We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$182
$161
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$168
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$167
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$352
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,336)
Filter reviews
2,336 results
Traveler rating
1,040
913
262
69
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,040
913
262
69
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsherald squaregreat locationtimes squarenew yorkpenn stationfree breakfastempire statethe breakfast arearooms are smallbagelsaround the cornermajor attractionsfront desk staffwould definitely stay here againtwo double bedscentral locationstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,078 - 1,083 of 2,336 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

1) location is good, i recommend anywhere in Midtown although in Times Square itself would probably give that extra special feeling
2) friendly and helpful staff throughout, couldn't ask for any more in this respect
3) facilites are quite basic, there is no bar and the room is quite small
4) breakfast is included and is mostly enjoyable, but could do with a bit more variety of hot dishes (inc vegetarian options)
5) wifi is included and is an adequate speed for regular holiday use
6) i booked quite last minute and, although price is competitive for for the area, i think you may be able to do find somewhere a bit nicer if you are not too bothered about wifi or breakfast

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nipun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stay at Hampton Inn's all the time and this one we had a cable/TV problem that was fixed within an hour. We informed the front desk of this problem after an early check in so they could fix this while we were out. After a long day in NYC walking and doing many activities we really didn't enjoy having this problem on our return. The technician finally fixed the issue in about an hour. The hotel was clean and we had a comfortable stay but only with the TV/cable problem was our issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Diane,

Thank your for review. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. We normally give early check-in depending on availability. We're sorry to hear about the TV/cable issue. We informed our cable provider about the issue so that this won't happen again. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay inspite of that.

We're hoping you consider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I understand that location is a major reason for hotel prices in NY, but this is a little exaggerated. The rooms are small and basically equipped, tiny cupboard , tiny bathroom. The air condition is awfully noisy . Breakfast is very dull and served on paper plates.....
Bottom line, the hotel is not bad, it's clean and comfortable but over priced

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Amnon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. The guest really love that our hotel is centrally located and close to everything. The hotel keeps it's rates competitive with other hotels. Thank you for your review. We absolutely welcome your comments for us to improve our service.

We hope you consider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

When we checked in the receptionist couldn't have been nicer. He told us we had been assigned one of the larger rooms in the hotel. We open the door to find a tiny room with a window that looked out onto the air conditioning units. I stay in New York at least 4-5 times a year. By New York standards this room was about average, but it definitely was not "large" by any stretch of the imagination. It was a very basic room, the location was good, and we were not planning on spending any length of time there so it was fine, but I would not rush to stay there again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Jennifer,

It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. Thank you for your review. The standard rooms in NYC are really pretty small unless you're booking a suite. We hope you still enjoyed you're stay though at our hotel.

We hope you would still consider staying with us again in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly if there's anything I can assist you with.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel - 11 nights each time. The location is very convenient near Herald Square, with subway station right on the corner. The room was clean, plenty of space, comfortable bed. Free breakfast buffet including hot foods, which is convenient. However, the food is average, and there often is a lengthy wait for it to be restocked, even with basic items like silverware. Concierge was not particularly knowledgeable, but front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Near the Empire State Building, but you will not have a view unless you pay extra for it.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsbabygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews