We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting cultural museum in Spanish Harlem”

El Museo del Barrio
Book In Advance
More Info
$109.00*
and up
The Sightseeing Day Pass New York City
More Info
$66.00*
and up
New York City Sightseeing Tour by Coach
Ranked #416 of 1,118 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Art museum displaying works of different artists from Puerto Rico, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Central and South America.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting cultural museum in Spanish Harlem”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

El Museo del Barrio is a small but colorful museum located on 5th Avenue near the north end of Central Park. When we visited there was a great exhibition (The S Files), the Museo's sixth biennial featuring work by emerging Latino artists working in the greater New York area. Unfortunately, the cafe closed before the museum (or at least it did on the day we visited) so we weren't able to eat there. The Museum of the City of New York is only a block away and the two make a good day out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    24
    11
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Latin culture forever!!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Calling ALL parents!! please introduce your kids to this gem of culture & history and then keep on coming... as they update their art every couple of months. Kids and adults benefit from the regular events hosted by El Museo del Barrio.

Helpful?
2 Thank Celster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An undiscovered museum inthe heart of NYC”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Had been to NYC before and had seen many of the great sites and museums, but I ventured out and went to El Museo del Barrio on 5th Ave. The museum specializes in Caribbean, Latino, & Latin American art. I had been there many years ago, but the museum has grown in space and sophistication, I enjoyed it and will be back again.,

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank Felizmujer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Off The Beaten Track Treasure”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Make a point of booking the Saturday walking tour of Spanish Harlem. It leaves at 11:30 from Museo del Barrio. You must pre-book. We were treated to an enthusiastic and passionate tour by Luke Nephew of the Peace Poets. We got to meet the people of the neighbourhood and visit the places they hang out at. Best of all, Luke encouraged interaction with all the participants of the tour so it was quite interactive. It is a neighbourhood in transition with a very proud heritage.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Canadatom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Not Representative of El Barrio”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Admittedly, I am not a scholar of El Barrio; nonetheless, I know that the area has, for the past eighty years been a place of cultural blending because its cheap housing attracted the poorest of immigrants, and later African Americans and Puerto Ricans. It should be mentioned that the heroin trade in the early 1990s played a huge role in El Barrio's economy (underground or otherwise), and with that said, El Museo del Barrio pays little attention to the area's pain. Instead, its two main rooms of galleries are filled with mixed media, including photography, paintings, and film.
By no means am I necessarily discrediting this museum; it's fine. However, I am questioning the accuracy of the cultural representation exhibited by the museum. If you want to see Nuyorican art, this is a good place, but if you are looking to gain a better insight into the dynamics of the pain, poverty, and deprivation that comprise a better part of El Barrio's history, then this museum will, regretfully, disappoint.

Helpful?
Thank tmv2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Museo del Barrio also viewed

 

Been to El Museo del Barrio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing