We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Stay - great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #168 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Stay - great location”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staff at this hotel was very accomodating - held our bags on day of our arrival and departure, and a couple of other requests were handled with efficiency. We had a great view of the Empire State bld to our left and Macy's to our right. The street was a side street and fairly quiet compared to prior stay in Times Square area. Herald Square subway station about 30 steps from hotel door - almost all lines lead there, so it was extremely convenient. Empire state and many great stores within walking distance, one subway stop to Times Square. Taxi drivers are always lined up on this street waiting for a fare, so a cab back to the airport was a breeze! Breakfast was basic, but each day included a protein like turkey sausage and eggs or omelets, plus a waffle station. Saved us a lot of money not having to pay for breakfast. The rooms are small and basic, but typical for NYC. The beds are doubles, not queens. They do not have a fridge, but ice machine is available on several floors. Bathroom is small but functional with a nice storage cubbie on the wall for toiletries, makeup, etc. Elevators were often a long wait at breakfast time. We would definitely stay here again because of the service and convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Empire State, beautiful, plus fun to watch the activity on the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hhiowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    824
    233
    61
    43
See reviews for
795
560
100
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Service was excellent, catering to any request and anticipating our needs. The hotel being that close to Times Square was expensive, but not so for NYC standards. The non-upgraded room was very small as were the hallways. The breakfast area was a frosted glass add-on, well appointed, but architecturally horrifying.

If you take away the old building, you have a typical Hampton Inn setup. Add the building and you have morbid hybrid of an excellently staffed Hampton Inn and a rent-by-the-week transient hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the Empire State Building view - there's a building in the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EventGuyChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. It's nice to hear that you find our service excellent. Thank you for your review. The management appreciates you taking time and we'll definitely consider your comments.

We hope you still consider staying with us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Good location, near everything! A subway station just a few meters from the hotel. Near Penn Station, good for arriving from Newark Airport with train. Small simple clean rooms with everything you need if you not are looking after a luxury hotel. USB charger in the room. Safety box in the room. Cleaning everyday was very good. Clean rooms. Small fitness room available. Breakfast is included (usually not included in New York hotels) but the breakfast was quite terrible. Friendly staff. We where able to leave bags after checking out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montana1891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great hotel with a family atmosphere, Staff were very helpful. Rooms small, but comfortable. Very little wardrobe space. Breakfast was fine, although the earlier in the morning that you can get there, the better, as queues tend to build up after 8am.
Perfect location, Maceys at the end of the road, underground also very near. Lovely Irish pub and restaurant on the same road, plus nail bar and hairdressers, what more could 2 girls want?
All in all, a good experience, and we would definitely stay there in the future.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms quieter and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzylou1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Lizzy,

Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us.

It's wonderful to hear that you find our staffs friendly and the rooms are comfortable. We're centrally located that all of our guests loved it because we're nearly close to everything.

We're looking forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

we had bit of a SNAFU with our rooms.



We had reserved two rooms with two double beds, but when we arrived they only had one room with two double beds and one room with one king bed. We were chaperoning students so they needed a room with two double beds. We were two colleagues (same gender) and wanted our OWN bed, although we were fine sharing the same room. Hampton Inn told us they were not able to accommodate our reservation. It was a long discussion, and we were clearly not satisfied, but there was little we could do at that point. They told us all the rooms were booked and the hotel next door, Hilton Garden Inn, was also fully booked. It was very frustrating. There was a sign that said if we weren't 100% satisfied, we would get a refund, but if it meant giving up two rooms, that wasn't an option either. Hampton Inn did say they would give us a small discount, which they did, and extra blankets and pillow for someone to sleep on the floor, but it was all little consolation. I just read a few similar unhappy reviews on hotels.com, so what happened to us was not really an anomaly. Sigh. Caveat emptor.



The rooms were small, and the double beds seemed small, but Hampton Inn did not/does not have two queen beds in one room - only doubles, or that's what we were told. The room with one king bed was also small. There was a small closet, television, charger outlets, bathroom with dryer, bath/shower (bathroom was fine), towels, coffeemaker. The smallness didn't bother us at all, but I think the four in a room with two double beds, found it really crowded. Good thing they are young.



Desk help was friendly - some people were so nice, helping us out with various things during our stay. Hotel concierge, a bit on the grumpy side, not so much, at least the days we were there. Breakfast food was standard, but there were several choices between hot foods (eggs, meat, oatmeal) and cold foods (fruit, yogurt, cereal) with bagels, rolls, pastries, juices, and coffee/tea. Also, going earlier rather than later in the morning, we discovered, was less crowded, especially Saturday morning.



The location, as many have said, was excellent. It was near the corner of 35th Street and 6th Avenue, near Macy's, and so close to everything - tourist attractions (such as the Empire State Building), shopping, theater district (Times Square), subway, to name a few. This hotel is definitely in a great location. And right on the edge of Korea Town with lots of good restaurants on the same block.



We're planning on returning to NYC for the same program next year, but we're hoping for better luck with rooms elsewhere. We ended up adding another room with a king bed, which was discounted, so one could say that all's well that ends well. Perhaps.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the back of the building are quieter. Rooms that face the street can be noisy for li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us. We really do apologize with regards to the confusions with the room type. We hope that the courtesy discount we've given you were appreciated.

We hope you still consider staying with us again in the future and rest assured that we'll make your stay more pleasurable. Please feel free to contact me directly if there's anything else I can assist you with.

Many Thanks,
Jane Atendido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location is very good - Herald Square so close to shops, restaurants and subway lines. The area is quite noisy so if you stay ask for a high up room. The hallways were not that clean and what was a disappointment was the breakfast. There were several items that were not available/out and it was only about 8.30am. I am sure it is a challenge to keep food items stocked with a busy breakfast but would think it is a constant need thus something management spends time/energy addressing.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room due to noise level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiguy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you stayed with us.

The hotel is centrally located and it's accessible to nearly everything, in the city that never sleeps. We're sorry to hear with regards to breakfast items not being replenished immediately. Thank you for letting us know, the mangement will definitely address this accordingly.

We hope you still consider staying with us again in the future and rest assured we'll make your stay more enjoyable.

Best Regards,
Jane Atendido
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is perfect. You can get around pretty quickly and the location is very convenient. The place was packed during our stay and it was pretty busy and is very crowded. The staff are awesome and they very friendly. Over-all We had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ycw101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#101 of 468 in New York City
1,676 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#167 of 468 in New York City
1,899 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#103 of 468 in New York City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#180 of 468 in New York City
1,137 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#148 of 468 in New York City
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing