We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #162 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The one thing that stand out at this hotel is location, location, location! It was a two second walk to the nearest subway station, the Empire State was around the corner, a ten minute walk down to Times Square, and dozens (and I mean, dozens) of major attractions within a max 15 minute walking radius! That was the very best part of this hotel, and if you're planning a stay in Midtown, for the price, it doesn't get better than this.
The breakfasts had quite a bit of selection, but was slightly lacking in quality. Then again, it was free, so it was a huge benefit to have something available early in the morning. As well, customer service was really helpful when it came to accommodating early check-in and late check-out, which was really nice. Only major negative was the fact that the elevator was broken during the stay, so taking the stairs was often faster than waiting for one elevator going through 20+ floors.
While the original smell of cleaning products was there when we arrived, and the room was quite small (well it is Manhattan!), the hotel is overall one of the best choices for a short stay in New York!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rushay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Nothing exciting, but solid mid-level place to stay in NYC. Expectedly small rooms, cramped and slow-moving elevators... but this is New York!

Overall good customer service, but as an indication of what to expect: they were constantly out of hot water, both at breakfast and at night. I mean 4 out of 5 times we went for tea. When I asked the front desk to refill, they assured me that "it takes time to brew"--which doesn't make sense--and I'm 90% sure (peeping into the pantry) that it was indeed done filling. Not a big deal, but don't expect things to be seemless.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvoight34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a great experience from start to finish. We arrived at 10 AM on Saturday the 7th for a 1 night stay. The staff was very accommodating and was able to get us into our room upon our arrival. The complimentary breakfast was good and convenient. The room was clean and had a great view of the Empire State Building. On Sunday, we had asked for a late check-out and once again the staff was very helpful in accommodating our needs. It's a great location near the subway and all attractions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

NYC is not cheap. That includes the rooms as well. However going above and beyond the fair price market, I believe the rooms were overpriced. The staff are friendly and are willing to work with you on any level to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Nicholas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Carl,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review here at TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure having you stayed at our hotel. The hotel rate remains to be competitive with the other hotels within midtown NYC. It's nice to hear that the staff has been amazing to make your stay more enjoyable.

We hope you could come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The staff at this location is unbelievable in regards to delivering customer service! The location was perfect for what we wanted to see but thought they were a bit "pricey" until we got to experience their staff! Well worth the value!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank jorklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Good location, nice room and helpful staff. The heating system was a little tricky at times but this could be because the TV was in front of the thermostat. Breakfast was sufficient. Overall a good experience. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed over Thanksgiving week. Great location for the parade and right next to Macy's! The room was very clean. It was also spacious by NYC standards. The staff is the best part of this hotel. Extremely friendly and attentive! We did have several issues during our stay, TV remote did not work and neither did the thermostat upon our arrival. We called the front desk and within minutes maintenance had responded and repaired both issues.

We booked months in advance and got a great rate for the holiday time period. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pacman2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#201 of 470 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#148 of 470 in New York City
2,024 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $140 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing