We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“POLICE HAD TO BREAK UP PARTY, BED BROKEN AND HAD TO SLEEP ON FLOOR- AND YOU PREPAY, SO BE WARNED” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Central Park House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Central Park House
Save
You added Central Park House to your Saves list
Ranked #445 of 479 Hotels in New York City
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“POLICE HAD TO BREAK UP PARTY, BED BROKEN AND HAD TO SLEEP ON FLOOR- AND YOU PREPAY, SO BE WARNED”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I have never reviewed anyone online but I think that people should know about this place. We were a family travelling with young children so thought that the apartment style was a great option. The fold out bed was BROKEN and although we called them (the service number NEVER answered until the reservation desk connected us so that line is being screened by the apartment manager- we left 5 answerphone messages over 4 days and NEVER got a reply from them), The bed was never fixed so the children slept on a mattress on the floor. They didn't provide enough towels, pillows and linen when we arrived (although our reservation clearly stated the number of people) and after ringing they turned up minus the pillows. The person dropping them off just said someone could bring them tomorrow, so the kids shared a pillow on the first night.
The final straw was on the second night when the poilce came and broke up a party on the 4th floor- of at least 75 people, who had been filing past our door on a noisy and narrow stairwell (no elevators). They had also been outside our window on the street and their conversations were lewd and offensive.
I can accept that that it was a bit of bad luck for us and these things happen except that any contact I have made to them has now gone unanswered AND you prepay, so when we were ready to leave after night number 2 we would have lost our money. At that time the only advice the reservation desk could give us was to contact them after our stay- which we have done, but as I have said they have our money so why bother communicating with us.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank njbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    0
    7
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Having stayed in apartment 4F for a week we now conclude that the guy saying this was an unsafe place should go back to his retirement home in the country.

We are a family of four with two small children who spent the time in New York walking around, sight seeing, museum watching etc. New York is a special place on earth, especially for us coming from a mid size Swedish town but we had a wonderful time here.

We didn't regret staying on upper west side near the park and we certainly didn't regret staying in Central Park House. Beside of the lack of an elevator the place is perfect - and the lack of an elevator just gave us a chance to get more exercise than the jogging in the park and the walking around ;-) so we have very little bad things to say about the place.

No it is not a hotel, there is no front desk, there are no guys holding the door for you, you don't have your own armed ex-cops patrolling the hall ways, the maid doesn't come around every day and make your bed - but if you just put your towels out they return in the afternoon clean.

We stayed more than five days, and therefore had one complimentary cleaning that was arranged over the phone - using the phone in the apartment and the free phone number posted in capital letters on the inside of the door - and here we had the one miss. They misplaced our 'order' but on the return call we were promised that it would be done the next day, which it was - hotel standard cleaning.

The apartment is spacious and the kitchenette is adequate for a holiday apartment. The furniture and layout is fine for four persons in a family. The air condition can be turned off and the windows open. What more can you demand from a low-mid price (compared to other hotel/apartments in New York) apartment?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MalmoFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We had a great time, It is in a great location is very clean and modern, and we felt very safe. The person below must have not been paying attention about the part where this is more like an apartment building than a hotel. There is no front desk or staff, but who cares!? You feel like you ar living in NYC rather than staying in a hotel. It was great and you can't beat the value!! HIGHLY Reccomended to anyone who can deal with being independant when traveling. You just go to the corner store, stock up the fridge and chill out or go out! Simply awesome.

  • Liked — The independance, price and overall niceness of the accomadations.
  • Disliked — We had 4th floor Apt. -No elevator...
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSherms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkg4agdplc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

Too bad as this place has a lot of potential but has clearly word has spread that this is the place to throw wild parties. This place has no staff, building management or security (yes, no security) on site. Proved to be a big problem as one of the nights we were there two rowdy and extremely loud parties were roaring till the wee hours of the morning. At one point a large and rather scary brawl spilled over into the hallway. Good luck finding someone at the management company to call (we had to read the fine print on our intinerary...doesn't matter as we ended up calling the police. If you have kids, looking for a good night sleep, want to feel safe in your room I would not recommend staying here.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — safety and security
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lkg4agdplc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#254 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,871 reviews
Upper West Side
Park 79 Hotel
Park 79 Hotel
#345 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#436 of 479 in New York City
2.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#335 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#16 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#315 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park House

Property: Central Park House
Address: 25 W 83rd St, New York City, NY 10024-5277
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of New York's exclusive Upper West Side, ideally located adjacent to Central Park West, this unique Manhattan luxury Apart hotel is across from Central Park and close to The Shops at Columbus Circle, Fifth Avenue and Lincoln Centre. The Apart Hotel offers a unique and spacious living area, offering personalized service and amenities required by today's discriminating traveler. Executive Suites, One Bedroom Apartments at Central Park House feature custom-designed Italian furniture, custom-designed Italian kitchens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central Park House Hotel New York City
Central Park Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing