We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous gem in the heart of new York City!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous gem in the heart of new York City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

You will not find a classier, cleaner, more affordable stay anywhere in the middle of the city! Join their "club" for free and immediately receive benefits. We were given a $15.00 mini bar voucher upon arrival and there is a free wine reception in the late afternoon. Everyone is friendly- they truly make you feel important and spoiled- and the rooms are gorgeous! I have paid four times this price for a stay in New York and it was nothing compared to the Kimpton! Also, it was our 25th wedding anniversary and when we returned from the theatre- there was a bottle of chilled champagne and a heartfelt, hand written note congratulating us! as a frequent traveler to New York, I can honestly say that I would not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tintagel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Tintagel69,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. Thank you for making us part of such important occasion. We are so pleased you had an exceptional stay with us and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Thanks for choosing Ink48. Happy Anniversary!!!

We hope you visit us again soon

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,896
    751
    202
    75
    59
See reviews for
366
1,256
173
657
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My fiance & I loved this hotel! Friendly service and boutique atmosphere. They have a rooftop lounge with awesome views of the NYC skyline. Valet is a little pricey, but can be expected for NYC. The location of the hotel is just okay; the subway stops were a bit far.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Sophia J,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the hotel’s amenities. Look forward to seeing you again next time you visit New York City.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is absolutely fabulous! My boyfriend and I were celebrating a special occasion. We let the hotel know and I received a wonderful surprise at my door. A bottle of wine and a lovely note from Erica. Let me start from the check-in process.

The people downstairs are ALWAYS in a great mood, they are helpful, happy and just wonderful to be around. This type of attitude always puts me at ease, makes me feel confident and happy to be in the environment.

Once we got to our room (1411), we were stunned by the views of the water and the city. It was absolutely amazing.

The room was cooled down, spacious, and had incredibly high ceilings. We had a mini bar with very reasonably priced snacks.

We came to the city to see a Broadway show and after the show we went upstairs to the rooftop lounge which also had gorgeous views of NY and VERY strong drinks which was great because they were pricey.

If you are looking for a great gem in the city that never sleeps, definitely check out Ink48. The room prices are VERY reasonable and you will be happy you stayed there. This is my 5th time going to a Kimpton hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hello Marina V,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad to know that your experience with us was outstanding. Thank you for choosing ink48. We look forward accomodating you again in the future and we hope that you make us your home away from home in NYC.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel to view the 4th fireworks. The staff said the view would be excellent and the manager told us we wouldn't be able to see them. We were making alternative plans to view but couldn't find a spot so we decided to make due with our room. Tha manager was wrong! We had a perfect view and it was awesome. The next morning our room filled with smoke from the AC unit. We called it in twice. The room smelled liked burnt rubber. The hotel staff was hesitant to offer us another room. They were just trying to push us out for the day. They finally agreed to switch our room. At this point they told us the room was being cleaned and they would move our luggage within 10 minutes. We packed up everything the day before our last day and went out for a couple of hours. When we returned, the room wasn't ready! We explained that we had to change for a play and leave and they still couldn't put us in a room. What happened to the room that was going to be ready in 10 minutes? We were finally moved late afternoon. The hotel never offered anything for the huge inconvenience and poor service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen1269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi, We are so happy that you were able to enjoy the fireworks from your room. We were all super excited that the barges for the fireworks were almost directly infront of the hotel, Macy's website originally had them further down which would have given only a partial view. It ended up being truly expectacular. I'm so sorry to hear of the mishap in the room, totally not what we would want you to experience. Please feel free to contact me personally to discuss further or for any future plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just stayed a few nights, but from the moment we walked in we were treated like VIPs, especially by Didier ...he made our stay special. The deluxe room was spacious for 2 adults+2 kids and a dog. I am a light sleeper and had no problem with noise as mentioned in past reviews, we were on the 11th floor. This hotel is very clean and it is so well maintained. Loved the location especially for the fireworks but would stay anytime of year because there are great restaurants only a few blocks away and its not crowded like midtown. This is the first time staying in a hotel with our dog, would not hesitate to bring him here again. You would never have know it is a dog friendly hotel, never heard barking and everything was clean. Ink 48 has a great staff, everyone was friendly and accommodating but Didier went above and beyond.

Room Tip: Go to Sullivan Street Bakery around the corner, ate everyday of our stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natsomom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello Natsomom,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We really enjoyed having you and your family here as well. It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had a good time with us. We love hearing that our when our staff goes above and beyond. Thank you for choosing the Kimpton Hotel.

We hope you visit us again soon

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My hotel stay at Ink48 in Manhattan was so amazing that I don't know where to start. From the time we arrived until the time we left, we were treated like royalty. Upon arrival, I parked in front of the hotel and was immediately greeted by the bellman who gathered all of our luggage and placed it neatly onto a cart. When I entered the lobby, I was amazed at the beautiful decor. I was pleasantly greeted at the desk. After checking in, our room was undergoing a final inspection and was not quite ready. I waited for about 15 minutes in the lobby (which wasn't a problem since we originally though check in was 4pm instead of 3pm). Because the room was not ready, we were given a $30 credit on our bill, a voucher for free drinks in the bar and a coupon to use at the Spa. To me, this was above and beyond! Our room was immaculate. The bed and pillows were extra soft and very comfortable. Also, being next to a busy street in Manhattan, the rooms were sound proof. I slept like a baby and could not hear any noise from outside. The hotel fitness center was amazing. It was very clean and the treadmills even had TV's on them which I could control while exercising. Everyone in the hotel was pleasant. The housekeepers greeted me in the halls. While getting on and off the elevators, the staff would hold the doors open for me. Check out was very smooth and again the bellman was very attentive and took care of our luggage in a professional manner on the way out. In summary, I absolutely LOVE this hotel and can't wait to go back. HIGHLY recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akieda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Akieda B,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. We are so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations during your recent stay. We appreciate your positive comment and look forward to providing many more happy returns.

We hope you visit us again soon

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I found the hotel to be in line with what one would expect from a 4 star hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent being only few blocks away from Time Square. It has a nice terrace with an amazing view of ny. The restaurant served a tasty breakfast although it was a bit pricey. I also was satisfied with the service finding the people working the very kind. Even though it has a small but well equipped gym it lacks a swimming pool. Then my stay there would have been perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello DavidCh007,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are glad you had an enjoyable experience. Your ideas and suggestions are extremely helpful to our staff. Our team is constantly working to determine different ways to better the guest experience and your thoughts on amenities will definitely be reviewed.

We hope you visit us again soon

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#15 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,286 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing