We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try to get there during the children's book exhibit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Public Library

New York Public Library
Book In Advance
More Info
$100.00*
and up
Manhattan Architecture Photography Tour
Ranked #23 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Two marble lions mark the entrance to this Beaux Arts masterpiece, a National Historic Landmark containing more than six million books.
Alabama
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try to get there during the children's book exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have been to New York several times and finally included the library on my list of places to go. What a treat! It is a gorgeous building and the Children's Book exhibit is really special and educational. They even have the original Pooh toys!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank florala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,102
    2,926
    606
    53
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“2 hours minimum not a whirlwind visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Don't be fooled into thinking this free attraction is not worth your time! After walking past the beautiful lion guards for 3 days en route to other attractions, my husband and i decided to take a quick peek on our last afternoon in NYC. We were disappointed we did not leave enough time to see even the bare minimum. The entrance hall was magnificent. The Rose Reading room was breathtaking. The architecture is as good as anything you'll see in Europe. We will definitely be back to explore the exhibitions and children's centre.
TIPS - 1. Make sure you allocate a minimum of 2 hours, although you may want to stay all afternoon! 2. Toilets are located on the second floor, W side.
Don't forget to pop next door to Bryant Park for a good European coffee / food / ice treat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 4_Aussies_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just as in "the day after tomorrow!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

worth a visit to the library - if you've seen "the day after tomorrow". Its free to enter and you can just walk around (as it appears everyone does). I'm not sure I'd want to actually use it as a library precisely for that reason. The declaration of independence was there when we went, but the queues were long so we decided not to see it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clarker63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney,aus
Level Contributor
142 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“just beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We were going through Bryant Park when we noticed the Library on the other side and people waiting to get in so we went as well and what a surprise . The most beautiful building with wood panels and painted high ceilings.As we walked through the different reading rooms we loved everything we saw.
I thoroughly recommend visiting when in NY.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cleoSydney_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a beautiful building! Definitely take some time to visit if you can. The children's book exhibition was really interesting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York Public Library also viewed

 

Been to New York Public Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing