We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #70 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here as part of a 2 night stay in New York, and i must say i was very impressed. My brother had previously stayed here, and raved about it. I was shocked to find he was right to rave about it.

I now see why, nothing is too much trouble for the staff here, you can even have a goldfish bought to your room (I was told).

Rooms were very modern and spacious, and the views are spectacular, we had a room on the 15th floor and night time viewing was stunning (see the attached picture).

A very comfortable bed (and huge to boot).

Its a great location for visiting the Intrepid Air & Space Museum.

We arrived at 10am expecting to be able to drop off our bags, and come back later to check in, and were surprised to find we were able to check-in early, which was very helpful.

Room Tip: 15th floor views are pretty darned good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,170)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,552 - 1,558 of 3,170 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel was very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable and the rooms were large and modern, especially for an affordable hotel in New York. The Press lounge is very popular and offers a nice view of the skyline. The only downside is that it's a bit of a walk (15 minutes) from the closest subway station, but it is located in a safe area. The gym is very nice and the front desk staff were very helpful. For the price range, I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great environment. We stay here often for work and the front desk team always warmly welcomes us back and takes great care in making sure we have an excellent stay. It's our home away from home. Recently, we had the possibility of having our flight cancelled. The front desk assured us that we would have a room if needed...giving us peace of mind. Our flight was cancelled and we did stay another night. They made it so easy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMWierda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

With so many Manhattan hotels to choose from, I googled "comfortable beds" and settled on Ink48. The bed was very comfortable. I got the best sleep every night of my 5-night stay. Being on the 15th floor, I was worried that noise from the 16th floor roof-top lounge might be a problem. But there were no issues. The decor is stylish. The views are sensational since the hotel's location on the west side of Manhattan give just the right distance to enjoy the skyline. The massage I got in the spa was the perfect start to my vacation. If you enjoy walking to learn a city, then you will enjoy the walk to the subway. There is a tavern and affordable diners south on 11th Avenue and endless eateries on 9th Avenue, so skip the pricey restaurant in the hotel. I was disappointed that there is no working rooftop pool.

Room Tip: The smallest room is still plenty large for one or two travelers.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Halifaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My daughters and I recently visited New York City and spent 4 nights at Ink48 Hotel. We have never been disappointed with Kimpton Hotels and this was no exception. The location was perfect, away from the crowds of Times Square, but very close and walkable to everywhere. The hotel was amazing. Where does Kimpton get their decorators? Great style. Our room was perfect for the 3 of us with an amazing view of the Hudson River when we opened the blinds of the hotel the next morning after a late arrival. We loved the decor with the cool couch in the window and the very cool large bathroom shower. The roof top bar is unbelievable. What a great place to have a pre dinner or after dinner drinks. Views of the river and Manhatten. We had a fabulous time together and we will be back again. Thank you to all the great staff who clearly like working for Kimpton. GREAT, GREAT HOTEL!

Room Tip: We loved being on the river side. The double/double room was excellent. A very comfortable size fo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Ink48's a great place to stay if you're wanting more or less everything underneath one roof. Staff were very friendly & welcoming, it has a great restaurant & bar, gym, a fabulous rooftop bar with great views- easily one of the best in NYC! It's also in a great spot for everything & is about a 15 / 20 min walk to Times Square. We had possibly one of the best rooms in the hotel (citi-king studio) & it was massive! It had a very generous bath, spacious shower, huge bed & fantastic views of the NYC skyline! Loved it! We stated on the website beforehand that it was our anniversary & after about 30 mins of settling into the room, one of the porters bought us up some champagne & fruit with a little note attached. Such a nice little touch- thank-you! Everyone there was extremely charming- holding doors open for us, calling lifts, hailing cabs & they had nice little touches that made it that little bit more special. For instance, they had free coffee until 9am every morning (which my partner loved), they also offered ice cold water in different flavours downstairs in the lobby & also bicycle hire. Pretty cool. Also, one thing I should add is that the rooftop bar wasn't pretentious like some of the places in NYC & if you're staying there, (we were near the top floor) it isn't too noisy either. The only downer is that on our last night, we wanted to make a night of it on the rooftop bar but unfortunately the whole thing was shut for a wedding! :( There was no indication or warning so we had to go elsewhere. Other than that though, we had a fab time here & would definitely come back!!! :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophiekingaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at Ink48 with another couple prior to boarding a cruise from the Manhattan Cruise Terminal. This is an excellent pre-cruise spot as its an easy walk to the terminal from the hotel.

We got a decent rate (for NYC) on the hotel's website by booking in advance and signing up for their "In Touch Membership" gives you free Wifi. We arrived early afternoon and was able to check in. Staff was excellent from front desk to bell staff. Hotel had a wine tasting in the late afternoon and we really enjoyed it.

Rooms were well appointed and large by NYC standards. Modern feel and touches made a very enjoyable stay for one night. Only complaint was we were on a low floor and could hear street noise - if were to stay again, would have upgraded to a higher floor.

After enjoying spot on restaurant recommendation from the concierge, we returned to the hotel and enjoyed dessert and possibly the best French press decaf coffee I've ever had. Then we enjoyed the upstairs Press Room terrace - very popular with both people staying at the hotel and not. View was really good for the area and we enjoyed it.

Morning complimentary coffee was excellent as was our entire experience at this hotel. Although slightly out of the way for typical NYC sightseeing, it was A+ perfect for our overnight stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 468 in New York City
3,421 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 468 in New York City
3,222 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 468 in New York City
5,266 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
407 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $247 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing