We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Love this place - it is now my NYC home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #88 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
“Love this place - it is now my NYC home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The service at this hotel is amazing, the food in the restaurant is exceptional, and the rooms, especially those with the city view, are out of this world.
The rooftop lounge is ridiculously pricey and the people have attitude. Do not like it.

Room Tip: definitely choose the cityview, away from the elevator, and not too close to the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alanlynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    749
    200
    75
    58
See reviews for
363
1,245
171
651
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (898)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brick, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at upscale hotel in Hells Kitchen on 11th ave. We decided to drive in and valet park at the hotel, which was easy once we figured out the one- way and turn situation coming from the Lincoln Tunnel. We usually drive from central NJ and park at the site of former Conners Hotel in Atlantic Highlands and take SeaStreak to the 32nd St. pier and then cab from there, but this was easy and less expensive, even with the $55 valet charge.
The front desk staff was friendly and efficient and we were quickly in our room on the 12th floor with a magnificent view of the Hudson River and New Jersey skyline. Thoughtful touches, hand written welcome cards with wine reception invites and personalized chocolate and wine gifts, show that our patronage is appreciated... we will return.
I recommend asking for a room or suite above the 10th floor, street sounds can be overwhelming.
If you like a well turned out, trendy hotel, away from the bustle of the theater district, but, still within easy walking distance to the shows, great restaurants and all NY has to offer, this pet friendly hotel is for you.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jcovington11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Would def. stay at Ink48 if visiting NYC in the future. Location was great (hells kitchen area), far enough outside of the times square atmosphere but within walking distance to visit and 2 blocks from the water if you like to jog or bike ride. Walked back to hotel a few times late at night from times square and a show on Broadway and never felt uncomfortable walking through the area the mile or so walk back to the hotel.

Outdoor roof top bar was incredible & had amazing views of city, although beer options are very limited if that is your preference. Entrance lines to access rooftop bar are out the door of the hotel and down the block some nights but no wait for entry if you are a guest at the hotel which is really nice. Amenities were great, (including free use of umbrella in your hotel closet and/or bicycle in the lobby area at no charge if wanted), room was very comfortable & had space for a couch. Would recommend upper floor if you wish to have some view of city from room. Also had a spa on site although you will pay the hefty NYC prices for services. Having anything you may have forgotten accessible just by asking was wonderful from bathroom to cellphone cord charger amenities.

The friendliness of the staff were all great. Hotel desk staff at check-in were very welcoming & offered some great suggestions for places in the area that we were interested in. Also, informed us ahead of time about access to roof top bar, if we wished to use it we would not be able to have access 1 of our nights at the hotel which helped considerably in our plans for going up there. Don't forget to join Ink48's free rewards club for a few extra perks prior to check-in. Would def. go back again !!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view of city & are a little larger but no need to have the rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hello There,

We take great pride in the quality of our service and are glad that you felt well taken care of. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bidart, france
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great hotel located within walking distance (New York walking) to Central Park, Times Square, the Empire State Building and the Hudson River bike and running path. We rode hotel provided bikes down to SoHo as well. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sveytia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here a couple weeks ago. 15th room had a wonderful view of the river, comfortable bed, just far away enough from the bar up top to not notice any noise. Management even sent up a complimentary bottle of wine for our celebration, with a nice personalized card. Room service was prompt and good food in a pinch (of course there's better food in the city... also grocery stores open late a couple blocks away). The true star of the place is the rooftop bar, especially at night. You can cut the line as a guest, and the view is spectacular. Good, if a bit pricey, drinks and an eclectic talkative crowd. Could spend hours looking at the NYC skyline up there. Check out Icon/Central parking about two blocks away... way better deal than the valet if you're up for a brief walk.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank f50gtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Ink48 for 3 nights. The stay was the usual Kimpton great quality. Efficient, courteous staff providing excellent customer service in a clean, upscale environment. We stayed in a Hudson Suite which has floor to ceiling windows which provided a spectacular view of the Intrepid and the Hudson River. The restaurant had a great breakfast menu which we tapped into each morning. The view from the rooftop lounge is just amazing! I like it better than the other rooftop lounges I have been to in NYC because it has the killer Hudson River view and a beautiful view of the NYC eastern skyline (as opposed to being buried among the skyscrapers and not being able to see much else).

Coincidentally, we had to attend a late-night event in midtown on Friday night so we asked the front desk agent to make us a reservation at Nios (the restaurant at The Muse - another Kimpton hotel). It was no surprise to us that Nios was great too. I'm a Kimpton fan!!

Room Tip: The Hudson Suites are spacious and have amazing views. We were on the 14th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJM2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

The friendliest staff that we have ever experienced in the US! Starting from the bellman to the front desk and cleanning staff.
Location is okay, rooms are large and the hotel built according to very modern standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#54 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#100 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#209 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing