We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit clumsy. Suits your needs, but leaves something to be desired.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Wall Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Eurostars Wall Street
Ranked #376 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Chico, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bit clumsy. Suits your needs, but leaves something to be desired.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

While Eurostars Wall Street is by no means a "bad" hotel, it is difficult to grasp just how it managed to earn its 3½ star distinction on TripAdvisor. Hotels of superior quality in the Financial District have similar ratings, while having earned those ratings with their wide variety of appealing and functional amenities. Unfortunately, our high hopes for Eurostars Wall Street - which we based primarily on the photographs made readily available online - went largely unmet.

Last week, a friend and I decided to travel from California to the Big Apple to take in a concert. Having never been to New York, I was pretty oblivious when it came to choosing the right hotel accommodations in my price range. After doing exhaustive research on my own - which yielded mixed results - I gave up and let Hotwire do the picking for me, which matched me up with EuroStars Wall Street. Despite reading some reviews that made me more than apprehensive, I tried to stay upbeat concerning its potential and promise.

Upon arrival, the jovial front desk staff greeted us warmly and supplied us with our room keys, which expedited the overall check-in process. While in the lobby, it becomes immediately clear that photographs online obscure certain details of the facilities, most notably the size of the hotel itself. While this does not reflect on the integrity of the place, we were certainly taken back by it. Perhaps our own inclination to believe everything in New York is big, with its larger-than-life buildings and sky-high monuments, played a role in our ignorant befuddlement..? Your guess is as good as mine.

Maybe it was their off-season, or it's possible we came and went at odd times, but the hotel itself seemed to be a virtual ghost town. During our three night stay, we only ever saw three to four guests congregated in the lobby, or waiting to check in/out. While in our room, we only ever heard one other guest coming and going on our floor. The bar and restaurant - touted by some TripAdvisor reviewers as being of exemplary quality - was positively deserted. Again, who knows why this was the case but, whatever it was, we found it strange.

Once in the elevators, the presence of a biting cigarette odor quickly became apparent, and the source became even clearer once we stepped out of the elevator and into the narrow hallways. It would seem that smoking and non-smoking rooms share floors, and that residual smell from the smoking rooms bleeds out into the halls. I'm not really picky, nor would I bother to complain to the front desk about something so seemingly inconsequential, but it's worth noting in this review for the sake of travelers boasting sensitive noses, pesky allergies, or a militant disdain towards the stench of cigarette smoke.

In hindsight, I've had a difficult time figuring out just what about our room fell short. Despite some sort of chemical or ever-present water stains to the bathroom counter top, my room was quite clean. However, I have to throw my weight behind some of the previous reviews that make note of the low quality carpeting. It was a peculiar choice for a hotel that postures itself as somewhat high-end, no doubt in an effort to keep in step with competition in a predominantly upscale business district.

Stylistically, the rooms come together nicely. A minimalist theme takes shape, with emphasis placed on solid black-and-whites in furniture, curtains, and bathroom fixtures. A comfortable futon-style bed, as well as a very modern bathroom sink immediately catch the eye. However, upon closer inspection, wear-and-tear and shoddy workmanship from previous remodels becomes visible; including, but not limited to, inexplicable dead spots under the carpeting. Holes in the floor seem to have been carpeted over and left entirely unfilled. I would imagine this sort of thing could pose a bit of an injury concern for older guest which, in turn, should raise liability concerns for the hotel owners.

Issues like the aforementioned are unfortunate, since the overarching theme of the hotel - at least in theory - is spectacular. It simply has a ways to go before it can be placed in the same stratum as its high priced pseudo-contemporaries.

Located within short walking distance of the subway, as well as right down the street from Seaport for myriad shopping and dining options, Eurostars Wall Street is tucked away in arguably one of the cleanest and safest parts of New York City. If you're bringing children along, this is a wonderful neighborhood (in New York City terms) that you don't have to be wrought with worry over. McDonald's, Subway, Starbucks and Duane Reade (a CVS or Walgreens-type drug store, for my fellow ignorant west coast folk) are only a few minutes walking distance away. Cab rides from JFK to Eurostars Wall Street are a flat rate of $45 (tip not included) if you request non-toll roads.

If you're looking for a no-frills, bare bones sort of hotel at a quality price, in what is traditionally considered an exorbitantly priced area, this hotel should certainly appeal to you. It has seen better days, and has its share of dinginess and stains on carpets and walls, but you will get a quiet nights sleep (save for the all-too-familiar New York City street noise). If you require the finer things in life, or expect access to things like a gym or pool, you should consider looking elsewhere.

Again, this hotel is not bad by any means. It's very ambitious but, if anything, it's simply a tad underwhelming for the price tag.

Room Tip: If they're available, ask for a room on a floor without any smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank southpawgrammar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    81
    56
    27
    21
See reviews for
38
68
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a decent NYC hotel. The lobby is quaint and the rooms were modern and clean. The lounge furniture (leather chairs) were a bit worn. The carpet would not be my choice. The hotel is in a good location downtown within walking distance of the Seaport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaNJNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If its your first time in New York, i will recommend you to stay in another part of Manhattan. The location is a bit boring since its in the financial district. A hotel closer to Times square or around 34th street would be more fun because everything is in walking distance. The hotel was fine though, clean, good service and the rooms were okay! Not 4 star okay though!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This place advertises as a 4 star property. NEVER in a million years would this be 4 star quality. I have had better experiences at a Holiday Inn. First off, my company paid 2300 bucks for 8 nights. Right when you walk in the lobby, you can tell its cheap. They offer you a glass of wine and talk it all up but you can just look at the floor, walls, etc and tell its all cheap crap. Then the elevator buttons have smear marks all over the buttons... elevator is all dingy and wobbly and dirty.. food on the floor.. dirt, etc. Once you get to your room, you are immediately NOT impressed with the rooms amenities. Small tv, HARD beads, hand/window air units, the ironing board.. god I will never get over it. Totally stained, ripped and the iron itself was like a 10 dollar walmart iron. The mirrors and "fancy decor" all IKEA. Bathrooms? Horrible caulking, cheap flooring, damaged and dingy doors, chips out of the paint everywhere, etc. Bathrooms in the "lounge" ... no hand soap.. REALLY, no soap. I called down to ask if they had a better room because the bed was hard the guy was RUDE and said "uh no, and its all like that in every room". No real service, no real amenities, and a dirty dingy hotel. D O N O T waste 2-3 hundred a night on this dump. Lets just say their website is a photo shop dreamland...it all looks good but in person, YOU DONT LOOK LIKE YOUR PICS!

Room Tip: Ya, don't choose one here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HotStud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Glenwood, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

I thought it was a great hotel! The rooms were huge and very comfortable. The staff at the front desk was wonderful. They were willing to help with anything. One even ran out to try to help us flag a cab. The maids were very friendly and helpful. I thought it was a great hotel in a nice area with very reasonable prices. I will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southernspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The rooms were nice, the location great.We stayed for the Bike Tour NY. I can't say enough about the help at the front desk.All desk clerks went out of their way to help no matter what the question. They even offered help at various times before we asked. Marc was especially good, always going the extra mile. The rooms were nice and clean. We were upgraded to a suite by the front desk since we arrived before check in time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SucatP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#336 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#122 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#202 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#211 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Y...
#348 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,908 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#59 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Wall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Wall Street

Property: Eurostars Wall Street
Address: 129 Front St, New York City, NY 10005-1636
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Wall Street 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, luxury hotel offering highly specialized products and services in a particularly stylish manner. The Exchange Hotel defines 'boutique' in the strictest sense of the word, the result of which is truly one-of-a-kind. The spacious rooms are newly renovated and enhanced with unique, modern design and innovative technology. Boutique features matched with the Exchange Hotel's personalized service and competitive rates will enhance any New York City experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Otel, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Wall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Wall Street Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing