We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Herald Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #162 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel - 11 nights each time. The location is very convenient near Herald Square, with subway station right on the corner. The room was clean, plenty of space, comfortable bed. Free breakfast buffet including hot foods, which is convenient. However, the food is average, and there often is a lengthy wait for it to be restocked, even with basic items like silverware. Concierge was not particularly knowledgeable, but front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Near the Empire State Building, but you will not have a view unless you pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbsbabygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,007 - 1,013 of 2,234 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Brilliant central location. My daughter and I had a room with two double beds which was surprisingly large for NYC. One bed had a rather lumpy duvet. Bathroom clean and adequate, although towels bit small and old, minimal amenities just soap, shampoo and moisturiser (but there was a sign stating we could ask for anything we may have forgotten). Didn't have the free breakfast as we preferred to go to a deli for a pot of fresh fruit but the free 24 hr tea/coffee/hot chocolate useful. Only complaint would be the loud air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank She-Devil2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location. Free breakfast (in NY? yay!).Good coffee. Free water, coffee and hot chocolate all day.
We travelled 2 women, with shopping as our first goal, sightseeing as our second.
This hotel is within sight of Macy's and a block from 5th Ave. Store down the street with food bar, beer, ice cream. They sell a wine product as well, but not good wine (:(
The rooms were spacious enough - beds comfy. The bathroom was very spacious, large shower with a seat, if you needed one. There was a hair dryer, closet, iron and ironing board, flat-screen tv on the wall. We didn't have a frig, but there were ice buckets and ice machines on many floors.
There was an excercise room, with machines, but didn't use it at all.
Taxi back to Laguardia $40 with tip.
Overall, we both agreed we would return in a heartbeat. Good value, clean and safe.

Room Tip: our room was at the front, on 35th, and we had no trouble with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spuds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was traveling with low budget for hotel and this was in a perfect location, near Madison Square Garden and looked like new. The rooms are small, but ok and according to the price. You can park right across the street during the weekend or just pay for parking very near the hotel.

Room Tip: It is a small hotel, so any room you get is ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMoDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location, really close to Herald Square, Macy's, Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Manhattan Mall and even close to Times Square and Bryant Park (walking a little bit more). The free breakfast is really good (waffles, fruits, muffins, coffee, chocolate, juice, the common things you expect from a decent breakfast). The staff is ok (better in some times, depending on the day and time). The room is a little small but what else to expect from NYC right? On our floor there was a vending machine, the elevator is a little small and when the hotel is full, having breakfast might be a challenge. But all in all our stay was more than pleasant, nice bathroom, quiet during the night and the heating was nice. Definitly would go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina_Eustaquio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Location was fine and rooms were very clean but small.breakfast buffet was too cramped and not a big selection on offer also if your not down as soon as it opens you won't get a seat. Staff were friendly but the dining arrangements let it down badly especially for the price. A friend recommended the comfort inn which was only across the road and much cheaper

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Jamie,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. It's nice to hear that you loved the location and the cleanliness of our rooms. Sorry to hear about the breakfast though. We welcome your comments and we'll definitely consider it to improve our breakfast.

We hope you still consider staying with us again in the future and rest assured we'll make your stay more pleasurable.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

perfect location can access to all my clients in walking distance. nice breakfast, no problem with late check in. reception desk were very friendly during my stay. the only minus was that it's a little noisy in the center of Manhattan. the bed was comfortable, and pillow very soft easy to fall asleep. Tip for travelers from other country, make reservation early, or call in to check from time to time for any special rate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#201 of 470 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#148 of 470 in New York City
2,024 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $140 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing