquisite restaurants and great places to visit, like the Highland Park. The views of the Empire State Building from the rooftop are marvelous and we are happy that you had an opportunity to enjoy it. We are so excited to know that we have provided exceptional service and are motivated that you have felt the warmth our hospitality. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chelsea.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
Innside by Melia New York NoMad
#103 of 473 in New York City
2,071 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#188 of 473 in New York City
3,569 reviews
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#292 of 473 in New York City
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#67 of 473 in New York City
2,193 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#266 of 473 in New York City
695 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#316 of 473 in New York City
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The GEM Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The GEM Hotel Chelsea

Address: 300 W 22nd St, 22nd Street & 8th Avenue, New York City, NY 10011-2602 (Formerly GEM Hotel - Chelsea, an Ascend Collection hotel )
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #307 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $124 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The GEM Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. The GEM Hotel Chelsea is ideally located in "your corner of the world." We provide an intimate, boutique atmosphere and offer our guests elegantly designed rooms with luxurious amenities. This New York City boutique hotel is conveniently located in the neighborhood of Chelsea. This trendy Manhattan neighborhood is filled with chic art galleries, night club hotspots, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to Penn Station and world-famous Midtown Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, the campus of New York University (NYU) and the Empire State Building. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. Surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, the Flatiron District, Union Square, Midtown and the Meat Packing District.The GEM Hotel Chelsea offers a wide array of amenities and services that add value. All guest rooms are smoke-free and boast LCD televisions with HD channels,iPod docking stations, cordless telephones, paraben-free bath amenities, bath robes, down pillows, plush towels and Wolfgang Puck coffee. Standard room amenities include coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The GEM Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing