We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Small Small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Ranked #174 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small Small Small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Small entry, small breakfast area, small rooms. I was constantly aware of being space challenged during my entire stay here. There isn't anywhere in the single room to store your suitcase that you won't trip over it. The dresser has the extra bedding/blanket, so even if you choose to unpack (to try to move that suitcase) you may not have space to do so.

Each morning started with walking through halls and riding in an elevator reeking of incense (honestly), and then jostling for breakfast. I could't wait to leave each day. And the taxis don't come down this side street too often, so you will serve yourself to walk to either end of the block to get one more expediently.

If you are only staying for a day or two, some of this might not been an issue.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdtripd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    802
    229
    58
    41
See reviews for
773
544
97
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

This hotel....is next to Herald Square ...the Subway stop is just out the door....Its very close to a lot of stores Daffy's Manhatten mall Macy's ....and a lot more...a lot of restaurants ....Very clean and not bad size for new york city...if your looking for a lot of room i sujest next door the Hilton garden inn...but if your looking for value definatly Hampton inn Great breakfast as usual ...a couple different hot items each day ....and a lot of bread items ...bagels and english muffins and danishes muffins ...fruit ..juice ...and hot drinks avaible all day....just 6 blocks from times square ...or one subway stop....friendly staff ...very helpful...and a luggage hold and buisness center ...and free wirless

Room Tip: great hotel closse to everything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plcSaintJohn_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I was happy with my stay here. The rooms were small, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The location is fantastic and less than a block from the subway. I have to agree the breakfast wasn't very good but that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

This is an average hotel in a great location. We had a room on 13th floor which was a good size. The hotel was always clean and the staff very friendly. The food was horrendous - we tried to eat breakfast once and gave up. We never ate there again. The restaurant area was a small room packed full and it was all self service with lots of things not available. It was very poor quality. We were there for thanksgiving and got woken up at 2am buy the bands practicing outside Macy's. It was a one off but I would avoid staying there the night before thanksgiving. It was a fantastic location and lets face it when in New York you don't spend much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K8O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Great Location. Subway entrance next to the hotel. Very safe area with lots of people and stores. Hotel lobby is small but modern and clean. Front desk service is great. They will hold your luggage before check-in and after check out, so you have extra time to visit the city. The hotel offers free breakfast in the morning and have free coffee and hot chocolate through out the day in the dining area. Rooms are standard size which translate to big and comfortable for new york hotel room standards. Rooms are clean and nicely decorated. A/C units are new, located by the window and controlled by a digital wall thermostat. A/C unit run great and quiet. Bathroom is also large and clean. I will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RG03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

By far too expensive hotel considering what it has to offer. Don't get fooled by the "complimentary beverage area", which offers only coffee, tea and water. The same goes for the "complimentry breakfast", which is probably the lousiest I've ever had. Half an hour before the breakfast time was out, the staff discontinued to fill up what was finished. The staff was however very friendly and helpful and the location is of course superb.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjorn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

During our NYC trip we stayed at this hotel and the more trendier (pricier) Empire Hotel. We enjoyed this Hampton Inn way better and wished we stayed here the whole time. First of all, they let us check in at 7AM! This really made our day after we were tired from the LAX red-eye flight and a disappointing attempt at getting stand-by tixs to SNL. Major score!

In addition, this Hampton Inn offers free breakfast, free wifi, and in-room coffee. I was really impressed by the breakfast offerings. The breakfast menu consisted of hot oatmeal, a cereal bar, sausage patties, fresh waffles, bagels, different juices, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, and some other baked goods. The Styrofoam plates didn't bother me cause I was forewarned by previous reviews.

Our room was decent sized and had a desk, drawers, and a closet. The bathroom was pretty large with a full sized/shower tub. Didn't take advantage of the fitness room but this hotel has one. They also provide you with free toiletries too (tooth brush, shower cap, etc.)

In contrast, the Empire Hotel charges $13 for wifi, offers no free breakfast, is about double the price, and the room was smaller then this Hampton.

A couple of caveats though - I've never stayed at a Hampton Inn before and I stayed here for free. If I paid more than $200, I'd probably be more critical of this hotel.

BTW- There's no doorman so catching a cab in front of the hotel seems like a free-for-all and the baggage storage area is a little area next to the check-in desk that they rope off (its not secure).

Room Tip: We had room 206 which offered views of a wall and the top of the breakfast area but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#172 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#110 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Address: 59 W. 35th Street, New York City, NY 10001-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#138 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#191 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our prime hotel location puts you in walking distance to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Broadway, Madison Square Garden, Herald Square, Penn Station, and many other top NYC attractions. Enjoy amenities including free hot breakfast daily during your stay, free WiFi access throughout the hotel including guest rooms, and free access to our fitness center and business center. Our guest rooms offer coffeemakers, flat-screen televisions with premium movie channels, and a work desk. We are a pet friendly hotel (non-refundable deposit required; please review our policies for more details). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn 35th St. Empire State Building Hotel New York City
Hampton Inn New York City
New York City Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing