We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous. Noise from street is ridiculous. Avoid room 201 at all costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #167 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrendous. Noise from street is ridiculous. Avoid room 201 at all costs”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The room I was in may as well have on the street for all the noise in my room on the second floor right above the street. Call the front desk at 1:45 am to complain and was told they couldn't do anything bc the hotel was full. How about soundproofing...haavy curtains? They've got to know this is a huge problem

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chimover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    823
    233
    60
    42
See reviews for
793
560
100
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

First arrive last Saturday, early in the morning ~ 7am. Good service provided, they allowed us to leave our luggages there and claim them during check in, as we need to go for city excursion in the morning. Located next to the subway entrance, which makes it very convenience to travel around the city. Per ride USD 2.50, if you are a frequent user of the subway system, please purchase metro card as every USD 10 you purchase, you will get additional USD 0.70, and you will get 5 rides (Average 1 ride is 2.10 now) which is cheaper. If you are travelling in group of 4, maybe cab is better, but don't ride during traffic jams, the money you paid is to enjoy New York Traffic Jam. This hotel is good for Hilton members, utilized the points you accumulated to change for a free room. Internet is free, breakfast is provided. Beverages availables 24x7. The normal room not that spacious, but it doesn't matter since we haeded out in the morning, and came back late in the night... Walkway is very narrow.. best fit one person per time. Service good, we were greeted when arriving... and provided a lot of local information for us. Surroundings outside the hotel not very "Open". You are facing a "Wall" and a narrow street. Rubbish leaving unpleasent smell and watery remant on the street.. before it was clear up in the morning into the rubbish truck.

Room Tip: Choose lower rooms, lifts are slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sankuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

I travel to NY about once a month and usually stay at hotels that were sold out during a recent stay. The Hampton was convenient to my meetings and offered government rate rooms.

Pluses: free wifi that was reasonably fast, full set of cable channels, free breakfast (which wasn't great but was convenient), staff were friendly

Minuses: tight corridors, slow elevators, small rooms, noisy AC, hot water took several minutes to arrive at the bathroom sink

One thing I found a bit disturbing is that the hotel made a big deal out of each room having fresh sheets on the guests first night. Are there reputable hotels where that's not the case?

This still will not be my primary hotel, but it will do in a pinch.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cminny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Hi


This was my first visit to NYC, so wanted to stay in Manhattan I booked my reservation from Sept8-Sept10 at this hotel through hotels.com.

After my booking I called Hampton inn, about landing zone facility and nearest parking facility they could recommend. They said, they would let me know the address of the parking facility and put me on hold and never got back. I should have then and there cancelled. May be that was my mistake.

I was flying with my family from Buffalo to BWI and take a car, drive around DC and come to Manhattan by night. My flight was delayed and reached BWI at 3PM, and news reported Tornados in NYC and severe weather alert on I-95 stretch.

I contacted them through hotels.com and requested them if they could move the reservation to Sept9-Sept11. They mentioned that I had to lose all the money that I paid for Saturday 400$, and I had to pay another ~400$ for Monday's accommodation.

I understand under general cancellation policy they can charge, but under severe weather conditions if they do the same, they would lose customers.

They are pretty short sighted and thought they could charge me for Saturday's accommodation, even without stay, but with that, they didn't realize that they would lose a booked accommodation for Sunday and lose a good customer, and receive a terrible rating in trip advisor!

Infact, I cancelled my reservation and rebooked at Hampton Inn Times Square for Sept9,11, a better rated/ranked hotel for a better price, including parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suresh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
221 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 609 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Location could not be better.Walking distance to Penn Station,Times Square,MSG,Rockefeller Center,etc. We walked even to High line, Chelsea Market and 9/11 Memorial.Many good restaurants close by.Rooms on the small side, but clean.Quiet inside but noisy from the outside ( maybe from the airconditioning of the next buildings). Good value for money considering that is NY and the hotel has free hi-fi and breakfast included. Computer in the lobby available for print.Small reception area, a little bit crowded sometimes.
Overall the Hotel serves your purpose but is not remarkable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

As a New Yorker who now lives in Chicago, I was a first time 'tourist' in my own hometown when I visited NYC Labor Day weekend (with my girlfriend who is from Chicago and had never been to NYC). We stayed at this Hampton Inn and it was TERRIFIC. I was VERY impressed. The rates were not-of-this-world considering the terrific location. The room was extremely clean and the water pressure in the shower was ideal. Those are two big things right? The breakfast was excellent and the selections were tasty. I can't say enough good things...When we come back we'll probably look right back at this Hampton Inn. NYC - that's my home and it's nice to know I have a great place to stay when I visit my hometown!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGleemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

All of the staff was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast area was bigger than I expected but because not many hotels offer free breakfast it was always packed with guests. Breakfast was very good and changed every day. Rooms are small but that's what you get in NYC. Housekeeping was so nice and spoke good English. Hallways are very narrow. Great location-close to Times Square, Empire State Building, Madison Ave, 24 hour Subway restaurant around the corner. Room didn't have a fridge but I requested one and one was in the room upon arrival for no extra charge! Great experience overall-Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachhyx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#103 of 468 in New York City
1,669 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#104 of 468 in New York City
731 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#171 of 468 in New York City
1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#181 of 468 in New York City
1,136 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#145 of 468 in New York City
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing