We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,336)
Filter reviews
1,336 results
Traveler rating
467
533
203
79
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
533
203
79
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooms are small murray's bagels great location rooftop deck new york the high line the penthouse the empire state building room size queen bed hotel room front desk staff penn station fitness center around the corner few blocks coffee maker
Filter
Updating list...
984 - 989 of 1,336 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here last year and enjoyed the location and cleanliness at the GEM in chelsea. The rooms were tiny, but we didn't mind too much. We weren't there to wander around our room, we were there to explore NYC!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank btolman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Greeting btolman44 , thank you for your nice and short review. We are so excited that you have enjoyed our hotel and location. The cleaniness of our hotel is very important to us because we want all of our guests, just like yourself to have a wonderful stay. We look forward to have you visit us again soon!


Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location was great and there is free wifi everywhere, but the rooms are tiny and have limited facilities. There's no room service.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, but I'm not sure if I would stay there again on a business trip. I found it quite noisy and that made it hard to get good night's sleep.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CitizenDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear CitizenDave, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We sincerely apologize that the size of our rooms was not your satisfaction. We understand how important it is for all of our guests to enjoy their stay and we will take your review and use it to improve on the experience for our future guests and hopefully for you, if you can give us another opportunity to exceed your stay. I would like to recommend reserving our Penthouse Suite which is our most spacious room with a terrace. Your kind words about our location and staff are greatly respected and we would more than honored if you choose to stay with us during your next visit to New York.


Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked this hotel for a week of fun in NYC. Location and staff are great- however the rooms are so small. We could hardly fit our luggage in our room. If two people are in the room make sure you let the front desk know you will need water for 2. (coffee and water are complementary). Our front desk agents were graceful and helpful in everything. There is a great coffee shop with great food during the day. This hotel is closed to everything and in the heart of Chelsea. Great restaurants and bars near by. The subway is a block away.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akureview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Good Day Akureview, thank you for sharing your review with us and it is nice to hear that you had a fun week during your stay. We sincerely apologize that the size of your room did not exceed your expectations. It is delightful to know that you feel Chelsea is a wonderful location that has many restaurants and bars nearby the hotel. We always try to provide all of our guests, just like yourself, geat amenities to make your stay more comfortable. Our team is so motivated to know your kind compliments about their hospitality and we would be more than honored if you choose to stay with us again when you visit New York City.


Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was visiting my brother in New York and stayed 8 nights at the GEM Hotel in Chelsea. I think everyone agrees that the rooms are small but as I was on my own this was no barrier to having a simply wonderful stay. The very friendly and helpful reception staff set the tone and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and serviced daily. Having said the room was small the bathroom was quite a decent size and the shower was excellent. My room overlooked 8th Avenue and even had a view of the top half of the Empire State building. The roof terrace was very pleasant with tables, chairs and sun umbrellas for the use of guests (as well as the view of the Empire State building).

The Chelsea area where the hotel is situated is wonderful - fairly quiet, leafy streets with lots of town house type residences rather than enormous skyscrapers. There were some fabulous restaurants on 9th Ave and you could eat a different style of food every evening. Underneath the hotel, on the corner of 8th Ave and 22nd St, there is a lovely organic restaurant and deli/shop/wine shop called Foragers which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Within easy walking distance were the Empire State building, Macy's department store, the Chelsea High Line (wonderful to stroll along but very busy on weekends), the Flat Iron district and the iconic Flat Iron building, Chelsea Piers, the Meatpacking District, Greenwich Village and, at a push, the 42nd St pier for Circle Line cruises. Most of the other famous sights in New York can be accessed via the 23rd St subway station one block from the hotel. In fact you can take this subway line to and from JFK airport.

One of the things I loved most about staying in Chelsea was the peace of the area after the hustle and bustle of downtown and midtown Manhattan and the area felt very safe. I plan to visit New York again in the near future and will definitely stay at the GEM hotel in Chelsea.

Room tip: The rooms are small and ideally suit solo travellers or couples without children (unless the children are old enough for their own room).
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steph6058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Greetings Steph6058, we are so excited to know that you had a wonderful experience and thank you for such a thorough review of our hotel. We hope you had a great time visiting your brother during your stay with us. I agree you with about our location, the quietness, buy yet upbeat with many tasty restaurants and places to see. Our magnificent rooftop does offer amazing views of Chelsea and the Empire State Building. It is our ongoing effort to provide all of guests, just like you, with great amenities and first class service. Your kind words about our hospitality are highly appreciated and they inspire us to do so even more. We look forward to your next stay with us and are motivated to making another memorable stay.


Best Regards,

Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. Yes, the rooms are small, but they are efficiently laid out. Two adults fit fine.
The staff are all friendly. Check in and check out were quick and efficient.
The room itself was clean and tasteful. Great shower - hot water, lots of pressure. The location was excellent. Nice, safe area. A few nearby places to grab a bite. The subway is a few steps away. Would definitely stay again.

1  Thank Buck K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GEMChelseaFOM, Manager at The GEM Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Good Day Buck K, thank you so much for sharing your review with us. Our team members always strive to deliver the finest quality of service and we are honored that you have given us an opportunity to do so. As so many of our guests enjoy our location, we are so happy that you too found our location to your liking. Your kind words about our team members are greatly respected and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Regards,


Roman Mavashev
Front Office Manager

The GEM Hotel Chelsea
300 W22nd Street
New York, NY 10011

212.675.1911 p
212.675.1912 f

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews