We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great home in SoHo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Ranked #323 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have been to new york 6 times and have stayed at a wide variety of Starwood properties -- the former W Tuscany, Westin Times Square (back when it had a club lounge), Sheraton Towers, and twice at the St. Regis. So I've had a fairly wide spectrum of experiences in New York, and all of them have been very good.

Having stayed exclusively in midwotn, my wife and I were excited to call a new neighbourhood home for our 4 night stay. Prices were competitive all over (in fact, the Four Points Times Square was even cheaper), but we decided to stay here for $165/night. Given my platinum status, I chose the breakfast option as my amentity. I tried to use my "suite night" awards prior to check in, but, alas, the two suites (I think they have only 2) were occupied.

We took Strusser's Limo Service in a nice SUV from LGA to the hotel. Our check-in was prompt, polite and efficient. They were kind enough to locate us on the 19th floor (1 from the top -- suites are on the top), with a view north. I quite enjoyed the view -- could see both the Chysler and Empire State buildings, and also the Hudson to the north-west.

The room was quite small, but welcome to New York. It had everything one could need, including electrical outlets next to the bed. The bathroom was a very pleasant surprise. Small, but a very nice full-size shower as opposed to an oppressive a nasty shower/tub combo I hate so much (Westin and Sheraton Toronto, I'm looking at you...). The room did have a bit of a smell -- I wouldn't say it was offensive or nasty, it just had a smell. Hard to explain.

I must confess that I'm not the biggest fan of Four Points beds. I find them to be very hot -- and I hate being hot when I'm sleeping. However, I found the bed at this hotel to be extremeley comfortable. I did not over-heat, the pillows were fine (a litle over-stuffed), and the mattress quite comfortable. This was the best Four Points bed I have ever slept in. Walking miles every day also might have helped.

Breakfast was served downstairs in the restaurant. The first morning, service was very slow -- despite there only being two other tables occupied in the restaurant. The lady serving I don't think had good organization skills. Now the remaining mornings we were served in a wonderfully efficient and friendly manner, and the experience was terrific. ;The platinum voucher, which is typically only for continental, was a dollar value that covered the main breakfast combo (3 eggs, meat, toast, hasbrowns, coffee, juice). I appreciated that very much. They didn't even bring a bill for me to sign, and when I asked for one to leave a gratuity against my room, the staff said it was included.

I REALLY liked the location of this hotel. I didn't hear club noise, or contruction noise. That said, the building is by no means sound proof, and one night was garbage pick-up noise, and it sounded like the truck was actually in my room (perhaps in the closet? -- oh wait, there wasn' one!) The view was great, and it was 1 block from the #1 subway line. We could go from our room to the middle of Times Square in about 15 minutes -- amazing! It was also a short walk to Prince and Spring streets, where all of the action, restuarants, shops are, etc.

Because we were staying in a neighbourhood rather than a tourist mecca, it felt like we were living in New York. We really enjoyed our experience at the Four Points. If I was heading to New York and wanted to spend as little as I could on a hotel, but stay in an area I liked, and a place that I know will be clean and comfortable, I will looke to come back here.

By the way -- New York in December is magical.

Room Tip: Get a high room for a terrific view and to get further away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicmansimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamModica, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 964 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Location:
While the location of the hotel was convenient to the subway and a reasonable walk to a variety of restaurants it is actually located in Hudson Square and not SoHo. Within the immediate area of the hotel there is little to see or places to eat.

Hotel amenities:
There are two elevators servicing the hotel and the wait was at times excessively long.
The hotel bar is tiny, uninviting and on the one occasion I ventured in there, the service was absolutely terrible despite the lack of any other customers.
Free wifi is nice but very slow and at times did not even work at all.

Noise:
The hotel feels quite cheaply built and soundproofing clearly was not one of the building priorities. I could hear sounds from rooms, not only directly next to mine but also on the diagonally opposite side of the building.
The external windows do not block outside noise so the traffic waiting to enter the Holland Tunnel can be very loud during peak times. Having stayed in NYC a number times previous, traffic noise does not bother me but could pose problems for others.
Due to crazy weather I used both heating and cooling in the room. There is no central air so you turn on the individual unit in the room as required. The unit is very loud, so loud that I only ran the unit as absolutely necessary. The temperature regulation is horrible so you have to turn the unit on and off from that perspective anyway.

Room:
As per NYC standards, the room was small. This was expected and fine given I spent little time there.
Unfortunately, despite the small size due to the room layout, the TV could not be viewed from the chair in the room. Only from the bed. And speaking of the bed…

Bed: The highlight of the stay. My queen bed was super comfortable, so with the use of earplugs I did manage some very comfortable and restful sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwttrr_021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamModica, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I I apologize for the multiple dissapointments and will share your feedback collectively with the appropriate staff.

Happy New Year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The odour when you enter the hotel lobby over powers... Made me think they are hiding something. Not sure if it is rodent related, sewage or other, but it stinks. The elevators too. Thankfully our room did not smell. Rooms are small and crowded with furniture, a flat screen tv that should be wall mounted to allow more counter space. Linens are good quality, beds are comfortable. Bathroom had been renovated in the fairly recent past. Carpets are dated and need replacing. The gym is quite small and busy in the mornings. All four pieces of cardio equipment (1 treadmill, 1 elliptical and 2 bikes) were occupied 2 out of the 4 times I was in the gym. Close walk to subway and to Soho neighbourhood. Internet allows multiple devices, but is slow. Front desk staff were helpful but are also responsible for all incoming calls, which makes for a hectic and congested reception. The shuttle company the hotel uses to Woodbury Outlets is not comfortable. I would recommend going online and booking your own transportation.

Room Tip: If booking on Expedia or some other site, check again closer to your arrival date if there is a bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamModica, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Thank you for the feedback. The scent in our lobby is a branded "Pinwheels in the Breeze". The same scent in all Four Points properties. I apologize if you felt it was over bearing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice hotel from outside, and the rooms are ok but are showing their age. WiFi was reliable but speed (1.5 Mbps) was barely good enough for voip calls. Other hotels had faster WiFi that was better for business use. The location was good, but other areas (e.g. Lower East Side) were livelier and had more restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badpanorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamModica, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are currently working on a way to improve our WiFi speed and hope that we resolve shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 6-days. The front desk agent was very pleasant to greet me and was able to issue a room even when it was only about 1:00PM.

However, I simply don't understand the following:

* The bathroom wash basin is regular small basin fitted with a kitchen use faucet hardware. Every time I turn the water on, just even washing my hands - it's like I've been through a rain shower. For a face wash, it's back to kindergarten kids, playground with water fountain splatting everywhere. By the way, the kitchen faucet is able to turn the spout away from the basin, anyone could flood the entire bathroom and the room anytime.

* All the track lighting in the room and bathroom feels like as if I'm an artwork in a gallery. Is it necessary for a track of 5x spotlights? Besides, there's no chance of reading in bed because I don't think I can even read a word on a page with lights in my face. In the bathroom, I must be very happy with my body that I'd love to be Mr. Muscle to flex my biceps under all the lights, I don't really think so.

* Apparently, there's must be some sort of hidden alarm system that the guest can switch on for the room with a motion detector smack in the middle of the room. Or, it's a device that detects motion of guests in the room for the security/management to see if the guests are burglars?

One of the days at the hotel, I've returned to the room with the door ajar early evening at about 5:00PM. The housekeeping staff for that day serviced the room but didn't close it shut. Thank God that I didn't leave anything valuable in the room.

The thing is does it matter how many stars that any given hotel was rated as? Or is it the room rate? It's suppose to be a place away from home that makes the guest feel at ease, secured, safe, comfortable - for the least in basics of hotel standards, in my point of view.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arnold W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamModica, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to here that you did not enjoy your accommodations. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate teams. Your comments on the lighting and sink basin in our bathroom are unique to us. We have never had guest mention these items. The surveillance device which you mention is a motion sensor that allows us to shut off the Air Conditioning unit after hours of inactivity. This is part of our sustainable efforts. I apologize once again that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Overall, a well-managed property. As others have mentioned, the location if not central, is at least convenient with with the 1 & 2 subway line (Houston) a block away and ACE lines (Spring St) two blocks away.

For a business traveler, room size is decent. In looking at the floor plan, there are only 8 rooms per floor and the rooms in the corners are slightly larger. It would be a little tight for a couple on vacation, but it is New York. Good size desk with a bunch of outlets conveniently located. I was in room 608 which was facing the front directly over the hotel entrance. Charlton is a relatively quiet side street and you're just far away enough from Varick that I didn't hear that much street noise...an occasional siren or horn and sanitation truck early one morning. Very quiet compared to Times Square hotels I've previously stayed at.

As others have stated, free bottled water is a nice touch. Decent TV channel selection. No complaints about housekeeping. The furnishing generally were good and I slept well (although I did notice the desk chair was **very** worn...almost looked like it was aged on purpose but I don't think so ;-) Front desk staff were various degrees of friendly, but always appropriate. I managed to leave my Sonicare in the room but housekeeping tracked it and I was able to pick it up the next day. Good service there.

The restaurant is not bad. I arrived very late, hadn't had dinner and the weather was bad, so decided to eat in the restaurant based on some pretty good yelp reviews. Service was great, food was overpriced but decent and they had an OK selection of beers on tap. I assume the same kitchen provides room service so room service would be a good option if you didn't want to leave your room. We went here for drinks the next night and same great service.

I agree with others however about the bathroom. Plenty of space, but in my room there was no way to keep water from the walk-in shower from forming a lake in the middle of the bathroom floor. Shower drained very slowly and no matter how much attention I paid to keeping the door closed or the shower head pointed towards the wall...it didn't matter. I don't think it helped that both the shower stall and bathroom floor were level (rather than sloping slightly towards the drain) so whatever water ended up on the floor didn't drain. Also, beware that the walk-in shower is way too small for people of size (which meant I regularly knocked the shower door open). A colleague mentioned they did not have a walk-in shower, but it might be something that is different from room to room.

And I also like to echo a previous posters comment about the amount of counter space in the bathroom (pretty much zero). I didn't even have a place to put a normal sized toiletry kit. This is unfortunate given the fact that the bathroom itself is decent sized.

Overall a great, dozy business class hotel with the only downside being the bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamModica, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I cannot say how great the staff at the Four Points Soho were. They went out of their way to ask about our trip, and upon finding out we were celebrating a 40th birthday, sent a bottle of champagne to the room. The view from the room was great. The room was super clean. The location cannot be beat for Soho - a small walk to the main area of Soho, but a great bargain for the location. Easy cab access - a great place!

Room Tip: Recommend City view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KidsDogs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoH...
#198 of 470 in New York City
572 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#305 of 470 in New York City
1,738 reviews
Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#325 of 470 in New York City
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#268 of 470 in New York City
101 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#274 of 470 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#176 of 470 in New York City
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village

Address: 66 Charlton St, New York City, NY 10014-4601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the trendy SoHo, Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village is surrounded by lots of great shops, eateries & clubs, and within minutes of the financial center and Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Manhattan Soho Village Hotel New York City
4 Points By Sheraton Manhattan Soho Village
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Manhattan Soho Village
New York City Four Points
New York City Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing