We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Location Location Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Park Hotel
Ranked #375 of 479 Hotels in New York City
california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I just came back from my third stay at Royal Park this past week and i have some strong feelings as to its good and its bad. First off, this hotel could not have been in a more central area, located on broadway, one has access to an abundance of restaurants, grocery stores, shopping, and easy subway access that will get you into the heart of manhattan within minutes. I feel as though i am a new yorker when i stay on the upper west side because of the neighborhood feel. Moving on from the location, the hotel itself is very old and needs more renovation. For a little over $100 a night, rooms do not come with bathrooms. They are located down the hall, unless you spend a little more to have a private bathroom. I was fine with sharing a bathroom, as i have done so all three stays. Most of the hall bathrooms are small, but clean, and i have yet to encounter any major problems. In the past, i have stayed in October of 2011, December of 2012, and just recently June of 2013. This was my first summer in new york, and as expected it does get hot and humid. Unfortunately i felt very uncomfortable in the rooms as there is no airconditioner, only a ceiling fan and window. I am not picky with hotels and normally wouldn't complain but let me tell you it was stuffy in the rooms, and at times unbearable as to where we had to keep the door and window wide open. As for staying in the winter, don't worry about being cold, as i found that i never did, but warning the furnace goes on and off throughout the night which can be a big disturbance. Room service has messed up several times as i had towel issues so bring your own just in case. Rooms are very basic, t.v basic cable channels, beds are hard, and be lucky if you have an open and working electric outlet. Basically, come to royal park if you are on a budget, and will be out enjoying the city all day, too busy to stay back at the hotel. I left at 9:00 am and came back at 12 am everyday so for me, it was just a place to sleep. Good luck on future travels.
-Natalie

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room, or book a room with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alwaysatthebeach15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    145
    158
    62
    100
See reviews for
105
175
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Despite me confirming the booking in advance when my partner and I arrived the en suite room that was booked was not available due to an unspecified 'situation'.

What made it worse was the level of customer service on display. The receptionist offered a small discount for our inconvenience, then was rude for the rest of our stay, eg. Starting to speak to an unseen colleague halfway through speaking to us and preferring to chat to a friend over dealing with us at reception. Left a bad impression of New Yorkers which overall we didn't get from anyone else!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 90nil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

On our first night here our party of two was upgraded to another room as they had overbooked, great I though, great start, but they were excellent! They told is to leave our stuff in the room and it would be moved for us. We just had to leave the keys at the front desk, when we came back later everything was done for us. The rooms arnt big but the beds are comfy, our sheets didn't get changed. Just made everyday. There are no phones in the rooms however I have never needed to use one so that didn't bother me. The receptionists where really friendly, eager to help. The location is central, so all in all a food place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaaniiFender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at the Royal Park for 7 nights from 23 to 30 May 2013. I needed budget accommodation in New York and knew that anything around $A100 a night was going to be very basic.
I booked a single room with shared bathroom.
The room I was given left me in a state of shock.
I expected tiny, but this was ridiculous. The room had a double bed that occupied virtually the entire room space. The only furniture was a bedside table with a lamp. See my photo.
There were no drawers or cupboards to store my clothes. There was a cavity in the wall where I placed my suitcase. The carpet was dirty.
I immediately approached the check in staff to express my dissatisfaction.
As the hotel was full I could not be given a new room, but to the staff's credit, he did state that he would try and get me a different room for the rest of my stay, which in fact he did.
The room was marginally better, there being 2 chest of drawers in which to put my clothes.
The carpet was newer and cleaner.
The shared bathrooms were generally clean and acceptable. One bathroom had been refurbished and the other was in need of the same. The second bathroom had a broken toilet seat and a shower curtain rather than a shower screen. Showering with a curtain rubbing against your body is not particularly sanitary.
The location was great, being in a good neighbourhood and very close to the 96 street subway.
The hotel was generally quiet and I slept peacefully.
While my room was cell like, I did glance into other rooms while they were being cleaned and they appeared a suitable size and appropriately furnished. These were rooms for more than one person
As a budget hotel/hostel and for the price I suppose it was value for money.
However do not hesitate to complain if allocated a totally unacceptable room as I was.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seebob69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After spending 6 nights in a 4 star hotel in Midtown, I was nervous about having to move and spend our last night in NYC (due to flight plan changes) in a Hotel/Hostel in the Upper West Side.

When we arrived and I seen the shabby but clean reception, I felt slightly disheartened, but how wrong I was!

The man on the front desk (wish I got his name!) was sooo lovely! He upgraded our room to a double room (with 2 double beds!) for nothing! The room was massive! Literally 3 times the size of our Midtown hotel! Everything was spotless (the only quibble would be the shower didn't work right, it just poured water out, and the fact there was no towels in the room when we arrived, but we asked the maid and she delivered them within 5 minutes). Also the elevator was very slow, we just took to using the stairs (we were only on floor 3 so not bad).

Its amazing value for money! I wonder why I spent so much on a Midtown hotel when this was $150+ cheaper per night and lovely!

Its 1 street from the subway (96th Street), which has at least, 2 or 3 different subway lines stopping there! Fantastic location.

On a Sunday one side of Broadway shuts for a HUGE market all down it! There is a fantastic atmosphere in the UWS and I felt truly safe and welcome!

Also, free wifi throughout the hotel, winner!

Room Tip: We requested a high up renovated room and got it =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sairaanhoitaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We did not have the best first impression. We checked-in after check-in time but our room was not clean at all in that moment and nobody did mention it. WI-FI connection was not working first two days and our fire alarm had low batteries so it made annoying sound every single minute. After two days we connected our laptops and world became much better. Even though we had quite small bed and room, we enjoyed staying there because of this location - 5 minutes to subway station and several shops on the corner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

WOW... What a Great STAY!!! Exceeded my expectation!!!! Hotel was Very Clean, and the STAFF was amazing!!! Denise (front desk manager) was super accommodating & gave me GREAT advice on where to GO and what to do in the area!!!!! I would defiantly stay again!!! thank you Staff!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaezPowerHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Despinal258, Manager at Royal Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Hello,

Myself and the entire staff here at the Royal Park Hotel want to thank you for your review. Especially the part that we were helpful and friendly. We make every effort to put our guest first and make this hotel a home away from home atmosphere. If you ever find yourself in New York again please give me a call at 212-665-7434 and I will give you a special managers rate.

Best Regards,
Denise Espinal
General Manager
Royal Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#261 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#314 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#426 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#422 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#372 of 479 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Park Hotel

Property: Royal Park Hotel
Address: 258 West 97th Street, New York City, NY 10025-6218
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Park Hotel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side of Manhattan. We offer clean, comfortable, and affordable New York City discount hotel rooms with flat screen TVs and Air conditioning. A 10-minute train ride from Times Square and 10 min walk to Columbia University! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value and convenience. We are conveniently located a block from 1/2/3 (red line) trains, coffee shops, restaurants, bars, theaters, museums and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Royal Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing