We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #70 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I spend nearly every weekend in the winter in NYC seeing shows , friends and eating at variious restaurants . This was our second stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and clean. What makes this hotel outstanding is its staff. Smiles, helpful and professional.Their manager this weekend , Didier, was put to the test and sailed thru with shining colors. Our lovely room on a high floor was also home to a bunch of loud girls who created issues most of the night. Security was called by us at 2am. Not good.....however the hotel reacted quickly, and did all the right things. The next day we were moved to a higher floor, a bottle of wine delivered and general concern that everything was under control and we were happy. Hard to control your guests, but more important to know how to handle an uncomfortable situation when it occurs. We will be back. Many thanks to Didier and his staff.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trigger1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

I am happy to hear you had a great stay. There is no better way to fix a guest issue with a dose empathetic care, response time and genuine concern. It was a pleasure to assist you and will begin reading the novel shortly.

Thank you again and can’t wait to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 3,240 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

I am a Kimpton Inner Circle member and stay in NYC frequently. Ink 48 is a very nice choice in NYC overall.

The location is good. Although it is far west on the island, it is very convenient to places like Hell's Kitchen, Carnegie Hall, etc. It also has some amazing views of the Hudson River and Midtown from the rooms.

The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. The beds are great and the hotel is quiet.

The staff are quite good. I had a small service hiccup with my Inner Circle requests when I checked in, but this was quickly rectified by the attentive staff.

The only negative I can cite is that they have too few elevators for guest of the hotel. They reserve 1-2 for people going to the rooftop bar and staff, and this creates pressure on the remaining two elevators and the waits are sometimes too long.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank You for being a loyal Kimpton guest, your Inner Circle status definitely help gets you those great city or Riverview rooms. Happy to see you had a great stay


Thank you for your candid feedback. We will certainly monitor the elevator situation and assure the burden is not placed on the guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed for a week over Christmas. We had a double double room for extra space. Requested a high floor. had a great view from 15th floor. Room was very clean and well maintained. cleaned every day. handy ice machine on nearby floor.
very comfortable beds. nice smelling toiletries. wacky bathrobes. you can request a coffee machine for your room. the coffee and tea in the lobby is available. during the day there is flavoured chilled water.
we're Kimpton members so wireless internet is free.

wine hour is an added bonus, with Prosecco on one night. also winter warmer of warm cider with optional added whisky shot.

Unobtrusive service with a smile. Very professional but approachable staff. Different to Eventi where we stayed last year, which seemed more relaxed and fun.

We ate breakfast in the restaurant (PRINT) and had a delicious meal on Christmas Day. Fresh and creative food, really great flavours and ingredients.

We had a cocktail in the Press Lounge bar which is located on 16th floor. Open to general public. Views are amazing. A must do.

We have stayed in different hotels in Ne York (mostly Kimptons) this is one of the best. The location is great. HMS Intrepid is round the corner as is the water taxi. great to get to Ground Zero and a trip around the Empire State. .A few blocks across and you can be in Times Square or in Central Park. Go across a couple of blocks and there are lots of places to eat that aren't too crowded. Great choice, American diners, Thai, Mexican, Indonesian. For a typical diner breakfast Market diner is down the road. On the opposite corner to the diner is a liquor store, really reasonable with a great choice. There's a ice bucket in your room & ice machines in the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennyq7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

We hope to welcome you back before Christmas, If not; we will certainly work had to assure another great stay.

I will certainly pass your kind words to the team as “Unobtrusive service with a smile. Very professional but approachable staff” – maybe come our new motto at INK48 :-)

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Ink48 was a very nice experience. I had a corner room which seemed spacious for all of the windows. The room was actually on the typical smallish new York size. The staff--so very friendly--impressive. I didn't get to take advantage of the evening wine nor the morning coffee; however, nice ideas. I do wish the room had a coffee maker.
So the exception: if you are a solo woman who is not city-wise, this hotel is not in a good location. I am comfortable walking in the city by myself at night: if you are not, you will need to use taxis for transportation, as this hotel is not near any subway stops. I can even imagine some women not being comfortable in daytime.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindaannie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Looks like you were delighted by one of our corner rooms that offer sweeping views of the NYC skyline. Being located in the vibrant Hell’s Kitchen area truly offers an authentic NYC experience while being so close to Time Square and the Theatre district. The train station is 3-avenues away, a 10-12 minute walk, however for bus lovers the bus stop is a 2-minute walk. I have notated your preferences as wanting a coffee maker in the room, so the next time you stay with us it will be waiting in your room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Hotel staff were very helpful and were fantastic with my pre-visit request. On check in the reception staff were extremely helpful with local knowledge and places to visit. The hotel is located approx 10-15 minutes walk from key landmarks including Times Square so close enough to walk but slightly quieter at night, in the city that never sleeps! The room was spacious, cleaned to a very high standard and tastefully decorated. Would recommend if looking for a hotel just outside the main areas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank 360Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Hello,

I am glad to read you had a great time with us and we surpassed all your expectations. I truly hope to welcome you back to INK48 in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Excellent, starting from door staff and finishing with housekeeping. Special thanks to receptionist Stephen and housekeeper Miu. Our room was on 15th floor nr 1502- very large room, breathtaking view to city, and very clean.Unfortunately didn't had a time to visit upstairs bar or restaurant, just lack of time.... Thank you Ink48 for making my and my wife's holidays so special!!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ralfs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Hi there,


Thank You kindly for your kind words, I will certainly share the feedback with the team!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We got an ok room with a limited view. Upgrades were pricey and as frequent kimpton stayer was not comped an upgrade. Not the best Kimpton in the city.Not in the nicest location and was not that cheap for a weekend either. The happy hour had ok wines, a rather busy spot right by the elevators so not a real cosy place to sit. The bar up top however was fantastic with great views- its not owned by hotel, so you cannot charge to your room.

Room Tip: i guess the suites are the way to go--
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Tgio,
Sorry we missed the mark on your recent stay with us. We are a little bit away from the hustle and bustle but not too far away. Glad you were able to enjoy the fantastic view of Press Lounge. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#48 of 469 in New York City
3,472 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#66 of 469 in New York City
3,272 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 48LEX New York
Hotel 48LEX New York
#62 of 469 in New York City
1,532 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#31 of 469 in New York City
414 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $212 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing