We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Kimptons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Ink48

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton Ink48
Ranked #86 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best Kimptons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Great views, extremely friendly staff, beautiful and clean rooms. Quiet, great beds.

Room Tip: City view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    714
    186
    72
    52
See reviews for
331
1,182
163
618
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

All Kimpton hotels are stylish and welcoming - but not all of them have this one's unique selling point: its killer view. Be sure to book a cityview room and you won't be disappointed: the uninterrupted view of the Manhattan skyline is stunning day and night, in clear weather or foul. The premier rooms, available for a small amount extra, are big by NY standards, with tasteful contemporary decor. If the rooms are big, the bathrooms are huge: clad in subtle beige tile, with tub and separate shower and upscale toiletries. After staying in places where the bathroom's so small your knees virtually touch the wall opposite, this is quite a find. Join the Kimpton loyalty program to get free wi-fi and a $15 "raid the minibar" voucher. And once you've got over looking at the view through glass, go to the 16th floor where there's an open air rooftop bar looking right at the same skyline, with the alternative of the Hudson River view on the other side. Is there a downside to this place? Well, its location is a little out of the way: on 11th Avenue at 48th St. There's really no life outside without walking to 9th Avenue or further. The streets are safe enough but not attractive. The other downside is that food and drinks are expensive ($15+ for a cocktail in the rooftop bar), but you'd expect that in any NY hotel of this calibre. Whether you go on business or for a special weekend, this really is a great place to stay. After years of spending nights in drab NY rooms I couldn't be happier at discovering it a couple of years ago and I've been coming back ever since.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a cityview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot_Wha's_Away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Great hotel. Our rooms was large with a tub right in the main room. Wonderful shampoo/conditioner etc. Very modern furnishings as well. The best part about this hotel was the staff. Amanda at the front desk couldn't be friendlier and helpful. Every employee that we met said hello and were willing to help at any time. The five o'clock wine as a nice touch too. And how about the roof top. Pricey drinks but worth the view. Will stay at this hotel again next visit to NYC and it was close to everything.
Thanks also to Cory for the note, bottle of wine and the chocolates.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoToronto21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was our first trip to New York to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we loved every minute of our stay. This hotel was fanatstic!
We stayed in a King Deluxe City View room on the 11th floor and we had the most amazing view out of our window!! The room was immaculate and I cannot fault anything. It was a decent sized room as I have noticed a few people saying rooms in NY are small. But the room was spacious and very clean. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable and my husband and I slept great. We heard little noise from the streets and traffic below. The bathroom was also great, fantastic shower and plenty of fresh towels. If you forget anything toiletries wise then reception can get it for you!! And again everything was very clean.
Location was not a problem and we didn't mind having to walk a short 10 - 15 mins to Times Square, there are also plenty of lovely places to eat nearby a couple of blocks away. This meant we could enjoy the hussle and bussle of the inner city and the more peaceful side as well. I would also say getting a taxi anywhere shouldn't be a bother as we seen plenty of them passing and stopping at the hotel.
The rooftop bar is amazing, such a great place to chill after a busy day. I'll never forget the view. Drinks didn't seem any more pricey than anywhere else in NY. You definetley need to check it out.
The room service was superb, food was great and most of the staff were pleasant. I can't say anyone stood out in terms of service but we still enjoyed our stay. We would both stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We discovered the Kimpton Group in Denver at the Hotel Monaco, which is fabulous, so my husband wanted to try another of their hotels. Ink48 did not disappoint.
The roof top bar is spectacular - with its unobstructed view of the river and the city - and wonder of wonders - the bar has Zacapa Rum - a great yet obscure rum and my husband's favorite - (only found in about 5% of the bars around the world we have been to). Whether a bar has Zacapa has become a litmus test for us as to how good a bar is.
The room was light and spacious - great views - big windows. The lobby and public areas are spotless and gorgeous. The staff - very efficient and helpful. AND the restaurant is first rate. AND it is very good value, especially compared to other hotels we have stayed in New York.
We won't stay anywhere else now.

Room Tip: Join the Kimpton Group for instant upgrades to higher floors and bigger rooms. Also - almost always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obriggs, Manager at Kimpton Ink48, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear BeachDreamer,

Thank you for writing a review. I'm glad you enjoyed our rooftop views and hotel facilities and we are thrilled you plan on returning to our hotel in your future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

For whatever reason, I keep staying at different hotels in NYC due to rate and availability issues. This was my first stay at INK 48. I am a member of Kimpton's In touch program and have been trying to stay at their hotels. I was in NYC on business and am an experienced business traveler. I arrived at INK48 in the late afternoon and the bell staff was very busy. Check in went well, they did not have any of the upgrades available. My room was for NYC huge, a little strange with a large pillar right when you entered but very nice. Bathroom was excellent, a shower and a tub, and the shower had both a rain shower head and a telephone head. It was not 100% cleaned, there was some trash left in several of the bins. I had room service dinner which was delivered ontime and was good. The room window faced 11th Ave and I was on the 3rd floor, this did lead to some noise issues and I was woken up from street noise a couple of times. I think that they could double window this room, like other hotels in NYC, rather easily and that might really help with the street noise. Overall, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a high up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Great Hotel! The room was great nice view comfortable bed. Good Service too. It was quite due to the location. Love the Kimpton free wine hour. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyFUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,060 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,914 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#45 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,178 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,139 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#21 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Ink48? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Ink48

Property: Kimpton Ink48
Address: 653 11th Avenue at 48th, New York City, NY 10036-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Ink48 4.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Ink48 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing