We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent restaurant!”

Frankie & Johnnie's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Frankie & Johnnie's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #909 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th & 6th Ave
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We ordered a rib-eye and a T-bone. Both of them were very good. One of the best steaks we have ever had. The service was also fine. The only problem was the price, which was a bit too expensive for us, but it was worth every dollar.

Helpful?
Thank Inbal_gl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    85
    30
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

A group of us went across the road from our hotel ( The Strand ) to this great steakhouse. The food was superb, the service very friendly and efficient. Overall, could not fault the place even though the prices were a little high but hey, this is New York!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great steaks & calves liver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My friend had the steak which she said was delicious but I am one of those people who loves calves liver and this portion was delicious and prepared the right temperature. Of course, it is served with grilled onions and bacon.
For starters we shared a chopped salad which we also enjoyed.
Be aware that everything is a la carte.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank suger1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place has an amazing old fashioned atmosphere and most importantly; amazing food!
Waiters are very pleasent and seems experienced. All of them are wearing tuxedos and it gives a classy first impression. An impression they live up to!
We enjoyed a full 3 course dinner. Lobster Ravioli as a starter can really be recommended.
As main course, we both had amazing steaks, but the best one was the 14 oz rib eye steak I had. My god, that's one tasty piece of meat! Very tender, lots of flavour and cooked exactly to order. You almost forget the side orders you tought you wanted!

The quality you get, will of course be reflected on the tab, but if you ask me; it's worth every cent.

Brilliant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent meat and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

When we tried to go to Keens steackhouse, it wsa full and they adviced us to go there: good spare option. The waiters were very kind, notably to explain for steackhouse beginers like us. The price are high but the quality of the meat was excellent, notably the Rib-eye. The dessert were also very good. Pay only attention to the bill, since they include already 20% in it, that is not common in NY.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Duduche22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie & Johnnie's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Frankie & Johnnie's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing