We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Keep coming back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Keep coming back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This past month was our sixth stay at this hotel. The service is exceptional, the staff always courteous, professional and friendly. The fact that the hotel is pet friendly is also a plus. When we have to leave our pups at home, it's nice to see some cute furry friends in the lobby. Try one of the Hudson river suites. Great views, not the normal view of NYC. The rooftop bar is incredible, with 360 degree views of the city and the river. Don't let the location scare you. We walked to and from Broadway theatres, and cabs are easily available.

Room Tip: The hudson river suites on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello Jim H,

Thank you for your feedback! It is fantastic that you had a wonderful experience during your stay and that you enjoyed the service that was provided from our staff!

We hope you visit us again soon and you should definitely bring your pups next time!

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,922
    758
    203
    77
    60
See reviews for
374
1,267
174
669
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (913)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stumbled upon this gem through a AAA discount search. A friend of mine is practically a Kimpton evangelist, so I figured I would give this one a try.

The rooms are nice and large, with hip, modern decor. Service is excellent. Really enjoyed the restaurant PRINT. And the view from the rooftop bar (The Press Lounge) is AMAZING!

I visit NYC frequently for work, but had never stayed in Hell's Kitchen area. It's much quieter and less chaotic than Times Square/Rockefeller area. Just a few bucks for cab ride to Penn Station - much worth it.

There are also some great restaurants up on 10th. I recommend "44 & X" (by 44 and 10th) - upscale comfort food. There's also a Starbucks about 3 blocks away.

All that to say - highly recommend!

Room Tip: I had a room facing the street on the 3rd floor. I thought it would be noisy, but I slept with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoPetey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello TheJPress,

Thank you for your feedback, I am thrilled that we were a wonderful surprise for you! It is fantastic that you enjoyed the food from Print restaurant and the wonderful views of Press lounge. I do agree that Hell’s Kitchen is a much quieter neighborhood and less crowded if you
would like to take a peaceful walk.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is special to us. When we made our first trip away together, this was the place. And we've been returning ever since.

It is a very nice hotel. The room is large for a NYC hotel, the bed is very comfortable. The bathroom is tops! Love the shower.
We just enjoy the whole vibe.

The rooftop is the best. There are many nice rooftop areas in New York, but here the view is stunning. It's a wonderful feeling to be out there on a warm night, cocktail in hand, just taking it all in.

Make sure you check the calendar though, as one night we booked there specifically for the rooftop and it was booked for a private event. We weren't told this when booking, so naturally we weren't happy when we arrived and no rooftop. The hotel did adjust the price of the room for the inconvenience. Now I always make sure to call ahead and check because if the rooftop isn't available, honestly as much as I love it here, there are less expensive options.

Yes the hotel is up there in price, but not too far of a stretch for a GOOD NYC hotel room.
A little off the beaten path, but it's nice and quiet when sleeping.

We haven't eaten in the restaurant yet in all the times we've been there, so I can't comment on the food. Perhaps next visit we will check it out.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelevines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello thelevines,

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. I am thrilled that our hotel is special to you since every one of our guests are special to us. We strive to provide memorable experiences for our guests and feedbacks such as yours show us that we are moving in the right direction.

You should definitely visit our restaurant. I am sure you will love the food and ambiance!

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

It was outstanding! My daughter and I visited NYC for a weekend getaway and absolutely loved it. The cityscape view was excellent from the room, and the room decor was unique (different from cookie cutter chain hotels). The staff is professional and friendly, and the extra amenities were a plus. I appreciated the complementary organic coffee each morning, and my daughter loved the hot chocolate. I will say that the restaurant was a bit of a disappointment. It was very pricey and the menu options were limited. Overall, we loved it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floors to reduce street traffic noise. Location is a healthy walk from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATLTravelBug18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
ATLTravelBug18,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am highly thrilled that you and your daughter had an outstanding experience during your stay! Also, thank you for providing your room tip!

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had the most brilliant week in New York and at the Ink 48 from 16th to 21st Feb. We were in New York with a party of 16 for our wedding and everyone at Ink 48 made it a week to remember. I had been emailing Anna in concierge prior to arrival and when we arrived we were so pleased with the special touches in the room - flowers, teddies, chocolates, fish and wine! They were also very accommodating when I needed a cover for my wedding dress.

The hotel itself is very stylish with lovely, clean and well maintained rooms. We had a double double as travelled as a family so can't comment on other types of room. It was perfect for our needs and was on the 8th floor which had a good view north and overlooking the river. I think you need to be on the 8th or higher to get a decent view. The room was very modern with a lovely bathroon and walk in shower.

Little things we liked were 'raid the mini bar' as Kimpton In Touch members and free WiFi. We enjoyed tea, coffee and hote choc in the lobby each morning with chocolate chips and marshmallows and we especially enjoyed wine hour each evening from 5pm where our group could catch up before dinner.

My husband enjoyed the gym which was adequate for his needs - he didn't see anyone else in there and went most mornings!

Conceirge, door men etc were very helpful with advice of restaurants and making bookings for us. We ate at Market Diner down the street, Galaxy Diner on 9th, Southern Hospitality on 9th and the highlight which was Daisy May's BBQ which is an absolute must and is right next to the hotel - pulled pork heaven! The printer in the business centre wasn't working when I wanted to print tickets for Ground Zero and they let me do the printing from the front desk.

It's just a 10 to 15 min walk to Times Square and whilst it's a little out of the way you feel you are seeing some of real New York by staying here and it's great to get some amazing views and photos from the roof top bar - children allowed until 6pm.

Everyone in our party loved the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Request a high room for the view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoria_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Victoria_brown,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am thrilled that you and your husband had a memorable experience during your stay. It was a pleasure to accommodate you to make sure your wedding day will be a special moment for you!

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is lovely! Has the feel of modern elegance, unpretentious, staff is warm and accomodating. Everything is well maintained, great service, very clean. Beautiful rooms with great views and it's a hop and skip to bike/running route along the Hudson. You can go for a run or workout in the hotel gym (very nice), come back and peruse the Sunday Times over breakfast in Print restaurant (delicious). I would stay here again in a second!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallen1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Sallen1121,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the room and the service we provided for you. It is our goal to constantly provide high quality service for all of our guests.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Fantastic Place! I was inspired by Gabby
100% would go back.
It was clean, classy and in a great spot.
I walked to time square in about 15 min and I preferred to be away from it all when I wanted to sleep.
The rooftop bar is stunning! The food in the restaurant was great and well priced.
I loved ink48!

Room Tip: I saw a few rooms as we had a large group and all looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pm_dance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello pm_dance,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated! I am thrilled that you love the hotel, especially the rooftop bar! Our hotel is located at a perfect spot to see fantastic views of the city and be away from the noise.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,311 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,115 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#88 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#54 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing