We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, bit out of the way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Ranked #70 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value, bit out of the way”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here at Ink 48 at the end of November for 6 nights. The hotel is clean, the bed comfy and the bathrooms nice. The hotel is a little out of the way but there's always plenty of taxis driving by and I didn't have to wait longer than about 2 minutes. I hear the bar at the top of the hotel is good but I didn't visit it.

Depending on when you travel beware of the construction noise... Some rooms are being refitted and the noise starts at 9am even on a weekend and you just have to try and sleep through it which can be difficult.

Would I stay here again? Yes, especially if I could get a good price

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marksdavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Marksdavison,

Thank you for your review, it is greatly appreciated. Next time you should really visit the rooftop bar, you will definitely see a wonderful view of the New York Skyline and the Hudson River!

We hope you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,010
    784
    207
    81
    60
See reviews for
400
1,298
182
696
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (955)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Family with two sons (18 and 10) in a double double room.
The room was large enough for four people, unfortunately beds are queen size so they are not really double but enough to sleep confotably for five nights; it was far from the elevator and at 14th floor so we were able to sleep without any noisy from the street and with a wonderful view of NY by night before sleeping (unforgettable). I advise you to ask a high floor at the reservation.
Bathroom and room is very clean.
Good price, very convenient against other hotels (1366 USD 4 people 5 nights) in the first week of January.
Receptionists always at disposal, ready to help and satisfy every request with a smile!
The hotel is at walking distance from downtown (about 15 min.) and walking you can find a Starbucks or other places to have the breakfast.
During the nigh we were used to taking a taxi (7/8 USD from Time square) only because very tired after a whole day walking around and the cold.
At 200 mt you can go visiting USS Intrepid at the harbour (we missed it as we had knew the last day).
The last advise I want to give you is to subscribe the membership via web site before arriving which will give you 15 USD of free beverage at frigobar and above all a free wirless connection in the room (otherwise with a fee).
Only be aware they block on your c/c even money for possible demages thay will give you back after the check out.
If I visit again NY I will book again this hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Giorgio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Giorgio M,

Thanks for the review and the helpful tips for future travelers! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know when you plan on returning so we can ensure another great stay!

Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Ink48 for New Year and had a great time!!
The views from the hotel rooms (we were on 12th floor) were AMAZING! It made you feel like you were really in NYC.
The staff were great! Really really helpful - every restaurant they suggested was fantastic and just what we were looking for.
We spent NYE in the press bar on the rooftop. Tickets were expensive but it was a free bar all night and the views were just AMAZING - you could even see the ball drop from Times Square.
The rooms are also a good size and the views are just amazing!
The only negatives were location (It was quite a walk to get anywhere) but the location is quite nice in itself and you're not far away from some great restaurants in Hells Kitchen.
Also there was no complimentary tea/coffee facilities in the room. It would have been great to make a cup of tea after exploring NYC in freezing temps. They did bring up a little coffee maker on request but it came with capsules of really sweet icky flavoured coffee.
We also mentioned to them that we were over for our anniversary and I thought they might do something nice, a little gesture - but they didn't.
You can also hear quite a lot of traffic from the room - but then you are in a city!
Other than that though we had a great time - I love New York and will deffo be back but I might try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: It is worth asking to be on one of the higher floors as the views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello Mrs. Stark,

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated! We are thrilled that you loved the view you saw from your room. It is always a pleasure to let guest experience New Year Eve from the rooftop lounge where you can clearly see the ball drop, it just adds another special unique experience to your stay.

We deeply apologize that we didn’t acknowledge your wedding anniversary by sending a small gesture. Our goal is to create Kimpton Moments for all of our guests celebrating special moments such as yours.

I hope you visit us again soon.

Travel Safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed at the Ink 48 for 5 nights between Christmas and New Years. Staff was VERY friendly and worked to meet any and all needs. Free wine every evening in lobby from 5:00-6:00. Nice room with Wi-fi and stocked refrigerator. They even removed all beverages and snacks from our room upon my request so we could put in our own cheeper drinks and snacks. Great location. Within walking distance of Times Square. A little pricey, but so is everything in NYC.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on at least the sixth floor so you have a nice view out the window. We were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Chris M,

Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful experience during your stay at the hotel. We hope you visit us again soon!

Thank you and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

From the minute my wife and I stepped into the lobby we felt like VIP's. Great staff, decor and vibe at this hip hotel.
Our room did not dissapoint at all - huge jacuzzi, bed and floor to cieling windows with an amazing view of the city.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Chris K,

Thank you very much for your feedback and you felt like a VIP because you are a VIP in our eyes! We are thrilled that you were satisfied with the overall setting of the room. We can’t wait until you visit us again soon.

Thank you and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

There is no better place to stay in NYC than Ink48. Staff is professional and my room was perfect. The rooftop bar is a great place to be after a long day of work. During you stay it is a must to head up-stairs and take in all the views the city has to offer. In the morning we had breakfast in the first floor restaurant and it was fantastic. I truly recommend this hotel to friends, family and colleagues when traveling to the city.

Room Tip: I had a room with a view of the river.....very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello Jay R,

Thank you very much for your review! We appreciate that you took the time to send feedback about your stay at the hotel.

Thank you for your recommendations as well! We hope you visit us again soon.

Travel Safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband has stayed at this hotel many times and always says that it is great and has great service and he wasn't kidding I spent a girls weekend in New York and we had a blast. all the staff was helpful from getting us reservations to getting taxis. I was suprised at how accomidating they all where. I will bring our kids back due to the location and how nice it is to be right on the water my sons will love the navy ship.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olimpia M, Manager at Kimpton Ink48 Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hello Megan B,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very thrilled that you and your friends enjoy the hotel and New York City! You should absolutely bring your kids; your son will definitely love the Hudson River view and all the ships that are set there.

We hope you visit us again soon.

Travel Safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#39 of 467 in New York City
3,396 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 467 in New York City
3,193 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#76 of 467 in New York City
1,829 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#74 of 467 in New York City
5,160 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#71 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48 Hotel

Property: Kimpton Ink48 Hotel
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing