We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all costs--dishonest management”
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #389 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I booked a room with the Royal Park Hotel & Hostel through Booking.com (which I also don’t recommend) and once I realized it would be a room with a shared bathroom I cancelled literally within one minute of making the reservation and the Royal Park Hotel & Hostel charged me for a night. I called and the hotel management refused to refund their fee and was rude. I have tried talking to them since and they won’t take my calls.

With service like this over the phone I cannot even imagine how poor their service must be in person. Do not stay here unless you want to be ripped off.

Room Tip: Simple, don't choose a room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank balashstargalactica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to address this matter. Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service. In the future let us invite you to look into our rooms that are furnished with Queen mattresses, flat screen television, and walk in showers. Give me a call anytime to setup a detailed tour of our property when you're in the city next and I will ensure you receive a special rate.

Kind regards,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 660 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013

It's a decent hostel. I was there for a week in November 2011 with 2 friends - we had a great room with 2 doubles and upgraded to ensuite when we arrived. For the price, it was good. Don't expect 5 star treatment because this is a hotel for people on a budget. It was clean, staff were friendly, and had free WiFi. Would definitely stay there again if I was on a similar budget.
Lift was a bit rickety however, so no 5 stars. Also location is quite far out from Midtown, but if the walk down Broadway is beautiful in Autumn/Fall, and the Subway is 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to an ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CatherineF1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Client,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! And we'll be looking forward to your next trip to New York City! Call ahead of time next time you're coming to the city, and I'll ensure you receive our special rates.

Thank you for choosing us!

Regards,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed in their best room (Superior Double Queen Ensuite) which is off the noisy main corridor / reception and waiting area. Like others highlighted, room standards are below what you gather from images, and costs are not ‘value for money’. Our room was supposed to have a TV / cable channels. We did not manage to switch the TV on, neither did the Hotel staff (a receptionist and a technician tried). I was assured by the receptionist to be given a refund – which was subsequently denied by the hotel’s management (with the explanation that the TV was in fact functional in my room – even though their staff failed to operate it)… Dodgy. Best avoided.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel - rooms are not as pictured, and management does not stick to promises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Mexico City, Mexico
63
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for 3 short nights, it was very basic, we stayed on d 4th floor next to d shared bathroom. it was kept very clean, we had hot water too! cable didnt wk, but dudnt care much for it cause we were hardly in our room, we left early a.m and were back really late p.m so really didnt matter to us. its a place to sleep, and thats it, clean and semi decent. We liv d area were ths hotel is at, very quiet, and easy going, away from tourist, it felt as if we could pass for locals. U just got think, its only a place to sleep, if ur high maintenance i sugg u not to stay here, but if ur easy and adaptable to any wnviroment then stay! i would stay here again, for d price Yes!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Client,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! And we'll be looking forward to your next trip to New York City! Call ahead of time next time you're coming to the city, and I'll ensure you receive our special rates.

Thank you for choosing us!

Regards,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Not as pictured. A lot of money compared with other local small hotels. Tv, heat didn't work, had to use space heater. No working smoke detector in the room and no linens left. Had to ask for all of the above. Would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to address this matter. Our team is working on looking into these rooms.Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service during your stay but in the future let us invite you to look into our rooms that are furnished with Queen mattresses, flat screen television, and walk in showers. Give me a call anytime to setup a detailed tour of our property when you're in the city next.

Kind regards,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in October, rooms look nothing like website. Helpful front desk. Bathrooms were basic but worked. Ultimately it is a quiet place and works as a base if you plab on being out all day and night.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mountainshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review of our establishment. Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service during your stay. Next time you're in our area ask to see our Deluxe Room; which might be more of what you were looking for when you arrived. We had little resource of presenting you with another room during your stay, as we were at full capacity, so try to book in advanced to secure the room. If you have a chance give me a call personally at 212-665-7434.

Sincerely,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I booked a private room in this hotel and I got a newly refurbished one, which was lovely. Great bathroom and very comfy bed, even though it was a little bit on the small side (and bouncy!) for two people not in a relationship ;) the service was good, although there were little facilities (no lockers/safes or fridges, not hostel-like at all). there's a great place to get food around the corner, the Westside Market, do check their salad bar out, it's fantastic. Up the street is the subway station (96th, red line) which will get you to anywhere you need to go quickly.

Room Tip: Get a private room. It's not too expensive and it beats sharing a bunk bed with strangers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saramok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#445 of 473 in New York City
874 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#323 of 473 in New York City
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Hotel 91
The Hotel 91
#332 of 473 in New York City
810 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 473 in New York City
1,446 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#403 of 473 in New York City
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Address: 258 West 97th Street, New York City, NY 10025-6218
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $61 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Royal Park Hotel and Hostel. At the Royal Park, you’ll get a taste of what it’s like to be a real New Yorker. Stroll out our front doors and head down Broadway to the many of shops, markets, bars and restaurants all within walking distance. If you prefer to skip the walk and head downtown, we are just one block from multiple train lines which can whisk you off to midtown or downtown in as little as 15 minutes. Our highly competitive rates mean you can spend your money enjoying all that New York has to offer! See for yourself how our dedicated staff, quaint rooms, central location, helpful amenities and unbeatable room rates make the Royal Park Hotel and Hostel an amazing value. We make it affordable for people from around the world or around the area to stay in New York City. Come and experience for yourself; New York like you've never experienced before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing