We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$214
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The Bentley Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
InterContinental New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$336
$281
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Parker New York(New York City)
$479
$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Royalton Park Avenue(New York City)
$295
$234
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$201
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$689
$617
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown(New York City)(Great Value!)
$228
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$168
$140
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
130
170
191
71
114
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
170
191
71
114
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathnew yorkown bathroomcentral parkaround the cornersafe neighborhoodbig roomhotel roomtimes squarebig citysubway stopcleaning staffblockmanhattanwestsidebroadwaystarbucks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 676 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on a quick trip to NYC at end of May! place was clean, convenient and basic and just right for the traveler looking for a place to sleep and freshen up! Good Price and perfect for short stays

Room Tip: Room at back was quiet
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Col92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I lived here for 1 week. It was dirty, i gound other peoples hair in our bed a number of times even though they "cleaned" everyday. I didnt want to go barefoot anywhere, it was dirty and filthy. 4 out of 7 day there where no toilet paper in the bathroom. One day i forgot my shampo in tje bathroom, the next day it was gone.

The tv was smal and old. U couldnt watch tv vuz the tv was on the table next to the bed (it was to close)

Also we had to change room 3 times cuz they gave us wrong room. The room was SO SMAL, we could harldly fit 2 normal size cases.

Some of the showers didnt work, the doors was hard to close and opend. And the elevator was SO SLOW AND OLD. 50% it came when i pushed the button and 50% it was stuck somewhere. And its 8 floors so u dont want to walk up.

When we asked if we could put pur bags on tr lobby when we checkrd out they wanted to charge 2$/bag just for 1h.

4  Thank Farnande
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is 10 times worse than it looks in the pictures. Stay away from it! For about the same money you can find a much better place to stay. If you still have to choose this hotel, don't go for the non-refundable option, because for sure, when you see it you will want to cancel right away, as we did.

The hallways smell bad, the building is old and grim, the bedrooms are small, barely enough room for a bed, the bathrooms are shared and on some floors there is no bathroom!

There is no AC. The staff is totally unprofessional. We were greeted by a bare-foot receptionist who said he was about to take a shower because it was too hot!

Luckily we immediately found another hotel, a much nicer one. For the same price we got a clean, modern and comfortable room in mid-town. And we lost our non-refundable fare for this one.

Consider yourself warned!

Room Tip: Don't believe the nice pictures. Go elsewhere!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank epuon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, General Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear Client,

We appreciate that you took your time out to write a review of our establishment. Our apologies if we couldn't provide you with the highest customer service during your stay. Next time you're in our area ask to see our Deluxe Room; which might be more of what you were looking for when you arrived. We had little resource of presenting you with another room during your stay, as we were at full capacity, so try to book in advanced to secure the room. If you have a chance give me a call personally at 212-665-7434.

Sincerely,

Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The hostel is in a great location as it is really close on the subway to Times Square. The guy at reception was really friendly and gave us tips on where to go and what to do. There is a bagel stall right outside and a great food mart just around the corner. Plenty of amenities without having to walk far. We had a room with two double beds and it was more like a basic hotel than a hostel. We were very pleasantly surprised. There was a TV with lots of channels and noise was never an issue. The only two problems we came across were the wifi and the bathrooms. The wifi only reached the fifth floor and we were at the top so had to come the reception to use the wifi ( unless you fancy sitting on the corridor of the fifth floor). The bathrooms were shared which is fine apart from the fact there were only two per floor. They were always busy and I found myself having to use the shower on the second floor one day after checking all the other bathrooms. However weighing it up its a very good price for NYC, has comfy beds and you won't actually be in the hostel for long because there's so much to do. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Nicola11491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I just came back from my third stay at Royal Park this past week and i have some strong feelings as to its good and its bad. First off, this hotel could not have been in a more central area, located on broadway, one has access to an abundance of restaurants, grocery stores, shopping, and easy subway access that will get you into the heart of manhattan within minutes. I feel as though i am a new yorker when i stay on the upper west side because of the neighborhood feel. Moving on from the location, the hotel itself is very old and needs more renovation. For a little over $100 a night, rooms do not come with bathrooms. They are located down the hall, unless you spend a little more to have a private bathroom. I was fine with sharing a bathroom, as i have done so all three stays. Most of the hall bathrooms are small, but clean, and i have yet to encounter any major problems. In the past, i have stayed in October of 2011, December of 2012, and just recently June of 2013. This was my first summer in new york, and as expected it does get hot and humid. Unfortunately i felt very uncomfortable in the rooms as there is no airconditioner, only a ceiling fan and window. I am not picky with hotels and normally wouldn't complain but let me tell you it was stuffy in the rooms, and at times unbearable as to where we had to keep the door and window wide open. As for staying in the winter, don't worry about being cold, as i found that i never did, but warning the furnace goes on and off throughout the night which can be a big disturbance. Room service has messed up several times as i had towel issues so bring your own just in case. Rooms are very basic, t.v basic cable channels, beds are hard, and be lucky if you have an open and working electric outlet. Basically, come to royal park if you are on a budget, and will be out enjoying the city all day, too busy to stay back at the hotel. I left at 9:00 am and came back at 12 am everyday so for me, it was just a place to sleep. Good luck on future travels.
-Natalie

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, or book a room with a bathroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alwaysatthebeach15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews