We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,335)
Filter reviews
1,335 results
Traveler rating
466
533
203
79
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
533
203
79
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small murray's bagels great location rooftop deck new york the high line the penthouse the empire state building queen bed hotel room front desk staff penn station street noise fitness center around the corner few blocks coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
978 - 983 of 1,335 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I had to pay top dollar because of the season so I was horrified to walk into a closet size room with only a small pathway around the queen size bed. But after a few days I got used to it and actually loved the entire experience at the Gem hotel. Free bottled 'designer' water every day and extra by request which is a must in NY with all the walking. Free in room wifi. The bathroom was super modern with all new fixtures, great shower and nice towels. The rooftop deck was nice allowing you to get out of the tiny room and enjoy some fresh air with many tables to sit and eat take out food from any of the great nearby restaurants, ( Murray's Bagels across the street) Easy walking distance to the High Line, Chelsea Piers, Chelsea Market, Bleeker Street, SoHo shopping, West Village, Union Square and Penn Station. Corner subway allows quick access to the Theater district or Brooklyn or anywhere you wish to go. Taxis are unlimited on 8th Ave right out the door. No problem to grab one in a pinch. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I grew very fond of this Gem of a hotel oasis from the noise of the city!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nightsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Good Day Nightsky3, thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and we are all delighted to know that you had a memorable time staying with us. We are excited that you have enjoyed our hotel services, luxury bathroom amenities, and our amazing rooftop terrace for some fresh air. Chelsea is a wonderful location and we are glad that you had an opportunity to explore the area. The bagels at Murray’s are too delicious and one of our favorite nearby restaurants. We are honored by your kind compliments about the friendliness of our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We can’t wait to see you again in our GEM of a hotel oasis!


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked the GEM two days out after our previous accommodation cancelled on us (WARNING - Appartment bookings through Flip Key not recommended)

This hotel was in a great location with multiple subway stops in proximity, lots of food options and a Wholefoods market only a few blocks away.

After reading other reviews we were nervous about the size of the room, but we found it to be fine. It's New York so you really only sleep in the room anyway! We had room for our 3 suitcase and an influx of shopping!!

The free wi-fi was a great bonus allowing us to Skype with family at home easily.

Our room was a little noisy at times but we were so exhausted each night we didn't notice!!

Rooms were clean, staff were exceptionally helpful and overall we enjoyed our stay!

Ideal hotel if this is in your desired price!

Date of stay: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becstars82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Greetings Becstars82, I would like to express our gratitude for the time you have taken to share this review and the comments you’ve provided in it. At The GEM Hotel Chelsea we strive to distinguish our services by giving importance to details of our guests’ needs and are excited that we were able to make a memorable experience for you. We are glad to know you have enjoyed our wonderful location and the complimentary wifi. Your wind words about our staff are greatly valued and we are looking forward to having you stay with us again.


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I chose this Hotel for my first visit to NYC. We were walking distance from Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Times Sq, Empire State Building and other major attractions. It is also very easy from JFK to the hotel with subway, as it drops you a couple of blocks from the hotel without changing line.
The hotel is nice, clean, very well furnished and the staff is friendly, we had a pre-paid fare room, be sure to bring your credit card statement as we had to show that the full amount was already charged.
The room is very small, but well furnished and very clean. As I understood small rooms are a standard in Manhattan. The terrace on the top roof is so nice and it's very good for a short relax after a walking-day spent on NY streets! There is also a gym we didn't use. No breakfast possible in the hotel, but you have plenty of places in the area.
I would recommend it for the location and in general.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Hello dandanx, thank you for sharing your review about your stay. We are honored that you selected to stay with us as your hotel of choice for your first visit to New York. Indeed, Chelsea is close to many attractions and being a block away from the subway is a great benefit. We are excited and motivated that you have found our hotel clean, comfortable and the service of our staff members to your expectations. The rooftop terrace is nice with spectacular views of the city and to relax. We would like for you to stay with us again and always look forward to your visit.


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Location is near perfect especially if you prefer the west side. Easy to get up or downtown - lots of areas within a 1/2 hr walk. Very near ACE trains. Also tons of fun affordable restaurants on 8/9th aves. Very kind and pleasant staff. The room we had was small but the price was low for the overall quality of the hotel so no complaints. The rooftop was open and quite nice with a view of the ESB. I think you'll be happy with this place.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cozziad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Greetings cozziad, we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with us and are honored that you enjoyed our boutique hotel and location. Our area does offer many exquisite restaurants and great places to visit, like the Highland Park. The views of the Empire State Building from the rooftop are marvelous and we are happy that you had an opportunity to enjoy it. We are so excited to know that we have provided exceptional service and are motivated that you have felt the warmth our hospitality. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Chelsea.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Easy check-in/check-out with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are small, which is apparently the norm for NYC, but nicely decorated and clean. I would definitely stay here again.
Easy walking distance to the subway, High Line, Chelsea Market, Times Square and many other attractions...and we felt completely safe walking this area after dark.

Room tip: Ask for an inside room if street noise/traffic will bother you.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursephred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Good Day Kepfree, thank you so much for taking the time to share your review and we are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is an honor to hear that we have fulfilled your expectations and our team is motivated by your kind compliments about their hospitality. Chelsea is our favorite area too and it really is a nice and safe location. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another great visit.

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews