We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The advertised "Loyalty Program" is anything but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #72 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Ink 48 and the Klimpton Hotel chain are offering a $149/night "special" sale starting today, if you become a "Loyalty Member" and join the "In Touch" Program. Don't get too excited... My two travelling companions and I all joined the"Club" taking a considerable time to do so. This morning, first thing, EST, I called the toll free number and was told that the special didn’t apply until after the Holidays. Wrong…I asked to speak to a manager and was put on hold for 15 minutes; nobody came on the line. Eventually, I hung up.
I then called the NYC Ink 48 hotel directly. I was then told that the package DOES apply now (how can the national reservation desk be so uninformed?) but there are no rooms available on November 8th/9th with two beds. The only rooms available with two beds had a rate of $459 per night instead of the $149 offered on the website. By the way, there are PLENTY of rooms available; just none at the advertised price.
What a total joke!
I and the two women that I am travelling with planned to stay at Ink 48, make reservations at the spa for several treatments, eat and drink at the rooftop bar and generally enjoy all of the hotel services.
Instead, we will not be coming to your hotel; we will discontinue our “Loyalty Program" participation, immediately, and I am taking the time to inform other travelers of my wonderful experience with Klimpton properties.

Room Tip: My experience occured today, October 23, 2013. Given my experience, I did not take a room at this ho...
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank barbara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hello There,

We are sorry that we didn't meet your expectations and would like to talk more about your disappointments regarding Ink48. Please let us know if you would like our hotel manager to contact you directly to speak further about your far from perfect stay at the hotel.

Till then, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,172)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 3,172 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

We got a good deal for labor day weekend and stayed 6 nights. We never stayed in NYC hotels before but based on some of the researches, we learned that NYC hotel rooms tend to be smaller. We got a king studio and it was large and comfortable. We arrived early in NYC at 8am and were hoping to get an early check in but they couldn't check us in until 3pm. It is a nice clean hotel but the neighborhood had constant construction and even when we were on high floors, I got waken up by jackhammer at 8 in the morning. Also the walk from the hotel to the nearest metro station is 15 mins. Avenue is wayyy further than street and you will be walking on condensed residential area with narrow pavement and a lot of dog walkers. I like kimpton hotels but if I return to NYC I will likely choose a hotel closer to a metro station.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wfelicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank You for your feedback!


We like to think of our hotel as a sanctuary, away from the hustle and bustle. Many of our guest love to come back and enjoy the sweeping views of the city from the Press rooftop lounge.

The closest train is three blocks away which is a brisk 10-15min walk, please note the near by construction project has come to a stop and local project no longer causes noise issues for our guest.

I truley do hope you give us another chance to visit us at our utopic location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The service at this hotel is amazing, the food in the restaurant is exceptional, and the rooms, especially those with the city view, are out of this world.
The rooftop lounge is ridiculously pricey and the people have attitude. Do not like it.

Room Tip: definitely choose the cityview, away from the elevator, and not too close to the top.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanlynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at upscale hotel in Hells Kitchen on 11th ave. We decided to drive in and valet park at the hotel, which was easy once we figured out the one- way and turn situation coming from the Lincoln Tunnel. We usually drive from central NJ and park at the site of former Conners Hotel in Atlantic Highlands and take SeaStreak to the 32nd St. pier and then cab from there, but this was easy and less expensive, even with the $55 valet charge.
The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and we were quickly in our room on the 12th floor with a magnificent view of the Hudson River and New Jersey skyline. Thoughtful touches, hand written welcome cards with wine reception invites and personalized chocolate and wine gifts, show that our patronage is appreciated... we will return.
I recommend asking for a room or suite above the 10th floor, street sounds can be overwhelming.
If you like a well turned out, trendy hotel, away from the bustle of the theater district, but, still within easy walking distance to the shows, great restaurants and all NY has to offer, this pet friendly hotel is for you.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank jcovington11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Would def. stay at Ink48 if visiting NYC in the future. Location was great (hells kitchen area), far enough outside of the times square atmosphere but within walking distance to visit and 2 blocks from the water if you like to jog or bike ride. Walked back to hotel a few times late at night from times square and a show on Broadway and never felt uncomfortable walking through the area the mile or so walk back to the hotel.

Outdoor roof top bar was incredible & had amazing views of city, although beer options are very limited if that is your preference. Entrance lines to access rooftop bar are out the door of the hotel and down the block some nights but no wait for entry if you are a guest at the hotel which is really nice. Amenities were great, (including free use of umbrella in your hotel closet and/or bicycle in the lobby area at no charge if wanted), room was very comfortable & had space for a couch. Would recommend upper floor if you wish to have some view of city from room. Also had a spa on site although you will pay the hefty NYC prices for services. Having anything you may have forgotten accessible just by asking was wonderful from bathroom to cellphone cord charger amenities.

The friendliness of the staff were all great. Hotel desk staff at check-in were very welcoming & offered some great suggestions for places in the area that we were interested in. Also, informed us ahead of time about access to roof top bar, if we wished to use it we would not be able to have access 1 of our nights at the hotel which helped considerably in our plans for going up there. Don't forget to join Ink48's free rewards club for a few extra perks prior to check-in. Would def. go back again !!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view of city & are a little larger but no need to have the rooms with...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Hello There,

We take great pride in the quality of our service and are glad that you felt well taken care of. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great hotel located within walking distance (New York walking) to Central Park, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the Hudson River bike and running path. We rode hotel provided bikes down to SoHo as well. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sveytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here a couple weeks ago. 15th room had a wonderful view of the river, comfortable bed, just far away enough from the bar up top to not notice any noise. Management even sent up a complimentary bottle of wine for our celebration, with a nice personalized card. Room service was prompt and good food in a pinch (of course there's better food in the city... also grocery stores open late a couple blocks away). The true star of the place is the rooftop bar, especially at night. You can cut the line as a guest, and the view is spectacular. Good, if a bit pricey, drinks and an eclectic talkative crowd. Could spend hours looking at the NYC skyline up there. Check out Icon/Central parking about two blocks away... way better deal than the valet if you're up for a brief walk.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank f50gtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 468 in New York City
3,424 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#63 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 468 in New York City
5,270 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#80 of 468 in New York City
410 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $245 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing