We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice contemporary hotel in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice contemporary hotel in Manhattan”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed one week in this hotel. It is located in a calm area of Manhattan, near the Hudson river. The room size was not huge, but it was very clean and chic. The high speed Internet was available in the rooms but I don't recall if it was paid to free.
We had amazing views of the river and the city from our window in the upper floors. The only inconvenience was the very expensive parking (60$/night). And all the other parkings around the hotel were either full or expensive. So we had to park our car 3 blocks away in another street. We got a deal for $250 for one week for parking.
A couple of times we tried the buffet breakfast and it was very good, but since I am not a breakfast person, most of the days we took free coffee in the lobby and headed out.
We also used the hotel top floor bar, which was very nice and open until 2:00 AM.

In the end unlike most of NY's hotels, the staffs were very warm, friendly and polite!

Room Tip: Free coffee was served in the lobby every morning until 10:00 AM. Every evening at the certain time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poemberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    780
    207
    81
    60
See reviews for
393
1,294
182
689
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (945)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

First, hotel in a off beaten track location, but overall good rooms. It was loud all day with construction, I factor that they conveniently don't disclose. I found staff to be very pleasant, with the exception of bartender at the press room roof bar - really an arrogant attitude. Hey, maybe that is the thing for a trendy bar, but I was a guest of hotel & not there for the scene. The views are really solid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KipL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A stylish 4* hotel in the heart of Hell's Kitchens. The rooms are big and comfortable with extra large bath rooms. The hotel has a beautiful rooftop bar with a nice lounge are. A perfect stay for a short NYC business trip or holiday. Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chayato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Awesome hotel, beautifully equipped bedrooms with a fantastic view of the NY skyline.
Staff friendly and helpful without being 'over the top'
Well placed for a base to explore Hells Kitchen

Make sure you visit the 14th floor.

When back in New York I'd definitely stay at Ink48 again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoaminRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Very modern, comfortable city centre hotel about 10-15mins walk from Times Sq. Staff very helpful and efficient without being intrusive and really appreciated the free wine reception each early evening after walking around the city in a heatwave. Only negative was that we didn't even get to see the rooftop bar and terrace as it was closed for private functions on both days we were staying- real pity and a bit annoying as the description of the excellent views was one of the reasons we booked this hotel. Otherwise we had a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FussyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello FussyScot,

Thank you for sharing your review, it is greatly appreciated. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel near Time Square. Great views from the roof top bar at night of the City and the Hudson River. The bar on top of the hotel myst be a very popular place , based on the number of people attending. The rooms are very modern, with great views. They also have a very nice lounge in the lobby next to the restaurant . You will need to go few blocks to find some nice shopping, unless you're looking for a car. Very close to a lot of very good restaurants. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Bill1007,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled that you had an excellent stay with us. I am happy you enjoyed our hotel’s service, location and accommodations. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

As a frequent visitor to the City, I've come to appreciate and judge based upon the standards given space, noise, location, etc. Ink48 is quickly becoming a favorite place for me, despite the location (it's a bit out of the way in Hell's Kitchen for my needs.) Penn Station is about 20 minutes away- subway (1).
Rooms are clean, well appointed, standard size, beds are comfortable, all linens are very nice/soft. Robes (animal print) for the bathrooms, products are CO Bigelow. The bathroom was large for NYC - a nice treat, layout was functional. If you are traveling with colleagues or friends the door is smoked glass, part of the wall as well, some of the modest/privacy folk may want to opt for separate rooms- it doesn't bother me in the least. My room faced north so I had a striking Hudson River View and could see the GWB, that was lovely. There was a cruise ship also docked at the time I checked in, but it was gone later. Daily wine reception in the lobby, a special treat - a local author was on for a book signing, I really enjoyed that! I did not eat at the restaurant, I did have a drink at Press Lounge - oddly, last call was early - I believe because the bar on the roof was open. I did also go up to the 16th floor to the roof bar for a drink, but did not stay long- space inside was limited (partially enclosed) and it was raining, so that was partially why it was crowded... Beautiful views of Time Square & the Empire State Building were very nice. I'll be back & hopefully the weather will cooperate.
This property accommodates guests with pets, I thought that was sweet... I do not have allergies and it does not deter me from wanting to stay again in the future. Staff are friendly, helpful.. Rooms are great, hallways clean. It's a WINNER!

Room Tip: Kimpton is very accommodating, ask for a room based on your preferences & they will do their bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1IrishLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello 1IrishLass,

Thank you very much for sharing this review. We are beyond delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the service as well as the views of the hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
3,376 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,176 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#74 of 467 in New York City
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
966 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#109 of 467 in New York City
1,151 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#69 of 467 in New York City
5,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing