We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #89 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Kimpton gets it right, Ink48 is at the perfect intersection of funky and upscale. The staff was amazing and rooms were clean.

Make sure you check out the rooftop bar, amazing view of the city!

The only downside is that the valet appeared to be slow.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkarolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello mkarolian,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We are thrilled you had a great experience during your stay! We are constantly striving to provide high quality customer service to all of our guests.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,934
    767
    204
    81
    60
See reviews for
380
1,274
176
677
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The rooms, even the Hudson Riverview Suite we had leave a lot to be desired. However, the staff, especially the manager on duty was absolutely horrible. I complained about it taking almost 5 hours for our luggage to make it to our room (it never made it) & was told by the manager on duty (who said he was the GM) that he doesn't have to deal "with people like us" & he would rather if we stayed somewhere else. I asked what he meant by: "people like us" & he replied with a gay slur that start with a [--]. I almost fainted. I was never rude or out of line. People in the lobby gasped when he heard him call my partner & I (a gay slur). I will never stay @ a Kimpton Hotel ever again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank andresworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at INK 48 and it is still one of my best souvenirs !
Everything was awesome, from the staff who would kindly advise us great restaurants and book them for us, to the organised wine degustation everyday in the lobby or to the rooms. Those were perfect ; the bathroom with giant italian shower, excellents beds,...
The location is also good just few minute from the time square. I'd definetely go back if I'd go again to New-York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmichel2143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello mmichel2143,

Awesome!! Thank you for your feedback! It is fantastic that you have a wonderful experience during your 3 night stay and you enjoyed what New York has to offer. We always strive to create a comfortable environment for our guests traveling to New York City.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Celebrated my birthday at this wonderful hotel! Stayed in the Hudson River Suite! The view is to die for! The bathtub has to be two feet deep and big enough for two! Birthday surprise from Kimpton, champagne, cupcakes, and balloons! Nice personal touch! Housekeeping was the best. Twice daily! Very clean. Staff was very friendly and accomadating. Press lounge, has to be the best rooftop bar in NY. The view of the city is breathtaking! Print restaurant was amazing. The food was top notch and service, too! Highly recommend Ink48!! Can't wait to go back! Forgot the spa. Jennifer gave a great foot reflexology treatment . . Not to be missed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timeisofessence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello timeisofessence,

Wow! Thank you for your feedback. I am thrilled that you enjoyed every bit of our services during your stay. It is fantastic to know that our guests had a memorable experience during their stay at our hotel, especially on their birthday!

We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here for an overnight visit to the city and did not want to leave. We had a corner room with a great view of the NY skyline and as always I treated splendidly as a Kimpton Intouch Member. We were accessible to broadway and Chelsea Pier and getting around was easy. We had a problem with our bathroom and the staff was hospitable and engineering was there to fix the problem in minutes. We also realized we forgot our phone chargers and again the front desk was very friendly and had a charger delivered to our room. The beds slept well and the bathroom was small but fit our needs. We had a great stay and I definitely will stay there again when visiting Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingButterflyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello TravelingButterflyy,

Thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated! it is fantastic that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We strive to create memorable experiences for every one of our guests while they enjoy what New York City has to offer.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July 2012. We found the price tag (215$) a night to be more than reasonable for NYC in the summer. While the location is a 15 min walk to the nearest subway station, we appreciated that it was in a quieter area and had good views of the Hudson River. You simply must go and have a drink at the rooftop lounge. We did it a couple of nights and loved it both times. This is one of the coolest lounges I have ever been in and a spectacular view of the city in all directions. The rooms were modern with high end amenities and the service, as with most Kimpton hotels, was excellent. We also enjoyed the daily free wine service in the lobby as it was a neat way to meet new people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyfromcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Andyfromcanada,

Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated. I am highly thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed the rooftop lounge and the service! We are constantly looking for ways to enhance our guest service to create wonderful experiences for our guests.
We hope you visit us again soon

Thank you and travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

When booking the room with the hotel's representative, she promised one king bed and one rollaway. Pretty important to us... not getting the rollaway would have been a deciding factor to staying at this hotel. When we showed up (after driving 12 hours) - we were greeted with a full hotel, no rollaway and a front desk person that was very indifferent. She had such a bad attitude and it made a bad situation much worse.

The hotel room was average in quality and for $249 per night, I expected a bit more.

Opinions aside... you should know this room had NO bright lights in the room. The yellow *mood* lighting in the bathroom made it almost impossible to get ready.

Now... the restaurant "PRINT" was a different story. That place was fabulous. The menu changes daily and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashtastic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Jason B,

I am deeply sorry that you didn’t receive the highest quality of service during your stay. I will inform our staff about your review to improve our guest service and create a better hotel experience for you and all of our future guests!

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,328 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,131 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing