We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #163 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

As a New Yorker who now lives in Chicago, I was a first time 'tourist' in my own hometown when I visited NYC Labor Day weekend (with my girlfriend who is from Chicago and had never been to NYC). We stayed at this Hampton Inn and it was TERRIFIC. I was VERY impressed. The rates were not-of-this-world considering the terrific location. The room was extremely clean and the water pressure in the shower was ideal. Those are two big things right? The breakfast was excellent and the selections were tasty. I can't say enough good things...When we come back we'll probably look right back at this Hampton Inn. NYC - that's my home and it's nice to know I have a great place to stay when I visit my hometown!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGleemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,209 - 1,215 of 2,236 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

All of the staff was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast area was bigger than I expected but because not many hotels offer free breakfast it was always packed with guests. Breakfast was very good and changed every day. Rooms are small but that's what you get in NYC. Housekeeping was so nice and spoke good English. Hallways are very narrow. Great location-close to Times Square, Empire State Building, Madison Ave, 24 hour Subway restaurant around the corner. Room didn't have a fridge but I requested one and one was in the room upon arrival for no extra charge! Great experience overall-Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachhyx0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The location was perfect. The subway was right acros the street. We were blocks from all of the excitement in Times Square, shopping (HUGE Macy's), and food. The room was comfortable and very clean. I thought it was a bit small. However I am told this is normal for NYC. There is free breakfast that was pretty decent. Eggs, sausage, cereals, pasties, coffee, juices, waffles, etc made up the typical menu. The staff was overall pleasant and helpful. Now the bad. When taking a shower in the evenings, the water would fluctuate between hot and scalding. My arm and feet were burned several times and my roommates complained of the same. In the morning, the water was lukewarm if you were lucky. They really need to fix this....this is a lawsuit waiting to happen. There are two elevators and they are extremely slow and stop at random floors although no buttons are pushed. I stayed on the 16th floor and one day after a long day of walking and touring, the elevator literally stopped on every floor. No buttons were pushed. No one else got on. Pretty frustrating, but overall a good stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWilson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

WOW .... this has to be just about the best located best value hotel in NYC.

Just a couple of blocks from Penn Station between 5th Ave and 6th Ave. A 2nd subway station 30 metres from hotel entry and a 3rd subway line 2 blocks in the opposite direction. Access to uptown and downtown trains is so easy as is access to Yankee Stadium and NY Mets Stadium.

Empire State Building just a short walk away.

My queen room on a lower floor was very clean and well maintained. I understand that most Manhattan rooms are small on a world scale and this was no exception but had everything I needed.

Daily breakfast was more than adequate along with a 24/7 coffee pot.

The staff were always friendly and helpful.

The lifts could be quite busy at times and I found it easier to just walk the stairs to my 2nd floor room.

Many many many restaurants of all shapes and sizes within easy reach and the shopping opportunities plentiful. Macy's is 1 block away.

I spent 6 nights in this hotel and will definitely be back next time I am in NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oldsk8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

It is what it is, and it will be what it is: a hotel with everything a traveler on a budget needs: a clean room, a wonderful staff, an a decent breakfast. I spent from Sunday, August 19 afternoon of last week until Wednesday, August 22, afternoon of the same week with them. I was on a "mini-vacation" and my first visit to NYC. The staff was so friendly and efficient...even though I got a bit lost from Penn Station to the hotel...(that's not THEIR fault I'd never been to NYC!)...I also work in a much larger hotel, 405 rooms of full service in a smaller city, and after perspective of MY guests complaining about "small rooms"..I'd ask them if they'd ever been to NY? In the end, I had a WONDERFUL time in this hotel. Thanks to those that helped me have the vacation of a lifetime! OH: did I forget to say the room was very clean, I was very comfortable and felt safer in NYC than I do in my own hometown? I appreciated the hospitality and NY hospitality may even rival our own here in Savannah!

Room Tip: It is one block from the Empire State Building...so I'm sure those rooms are at a premium. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savannahinnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

When you stay in Manhattan the most important traits of a hotel is cleanliness and subway entrance location. This hotel has both. Clean updated rooms. Subway only 1/4 block away. As with all NYC hotels rooms are small. Centrally located to all the sights. Free breakfast excellent. ( It amazes me when reviewers complain about something that is free). Only negatives which prevented a 5 star visit was the AC is very loud and even though not hotels fault, Korean restaurants next door on garbage day caused a foul fish smell out front which prevented us from sitting outside at the bistro tables to enjoy a drink at the end of the day. Will return here for MSG event next spring as it is very close. BTW got Hotwire price of only $119 the night before with a view of the Empire State bldg..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank salo41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The hotel is smoothly run with friendly, helpful staff. Front desk staff were working so hard to make check-in as quick as possible for everyone, considering so many people were checking out when we arrived. This is a popular hotel so book early as service and amenities are so much better than expected of a Hampton. This was the BEST Hampton we've ever stayed at. All of the Day front desk staff were wonderful. But there was one b-class evening front desk gal who seemed lazy, only interested in herself, and not in helping hotel guests at all.

Our room was on a higher floor looking out to the street, the Empire State Bldg, and Macy's (it is worth the extra $ to face the street as you really feel like you're in NYC) and even with construction on the street(they were just working on a small section and are likely done by now), with the double-paned windows closed, you barely hear anything. The room, while not large, was spacious enough for NYC. It was renovated recently so the bedding was very new. The comforter was not lumpy like other Hamptons. The bathroom was very clean with a great shower. There were not many rooms to each floor so housekeeping was not noisy like we've experienced at other hotels where they yell across the floor while cleaning.

Considering this hotel was only $5 more dollars than the stingy old Courtyard Tremont in Boston(which did NOT provide breakfast) and included breakfast for up to 4 people as well as complimentary bottled water at the front desk if you ask, this hotel is the best bargain in NYC. The breakfast has a vast selection of food. The most choices of any Hampton I've been to across the country. And quite a few healthy options too. The breakfast room is modern, very clean, airy thanks to a covered "alfresco" section. But get down there early as it will fill up even on a weekday unless you don't mind waiting your turn to get items, and sharing tables with other parties.

For first time visitors, there are 2-3 subways stations within 5 minutes walk of the hotel. The Empire State Building, Penn Station are just a block away. Times Square is an easy 5-7 minute walk (it's safe to walk to at night, filled with tourists, and it's pretty all lit up) as are theaters. Grand Central and the Library is also an easy 10 minutes walk. If you are active you can walk to Central Park, and museums but you'll probably want to take the subway/bus back. To take the bus, you have to have exact change if you don't have a metro card(which we didn't yet due to jetlag), and the drivers are not nice about it at all - they were the only rude people we encountered this time.

This is the PERFECT hotel to stay at if you're going for the Macy's Thanksgiving parade or New Year's Eve since you won't have to walk far at all in the cold.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ushouldknow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 470 in New York City
1,213 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#146 of 470 in New York City
2,025 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#150 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in New York City
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $140 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing