We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #173 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fair enough”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Nothing exciting, but solid mid-level place to stay in NYC. Expectedly small rooms, cramped and slow-moving elevators... but this is New York!

Overall good customer service, but as an indication of what to expect: they were constantly out of hot water, both at breakfast and at night. I mean 4 out of 5 times we went for tea. When I asked the front desk to refill, they assured me that "it takes time to brew"--which doesn't make sense--and I'm 90% sure (peeping into the pantry) that it was indeed done filling. Not a big deal, but don't expect things to be seemless.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvoight34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    812
    231
    60
    42
See reviews for
784
550
98
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We had a great experience from start to finish. We arrived at 10 AM on Saturday the 7th for a 1 night stay. The staff was very accommodating and was able to get us into our room upon our arrival. The complimentary breakfast was good and convenient. The room was clean and had a great view of the Empire State Building. On Sunday, we had asked for a late check-out and once again the staff was very helpful in accommodating our needs. It's a great location near the subway and all attractions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

NYC is not cheap. That includes the rooms as well. However going above and beyond the fair price market, I believe the rooms were overpriced. The staff are friendly and are willing to work with you on any level to make your stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Carl,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review here at TripAdvisor. It's a pleasure having you stayed at our hotel. The hotel rate remains to be competitive with the other hotels within midtown NYC. It's nice to hear that the staff has been amazing to make your stay more enjoyable.

We hope you could come back and stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The staff at this location is unbelievable in regards to delivering customer service! The location was perfect for what we wanted to see but thought they were a bit "pricey" until we got to experience their staff! Well worth the value!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank jorklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Good location, nice room and helpful staff. The heating system was a little tricky at times but this could be because the TV was in front of the thermostat. Breakfast was sufficient. Overall a good experience. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed over Thanksgiving week. Great location for the parade and right next to Macy's! The room was very clean. It was also spacious by NYC standards. The staff is the best part of this hotel. Extremely friendly and attentive! We did have several issues during our stay, TV remote did not work and neither did the thermostat upon our arrival. We called the front desk and within minutes maintenance had responded and repaired both issues.

We booked months in advance and got a great rate for the holiday time period. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacman2033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Staying here for one night as part of Hilton elite qualification promo, rather disappointed. Staff are relaxed to a point they do not greet you when you approach front desk. No glass or even plastic cups available within the hotel. My room has a strong detergent smell to it, not sure if its the sheets or some carpet deodorant but it makes me sneeze. The free "high speed" internet registers at 0.08 Mbs at nighttime: forget being able to rely on it. Gold status not acknowledged. Requested late checkout - normal checkout is 11am mind you- was advised to inquirer after 7am next morning. tv set has some weird setup unlike most hotels, good luck figuring out their remote or channel availability. Room itself is rather small feels cramp, but worse is the furnishings and wallpaper makes it seem really cheap and garish, something one would expect for cheap dated countryside motel.

One positive is that bed feels pretty comfortable and that a fridge was delivered upon request, but its availability is not guaranteed. Also their elevators seem rather slow but at least every floor has an indicator showing where they are.

To summarize, this location in Manhattan is convenient, but to stay here is rather a nuisance compared to other similar choices be it next door or a next street over.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilzeppelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies with regards to the inconveniences you experienced while at the hotel. The management will definitely address these issues. The hotel does it's best to maintain Hilton's high standards to provide our guest with the best stay possible.

We hope you give us another chance to really impress you on your next NYC stay. Please feel free to contact me directly if there's anything I can assist you with.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#144 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing